Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Teddy bears are good for you

Last night while I was at Red Lobster, I had to go pee in the middle of dinner. My husband thinks he’s so funny. “Thats right, binge and purge! Then you can fit more!” and gets a hearty laugh out of himself. He doesn’t know any better. He legitimately thinks he’s just being funny. You can see why I can’t exactly discuss this with him. He wouldn’t understand and wouldn’t take it seriously. It’s ok, I wasn’t offended or hurt. I just laughed it off and said “That’s right, have them bring me 10 more rounds while I’m gone!” but inside I do know that this is serious. I’m glad I have this blog to keep me in check and remember I have a goal to get better.

Before we went out to eat we went to the jewelry store to get some paperwork updated on some of my rings, braceletes and necklaces (he likes to buy me lots of shiny things) and while we were there he donated to some charity offering teddy bears for $12. I like my teddy bear. He’s got a cool plaid hat with those ugly flaps that cover your ears, but they don’t cover his cuz he’s a bear and his ears are on top of his head. I also like his boots. He makes me happy.  I wish I could cuddle him all day but I have to go to work soon.

Breakfast + teddy (I did not eat the teddy)

I have to work this morning and I ate a lot last night. So I kept it simple and just went for 2 eggs over easy and 2 pieces of toast.

Lunch:

Cream Cheese and Sour Cream Parmesan with Chicken, Broccoli and Avocado

(This part is me trying to remember what I put into this haha!)

4 oz. Chicken cut into small strips
1/2 Avocado (cubed)
1C Broccoli
5 Mini Bella Mushrooms (sliced)
1/2 Red Sweet Pepper
1/4 Onion (chopped)
1/2 small Tomato (chopped)
1 clove Garlic (minced)
0.5 oz low-fat Cream Cheese
1/8 C low-fat Sour Cream
2 T grated Parmesan
Basil
Oregano
Parsley
Sage
S&P (all spices are to taste)

Saute onion and garlic until onion is translucent. Toss in broccoli and chicken. Cook until chicken is no longer pink. Add mushrooms, tomatoes, peppers and spices. Cook until some of the liquid from the mushrooms and tomatoes have evaporated. Clear a small space in the center and melt cream cheese, add sour cream in the center, add grated Parmesan to cream mixture. Melt, then stir into all the meat and veggies. Serve on pasta of choice! (I served mine on creamy Arborio rice!)

This was aweome. I mean, REALLY hit the spot! I love creamy sauces but would always prefer to make my own rather than use anything out of a jar. I have chicken that I have to get used up, so I’ll probably use chicken in my dinner as well!

Dinner:

Pork Cashew Curry

1 lb Ontario pork shoulder or loin, cut into bite-sized pieces 500 g
2 tbsp medium or hot curry paste 30 mL
1 tbsp vegetable oil 15 mL
2 onions, sliced 2
4 cloves garlic, minced 4
1 tbsp minced fresh ginger 15 mL
1/2 cup chicken broth 125 mL
1/2 cup ground cashews 125 mL
1 cup Balkan style plain yogurt, at room temperature* 250 mL
2 cups frozen peas 500 mL
1/4 cup roughly chopped cilantro leaves 50 mL

Added:
Mushrooms
Parsnips
Extra dollop of yogurt on top

Toss pork with curry paste. Cover and marinate at least 1 hour and up to 4 hours.

In large deep skillet, heat oil over medium high heat. Add onions and cook, stirring often until onions are golden and tender, approximately 12 minutes. Add garlic and ginger; cook one minute more. Add pork with juices and cook, stirring, until pork is browned, approximately 5 minutes. Stir in chicken broth, cashews and yogurt. Reduce heat and simmer until pork is cooked through, about 10 minutes more. Stir in peas. Let sit 5 minutes. Sprinkle with cilantro and serve over steamed basmati rice.

Makes 4 servings.

*I’m sort of someone who is afraid of nuts. I’m not really, but if I ever do use them its normally just a pinch and used more as a garnish than anything else. They have a very high calorie content, so even though the fats in them are very very good for you, I tend to shy away feeling that I could substitue those extra calories with veggies or something more substantial. Tonight I didn’t shy away. I used about half a handful of whole cashews in this which for me is a huge accomplishment. It tasted amazing! The ground cashews made it so that I could taste them throughout the dish and I would absolutely recomend this to anyone! There was very little of the original recipe that I changed.

I saw today’s Groupon for my area was a “boot camp” class membership, which tempted me for all of 30 seconds until I clicked the link to the place and remembered I don’t generally like working out in class-type environments…mainly because I don’t like being around a ton of people when I’m working out. I generally just like to be alone and listen to music. This is why I like to walk so much. I can space out into my own little Domo and unicorn filled world and and literally block the rest of the world out. I have a pair of those huge Skullcandy Hesh headphones so I literally cannot hear anyone else. It’s pretty great as I can easily ignore any random creepy man trying to hit on me or ask me for money or generally bother me while I’m just trying to get to the post office. It’s not that I don’t like people, I do. It’s just that I’m busy and I want to just be left alone while walking. If I wanted to be social with total strangers I wouldn’t have these massively huge headphones on with the volume turned all the way up.

Morning weigh-in: 125 lbs
Exercise: 4 hours at retail job (yes, for me this counts as exersice being that its not something I do every day and I am on my feet the entire time I am there)

Leave a Reply

