Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I have to pee

I didn’t know what else to throw into the title and I really do have to pee. Be right back.

Ahhhh! Better.

So this morning has been absolutely awesome. The sunrise was gorgeous, I went to bed ridiculously early last night so I got lots of sleep and feel great and got up nice and early! Hubby left at about 9 so I got to pop in a Doctor Who DVD and watch an episode (FINALLY worked my way up to Season 5 Matt Smith era! Oh Matt Smith…you’re so ridiculously awkwardly attractive…) where I proceeded to happily scream and yell and cry through the whole thing. Then I made myself a nice easy breakfast as it feels like a lazy, amazing morning.

Breakfast:

Apple Cinnamon Kiwi Breakfast Couscous

1/2 Apple
1/2 Kiwi
1/4 cup Couscous
1/8 cup Juice (whatever kind you have, I have a Light Berry Blend)
1/8 cup Almond Milk
Dollop of Vanilla Yogurt
Sprinkle of Pecans
Pinch of Cinnamon, Nutmeg, and a SMALL pinch of ground Cloves

Heat the liquid to a boil, throw in Couscous and turn off heat. Mix in the couscous well with the liquid, throw in fruit and cover for 5 mins. Fluff and add spices, top with yogurt and nuts. Took no time at all and was very good! Great way to use up some extra fruit, nice and sweet, no extra sugar or honey needed though of course you could top it with honey or a little brown sugar if you were so inclined.

Lunch:

(Sorry the second picture is kinda blurry, I didn’t realize the battery on my camera was going dead.)

Creamed Spinach Risotto
Risotto
– 1 cup of Arbollo rice
– 2 cups of chicken stock
– ¼ cup of Parmesan cheese
– 1 teaspoon of salt
– ½ teaspoon of pepper

Creamed Spinach
– 5 strips of thick cut bacon, cut into small pieces
– ½ medium onion, chopped
– 1 package of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
– 1 cup of chicken stock
– ½ cup of heavy cream (I used a mixture of Almond Milk and Fat Free Evaporated Milk)
– ¼ cup of Parmesan cheese
– ½ teaspoon of crushed red pepper
– salt and pepper to taste

*Added: Mushrooms, diced Tomato, Eggplant

Direction:
Risotto: In a sauce pot, combine rice and 2 cups of chicken stock. Cook on medium heat, stirring often, until cooked (about 10 minutes). Add cheese, salt, and pepper, and combine well.

Creamed Spinach
– Cook bacon and onion together until onions are translucent and bacon is browned. Add 1 cup of chicken stock to deglaze the pan. Add spinach. Once mixture comes to a boil, add cream, cheese, crushed red pepper, and salt and pepper to taste. Reduce heat to a simmer, mixture will thicken.

Once creamed spinach is done, combined with risotto and serve.

*This was a great way to use up that spinach I have. I just recently discovered Arbollo rice and figured a creamed spinach would work well with the creaminess of a risotto. I never seem to get good pictures of the rice/pasta that hides under my main dish so I wanted to be sure to get a ncie pic of the Arbollo here so you can see its cheesy goodness! Super yummy!

Dinner:

(Once again, sorry about the burry pic :<)

Pork And Squash Stirfry:
1 (2 lb) butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1 in. cubes
2 tbsp peanut oil
2 tbsp coarsely grated orange rind (I didn’t have an orange, but I had a lemon, so I used that)
1 tbsp minced peeled fresh ginger
½ tsp crushed red peppers
1 (3-in.) cinnamon stick, broken (Just used ground cinnamon)
1-1/4 lb pork tenderloin, trimmed and cut into 2-in. strips
2 tbsp sugar
3 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
2 tbsp Chinese black vinegar (I hear this is used for its smokiness, so I used a Rice Vinegar and Worcesteshire sauce)
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp cornstarch
¼ tsp salt (Does NOT need any more salt, I excluded this)
1 c chopped green onions (Used a regular yellow onion)

Added:
1 Apple
Mushrooms
Chopped fresh sage

Directions:
1. Place squash in a large microwave safe bowl. Add water to a depth of 1 inch. Cover with plastic wrap, vent. Microwave at HIGH 8 minutes or so until tender. Drain and set aside.
2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add rind, ginger, red pepper and cinnamon stick pieces. Cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove and discard cinnamon stick pieces.
3. Increase heat to medium-high. Add pork to pan, and sauté 4 mins or until browned. Combine sugar and next 5 ingredients (thru salt), stirring with a whisk. Add sugar mixture to pan; cook 2 minutes or until sauce is slightly thickened, stirring constantly.
4. Add squash, toss to coat. Stir in green onions.

This was one of those surprisingly good meals! I couldn’t stop shoveling it into my mouth! I don’t know what it was…if it was the Worcesteshire sauce or the sage or what but it was really flavorful and rich. I served it on top of plain sticky rice, which was the perfect compliment because anything with any more flavor would have taken away from the dish. It seems so simple yet tasted so different than anything else I’ve made thus far! Apple was a no-brainer for me to add as it goes so well with pork, squash and sage and using lemon instead of orange peel didn’t seem to have any adverse effects although I do wish I had orange to use as it would have added a neat/different depth of flavor, but I figured as long as I somehow incorperated that citrusy bite that the recipe called for, either would work fine.

Morning weigh-in: 125 lbs
Exercise: 1/2 hour on the stair stepper

Comments on: "I have to pee" (1)

  1. Oooo I want to try this!

Leave a Reply

