Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I should be working…

…but instead I’m starting today’s blog. I’ll get to work, I promise. I at least already worked out today! So I have gotten off my butt. I work mostly from home (I also have a retail job, but only part-time once or twice a week) and that’s how I originally gained a ton of weight. Going from running around a retail job all day to sitting at home all day really does a number on your body. So of course now I’ve lost the weight but gained a bunch of fun mental issues. Yay! :/ It almost makes me want to just go back to being fat, even though I had issues with that as well they seemed to be easier to deal with than these issues. There’s an in-between right? I just need to know theres an in-beween somewhere…I haven’t found it yet.

I treated myself to a haircut yesterday. Hairdressers always LOVE me because I let them go crazy. I’m not attached to my hair whatsoever. Chop it all off, color it, leave it long, shave it here, feather it there, I really don’t care as long as it makes me look awesome in the end! The girl had a blast poofing it and spiking it and chopping at it and “Can I do this?” or “It would look neat like this! Is that ok?” and each time was a resounding yes. Hairdressers NEVER get that kind of freedom with people’s hair! And I LOVE MY CUT!!! ^_^

Breakfast:

Avocado and Spinach Chutney on Eggs

Yeah I don’t know what this is. I wanted something easy to use my avocado with and didn’t feel like doing a lot of cooking, it might be a chutney? It might be a salad? Fuck if I know. It was yummy yummy though!

1 Avocado cut into chunks
2 big slices of Beefsteak Tomato (thats what those big ones are called right?) diced
1/2 Sweet Red Pepper
1/3 small Onion
Handful of fresh Spinach
Half a handful of fresh Mint
Splash of Lime juice
Splash of Red Wine Vinegar (I have a Pomegranate-infused one)
1 t Corriander
Sprinkling of Feta Cheese
S&P to taste

I just diced up all the veggies and threw them into a bowl. Then I whizzed the spinach, mint, lime juice and vinegar in my little food processor for a few seconds. Tossed the mixture with my veggies, added my spices, and threw it on top of a couple of over-easy eggs. Topped it with a little feta. Great fresh-tasting way to start the morning! Om nom nom.

Lunch:

Pumpkin Parsnip Apple soup

This soup doesn’t look like much, but I PROMISE after your first bite you will MELT!

1 Parsnip cut into chunks
1/2 Carrot cut into slices
1/2 Avocado cut into chunks
1/4 Onion diced
1/2 Apple peeled and cut into chunks
1/2 cup Pumpkin Puree  )
1/2 cup Almond Milk       > *These 3 are rough estimations, feel free to add more here and there to thicken or thin
1/2 cup Chicken Stock     )
1/2 inch piece grated Ginger
1/4 t Cinnamon
1/8 t Allspice
1/8 t Nutmeg
A shake or 2 of Fennel seeds
S&P to taste

Sautee the onions until translucent in a pot. Toss in parsnip and carrot and let cook and brown for a couple minutes (just brings out an extra flavor that boiling doesn’t completely do for them). Mix in pumpkin puree, milk and chicken stock. Add apple, avocado and spices. Cover and simmer for about 10 minutes or until parsnips and carrots are soft. Let cool for about 5 minutes, take out about 1 cup of soup and put into a blender. Blend until smooth. Add blended soup back into pot and mix. Makes a nice chunky soup! If you prefer a smooth soup, feel free to blend all of it!

*This soup was WAY creamier than I thought it was going to be. I was VERY shocked at the wonderful consistency and light spices. It let the spicy parsnip flavor really shine through. There was just the right amount of sweetness to balance it out with the apple, no other sugar or sweetness was needed. I’m actually quite proud with how this turned out.

Dinner:

I accidentally forgot to take pictures of my actual dinner last night because I was in a huge rush to get to a friend’s house on time. Though I did have leftovers of a very important ingredient. A cut of beef. I bought this a few weeks ago on a sale and had it frozen until I felt ok to use it. It’s of course the leanest cut of beef one can have, a tenderloin, but the fact that I was able to buy beef and not chicken or fish or even lean pork was a huge step. And now that fact that I’ve EATEN some of it was another really big step! It was incredibly yummy, I had it with a coconut kiwi sauce, carrots, orange and red peppers and pineapple on top of sticky rice. I’m sorry I don’t have a recipe or pictures for you this time, if its any consolation I probably wouldn’t make a recipe like that again sinc I felt it was more for either pork or chicken or even a lower grade cut of beef maybe, but not tenderloin.

That visit with my friend was actually really important as we are both going through some really rough times/issues and were able to open up completely to each other. He’s been one of my best friends for many many years and his ability to really truely care about other people is astounding. We’re gearing up for a game plan this winter to be acountable to each other and help the other with their respective problems to the best of our ability. I’m getting excited for the future!

Morning weigh-in: 126 lbs
Exercise: 1/2 hour on the stair stepper (I feel bad that I’ve done no yoga this week, I’m hoping to get some in after work tonight)

Comments on: "I should be working…" (2)

  1. wow, your lunch looks SCRUMPTIOUS. i would need to substitute vegetable broth for the chicken broth, but i’m definitely adding this to my list of future items to create! thank you for this great idea! x

    • It was SO much better than I thought it would be! Suprisingly good! Not that I think I’m a terrible cook, including (but not limited to) when I throw things together without a recipe, but this particular one I was rather proud of. If you try it, do let me know if you like it! Thanks for clicking through, you rock!

Leave a Reply

