Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Onion and fry fail!!!

Didn’t take me long today to mess up! Well, not drastically or anything, but I made what would have been a really great panko eggplant and egg dish with a salsa on top. I used WAY too much onion and so in the end, that was basically all I could taste. Which was a huge shame because when I got a bite of just eggplant it was quite good! On top of that, I’m still afraid of using oil, which is fine, a small bit of spray oil would have been fine, but I didn’t clean the pan in between each spray, so whatever oil was left on there from the previous round would burn. So the house was filled with smoke after making these.  Ah well, I won’t post the measurements of all the ingredients since I messed that up, but I will post all the ingredients I used and just be warned, don’t use too much onion!

Breakfast:

Panko fried Eggplant with Salsa and Egg

Eggplant (about 10 slices)
Panko breadcrumbs
2 Eggs
Tomato
Onion
Fresh Cilantro
Balsamic Vinegar
Basil
Sprinkling of grated Parmesan
Garlic
Splash of Lime juice
A&P to taste

I beat one of the eggs and dipped each side of the sliced eggplant in it, then coated each piece with Panko. Then I fried each side for a couple minutes. I have a small pan so I had to do these in about 3 batches. Idiced up some onion, tomato and minced some garlic and fresh cilantro. I tossed it all in a bowl with basil, some Italian seasoning and balsamic vinegar. Next time I might throw it into a pan just to warm it up because the cold salsa on the eggplant actually wasn’t very pleasant and cooled down the eggplant too much for my taste. And of course I’d use less onion next time due to the fact that its STILL, half an hour later, the only thing I can taste in my mouth right now lol! I topped it all with a fried egg and a sprinkle of grated Parmesan cheese. Lets hope I don’t fail my lunch!

Lunch:

Tenderloin Steak Sesame stir fry

3 oz uncooked Steak Tenderloin
1 cup (or so) Broccoli
1 cup Mushrooms
2/3 Orange Sweet Pepper
1 clove Garlic
Sesame Seeds

Sauce ingredients

1/2 dried Chilie, minced
1/8 cup Soy Sauce
Dash (or two) of Worcestershire sauce
Dash Hot Sauce or Chilie oil
1/4 cup Beef Stock
1 T Rice Vinegar
1/2 t Cornstarch
Fresh grated Ginger
S&P to taste

Hopefully I remembered all that. I mixed the beef with the sesame seeds and let sit while I cut the other veggies and mixed the sauce ingredients in a separate bowl. I cooked the beef in a TINY bit of sesame oil (1/2 t) until barely browned (just the way I like it, still mooing!) and then set aside. I wiped out the pan this time and added a little more sesame oil (about 1/2 T) and cooked the veggies until cooked. Then I added my sauce and then beef and cooked until sauce was thickened just a little bit. I served it on top of my FAVORITE vermicelli noodles! I enjoyed this experiment way better than the beef recipe from yesterday. Nice and meaty tasting!

Dinner:

Ok ok I didn’t take this picture. I went to work, brought my camera and everything, and forgot to take a picture of my soup. But it sort of looks like I took it since its in the same bowl I use! But anyway, I had 2 cups of Italian Wedding Soup out of the cafe at my work. Someday I will make my own, but for now I really like the one they sell in our cafe!

Today went well for me. I was feeling good about myself and got out and got moving at work. I have a lot of “working from hom” work tomorrow, so I will either go on a walk or get on my stair stepper for at least an hour since I won’t be on my feet the rest of the day.

Morning weigh-in: 123 lbs
Exercise: 7.5 hours of retail work

Comments on: "Onion and fry fail!!!" (2)

  1. i’m new to wordpress but I noticed we connected, probably through your efforts. I should show my wife your blog, she loves to cook and you look like a good, seasoned one.

    • I am also new, I stumbled upon your blog with the tag surfer (obvious similar “interests”, heh) and your descriptions and stories were so much like mine, I was hoping we could connect! Thanks for reaching out to me, I’m glad you think I look like a seasoned cook! Haha, I’ve only been cooking for maybe a year, not even that, and still believe that I only think I can cook because I watch too much Food Network. I probably really can’t cook…but I try very hard! And I’m absolutely honored if anyone actually wants to try something that I threw together from various ingredients in my home without a recipe. It sucks that my cooking ability was born from my ED, but I’m VERY passionate about it. I love food. I hope to always love food, just more responsibly. ^_^

Leave a Reply

