Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Busy…too busy :<

My day today has been a little sad already. I’ve been so busy I couldn’t start today’s blog until nearly 7 PM. It was a gorgeous day and I couldn’t go on a walk because I didn’t have my project done in time. I spent half an hour trying to find an ESSENTIAL piece of hardware that I dropped on the floor and then of course couldn’t find because my work room is so goddamn messy. I was supposed to visit a good friend tonight but won’t be doing that either because I haven’t even started the second project I need to get done. Bleh. I at least remembered to get pics of all my meals!

Pre-Breakfast:

I had ONE little Tootsie Roll pop when I woke up. We have a massive bag of them, but I was able to just have one. Nice accomplishment for me!

Breakfast:

Shelly’s Apple Raisin Protein Souffle

2 eggs
2 small Apples, diced
2 Tablespoon Raisins
3 Tablespoons Multigrain Pancake Mix, dry
1 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder (didn’t use this at all)
1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 cup Vanilla Soy Milk
1/2 cup Unsweetened Coconut, toasted (I didn’t toast mine)
3 Tablespoons Sugar Free Torani Syrup (I used SF Caramel), divided use (I used sugar free Maple Syrup)
1/4 teaspoon (+ a dash for tops) Nutmeg
dash Cinnamon

Topping: Sugar Free Maple Syrup

Cook apples, raisins and 1 Tablespoon of the SF Torani syrup for 5 minutes on low heat. Set aside to cool. Spoon a tablespoon or so of the cooled apple mixture into each ramekin to cover the bottom of each.
Mix all ingredients (including remaining apple mixture) in a blender till smooth.
Pour mixture into 4/4-oz ramekins or custard cups.
Place the ramekins in a large roasting pan. Place pan on oven rack and pour enough very hot water to come halfway up sides of ramekins. Sprinkle top of each souffle with additional nutmeg. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until set, knife inserted comes out clean. Serve warm or chilled with warmed SF maple syrup or vanilla custard on top.

*WOOO! I will be making this again soon! There are some recipes I like, but kinda forget about, but THIS one is a total keeper! The souffle was so decadent and smooth. Man oh man, I kinda want to make it again for tomorrow morning. It didn’t even need any extra syrup on top. It was perfect just the way it was! AND I used up some more of that apple I still have!

Lunch:

Fresh Basil and Arugula Pesto Pasta Salad

Handful of fresh Basil
Handful of fresh Arugula
1 t Oilve Oil
1.5 T grated Parmesan
1 T Pine Nuts
1 t Lemon zest
2 T water
1 t melted Butter
1/2 cup Peas
1 cup Mushrooms
Sprinkle of Feta cheese
Sprinkle of Pine Nuts
3 oz Rotini

Blend the basil, arugula, oil, parmesan, pine nuts, lemon zest, water and butter in a food processor. Presto! Pesto! Then I made it super easy on myself and just boiled the rotini, frozen peas and mushrooms together for 9 minutes. Easy peasy! Tossed it all together in my trusty clear bowl, then topped it with a little feta cheese and extra pine nuts! This was my first time making a pesto with fresh basil and arugula and MAN does it make a difference! YAY for clearance sales!!!

Snack:

White Chocolate Microwave Mug cake

(This is not your typical recipe for microwave cake in a mug. It’s better. It’s slighty more work than a lot of other recipes, but its chef-inspired so it’s SO much better.)

4 tablespoons soft butter

1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips (60 percent cacao) <–I used white chocolate

1 egg

1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons sugar

11/2 tablespoons flour

1. In the microwave, melt chocolate and butter together in one of the two mugs. This will take approximately 35 seconds. Set the mixture aside to cool a bit.

2. In a small mixing bowl, mix the egg, sugar, and flour together with a fork until blended.

3. Using a rubber scraper, scrape the chocolate and butter mixture out of the mug and into the bowl with the egg mixture. Fold several times to blend well, mixing only until everything has been incorporated.

4. Lightly butter or spray with non-stick spray the two microwave safe mugs. Place the mugs in the microwave and cook for 2 minutes at full power.

Note: Again, microwave cooking times vary, so this may take between 90 seconds and 21/2 minutes. Let the cake rest for a few minutes before eating. Even with the rest time, the cake will still be very hot. Dust with powdered sugar or serve with whipped cream, if you like.

*I used a little less chocolate and a little less sugar (only 1/4 cup of each) and it still turned out absolutely fabulous. I made a buttercream frosting/glaze. I don’t have a hand mixer to properly cream frosting, so it turned out less thick than it should, but all the flavour was still there! It was so freaking good, I’m trying to learn to treat myself every once in a while without going completely crazy. One step is if I want a baked treat I need to bake it myself so I don’t go out and buy a whole cake and eat the entire damn thing. Because I will. So if I limit myself to one tiny little one-serving cake that I worked hard to bake myself, I won’t be tempted to eat too much and won’t want to go through the work to eat more. Also, knowing I still had dinner coming up in an hour after eating this kept me from splurging and making more. I still had an amazing dinner to look forward to! This technique seems to be working so far!

Dinner:

Maple Apple Mushroom Pork on mashed Butternut Squash

1/2 small Butternut Squash, mashed
4 oz Pork, cubed
1/3 small Onion
1 cup Mushrooms
1/2 Apple, cut into chunks
1/4 cup White Wine
1.5 T Red Wine Vinegar
1/8 cup Sugar Free Maple Syrup
1/2 t Brown Sugar
1/2 T Sour Cream
1/2 t Butter
1 clove Garlic
Cinnamon
A small pinch of Ground Clove
Tarragon
S&P to taste

Really easy. Cut squash in half and bake for an hour (I bake my squash cut side face-up, but bake them however you like best) at 375. Saute onions, garlic and pork chunks in an oil-sprayed saucepan until pork is cooked. Add mushrooms, apples, wine and vinegar. Allow to reduce to about half the amount of liquid. Add maple syrup S&P and tarragon. Heat through and cook till desired thickness of sauce remains. Mash 1/2 of the squash with the brown sugar, sour cream and butter. Pour pork mixture on top of squash. Allow your tastebuds to throw a huge party. I love it when I come up with great recipes!

Alright everyone, its been a good day for cooking, a bad day for getting shit done unfortunately. Though I did get a project done, I wanted very much to get 2 done. I did get lots of working out in and the microwave cake experiment made me very happy in its success. So all in all it wasn’t a terrible day!

Morning weigh-in: 125 lbs
Exercise: 1 hour on the stair stepper, 1/2 hour yoga (YAY finally got my yoga in!)

Leave a Reply

