Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Apple

I have a ton of apples from a recent orchard visit. As they’ve been around for nearly a week now, I’d like to try and use them up. So today I’m going to make 3 apple dishes! I was offered dinner at a friend’s house tonight, but I really need to use up this fruit before it goes bad, so I shall forego the free eats tonight to try and save some food here at home from going bad.

Breakfast:

Apple Yogurt Coffee Cake

Ingredients (makes 12” Bundt pan or 12 cupcakes):
2 c. unbleached AP flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder

6 Tbsp light butter, cut into small cubes
3/4 c. sugar
1 large egg
1 large egg white
1 c. plain non-fat yogurt
2 1/2 small apples, peeled, cored, diced

Topping:
3 Tbsp brown sugar
1/3 c. chopped walnuts
1 tsp cinnamon, ground

Grease 12” Bundt pan or line muffin pan with cupcake liners. Preheat the oven to 375 F.

Prepare topping first. Mix brown sugar, walnuts and ground cinnamon in a small cup and set a side. Sift flour, baking soda and baking powder together, mix well and set aside. In a separate large bowl, beat butter and sugar together until smooth. Add egg and egg white and continue to beat. Add yogurt and mix well.

Pour flour mixture into the wet mixture and fold. Stir in diced apples gently and avoid over mixing.

Pour mixture into prepared pan (whether bundt pan or muffin pan). Sprinkle topping on the top. Bake at 375 F for 40 minutes or until tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let it cool at room temperature. It tastes better when it’s slightly warm. Enjoy!

* I mostly followed this one exactly except just used 1/2 of a whole egg instead of fucking with the egg whites and all that. (Remember, I chop every recipe down to 1 serving). 

This cake was really wonderful! I used an entire apple in my one little serving so the cake was very soft and creamy and the brown sugar cinnamon topping was cripsy and sweet. It was easy and fast, which since I woke up late today (about 9:30) I just wanted something simple and quick. Really awesome way to start my day!

Lunch:

*Extremely loosely based from this recipe, changes are in brackets

Pumpkin, Apple & Sage Risotto
(inspired by Little Bits)
Serves 4

30g butter or margarine
1 onion, chopped
½ tsp salt (or more)
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 generous cup of Arborio rice
650g kent pumpkin, peeled and diced (I used pumpkin puree)
½ cup dry white wine
5 cups stock, or as required (used apple juice and applesauce for this)
1 small granny smith apple, peeled, cored and diced
1 tbsp sage, finely chopped

Options for serving:
Fresh nutmeg and ground cinnamon
Parmesan cheese, grated (I did not use cheese)
Sage leaves fried in butter* (used fresh sage, did not fry it, sort of wish I did)

Also added:

Chicken
Yams (cubed)
a little fresh Ginger

Melt butter in a stockpot or large saucepan and fry onions over low to medium heat for about 3-5 minutes or til they are softening. I add the salt here as I once heard Nigella say it stops the onions browning which keeps the rice from discolouring. Add rice and toss to coat with butter. Cook another 2 minutes, stirring frequently.

Add white wine. Stir briefly. The rice will absorb the wine fairly quickly. Add pumpkin and a cup of warm stock. The heat should be on medium to make sure that the stock warms quite quickly and is bubbling softly while the rice absorbs the stock. (But I do sometimes turn the heat up and down a bit when I find the heat too fierce or too meek.) Stir frequently. This encourages a creamy texture to develop and also prevents the rice catching on the bottom of the saucepan as it cooks. When a lot of stock – but not all – is absorbed by the rice, add another cup of stock. Keep repeating with remaining stock until the rice is cooked and the pumpkin is soft. This should take about 20-25 minutes. Add apple and gently cook a further 5 minutes. Add chopped sage and stir.

*This was my first time making risotto. Did it turn out exactly right? Probably not, I hear its really hard to cook right. Was it friggin delicious? YES! So it really doesn’t matter to me if it was done 100% right. It was REALLY yummy and creamy (which is hear is how its SUPPOSED to turn out, so I probably got it mostly right…)

Dinner:

Apple, Broccoli, Raisin Bacon stir fry

1 Apple (I chose a gala) cut into chunks
Broccoli
2 slices Turkey Bacon
1/8 C Raisins
Mushrooms
1/3 C Applesauce (no sugar added)
1/4 C Light Sour Cream (I think I used a bit less than this, it’s an estimation)
A little White Wine for deglazing
1/8 C Cheddar Cheese (I used a low fat cheddar mix)
Tarragon
Honey
Ground Ginger
A pinch of Alspice
S&P to taste

Prepare turkey bacon per instructions. Spray a saucepan with nonstick spray and stir fry broccoli and mushrooms until broccoli is tender. Toss in a little white wine for deglazing and add raisins, apples and bacon. Add spices, honey, applesauce and sour cream. Cook until apples are softened. Add  S&P to taste. Serve on top of mashed potato (prepared whichever way you like it) and topped with shredded cheddar cheese.

*I knew I wanted to serve something on top of potatoes and what better to top your potatoes with than sour cream and cheddar cheese? I knew both apples and broccoli went well topped with cheddar, so I threw it all together and it worked out incredibly well! I was impressed at the lightness of the spices and sauce as it allowed me to really be able to taste all of my ingredients and the sweet bursts of raisin balanced with the potato and cheese really well. ENJOY!!!

Luckily my friend was not offended that I ate before coming over. She made me some super strong amazing coffee and we sat and chatted for 3 hours. All in all I’d say today was a big success in the food department! I do want to apologize that sometimes my food all tends to look similar. I like to eat out of that clear bowl as it is easier to sit in front of the computer with a bowl rather than a plate and I generally make a LOT of skillet dishes and stir frys. Really this blog is more to just help me eat properly rather than make pretty food, though I do try very hard to think about presentation while I’m cooking.

Morning weigh in: 125 lbs
Exercise: 1 hour on the stair stepper

Comments on: "Apple" (2)

  1. That looks so good. You are inspiring me to go apple picking!

Leave a Reply

