Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

NEW cooking stuff!!!

That’s right! I got 2 new cooking tools to use today!! My mom got me one of those amazing flip waffle iron things which I gleefully used for breakfast. I was then forced to go to an estate sale at 9 AM this morning. I did not want to go. My husband wanted to and at the moment he doesn’t have a license. (Don’t ask…) So I had to drive him. I’m an amazingly awesome wife and want my husband to be happy, so I took him even though I did not want to go. Turns out the place was an old restaurant!!! Nearly immediately I found a ravioli pan!!! I’ve been wanting one of those forever! YAY!!!! So of course I had to use that for dinner. So here’s what I’ve got for you today!

Breakfast:

Waffles

1/2 cup Flour
1/2 T Sugar
1/4 t Oil (I’m still scared of oil, so I didn’t use much)
1/4 cup Almond Milk
1/4 cup Water
1 t Baking Powder
1/2 Egg

Yeah that all sounds about right. So my waffle maker is AMAZINGAWESOMENESSFACE! I need to set it darker next time because I perfer darker/crispier waffles, but the flavours were all there and it was super amazing good! I will most likely be making more tomorrow morning! I just topped this with some sugar free maple syrup and drizzled a bit of butter on top.

Lunch:

“Spicy Tuna” inspired Tuna and Avocado with Brown Rice salad

1/2 Avocado
1 can Tuna (in water)
1/4 small Onion
1/3 small Tomato
1 cup Mushrooms
3 T Light Mayo
Cayanne Powder
Crushed Red Pepper
Paprika
Splash of Lime juice
Splash of Rice Vinegar
Fresh grated Ginger
1/2 cup Brown Rice

I just threw pretty much everything into a bowl. I cut the veggies and put them into a bowl. I cooked the mushrooms with the brown rice then added it to veggie bowl. I mixed up the mayo mixture in a separate bowl and then mixed it in. I topped it with a little soy sauce as well for that “sushi” taste. It actually did almost taste like a piece of spicy tuna sushi! I didn’t have any cucumber, which I think would have been closer to what a piece of spicy tuna sushi would have in it, so I just threw in whatever I had. It was still awesome! (And I didn’t overdo it on the onion this time!)

Dinner:

Pumpkin Cottage Cheese Sage Ravioli with Apple Mushroom Sauce

For ravioli:
1/2 cup Flour
1/2 Egg
1 T Water
Chopped Cilantro

For filling:
1/4 cup Pumpkin puree
1/4 cup Cottage Cheese
1/2 t Coriander
1 t freshly chopped Sage
1 T Brown Sugar
A little Nutmeg

For topping:
1 Apple
A little chopped onion
1 cup Mushrooms
1/4 cup Applesauce
1/2 cup Milk
Splash of White Wine
1 T Butter
1 t Brown Sugar
1 t fresh chopped Sage
Parsley
A little Cinnamon

I rolled out the dough onto my amazing new pan. I placed all the filling  ingredients into a food processor and blended it for just a bit. I put about a teaspoon of the mixture into each ravioli. I boiled them for about 10 minutes (I like my pasta soft and slimy, none of that al dante shit) and while they were cooking I made my sauce. I just sauteed the onion for a little while, added the sage until fragrant, then threw in the apples, mushrooms, applesauce, milk, wine, butter , sugar and a little parsley. I threw in a little extra brown sugar too, also a bit of flour to thicken it. It was REALLY good! My only wish would have been that everything be a bit creamier. I might use cream cheese in the sauce next time. I also would like to start using real pumpkin that I cook up myself rather than canned stuff…I’m getting kinda tired of the blandness of it. The squash would be a lot more naturally sweet if I baked one up myself! Otherwise, this recipe was super! I’m really proud of how pretty the ravioli came out! And of course, apple and pumpkin go super well together and the sage just binded all the flavours  together!

Alright ya’ll time for yoga! I’m doing it right after blogging, but I’m going to count it into my exercise now. TRUST ME I’m doing it!

Morning weigh-in: 126 lbs
Exercise: 4 mile walk, 1/2 hour of yoga

Comments on: "NEW cooking stuff!!!" (4)

  1. OMG, the apple mushroom sauce sounds divine! i would substitute almond milk for the regular milk that you used, and now my stomach is growling ferociously with hunger for this! and your tuna creation?! to die for! i seriously just heard my stomach growl. sounds like i should order dinner? 🙂
    love estate sales. i’ve found some really amazing pieces at them. yeah for your great day! 🙂 x

  2. i wonder if there’s a vegan sub for mayonnaise! i would need that, too, for the tuna meal. OKAY, sorry for the double comment! 🙂 xx

    • I don’t use regular milk, if you ever see me write “milk” I mean Unsweetened Almond Milk. ^_^ I’m just too lazy to write that every single time. I also don’t use real butter even though I write “butter”. I use the fat free I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter stuff. The fakest butter on the market! Hehe. Only 5 cals a tablespoon! So HEY things are already looking your way being that I never use real milk! I also always use Light Mayo, I don’t know what the vegan equivalent would be…though I know a lot of my dishes are vegitarian they are definitely not always vegan. You’ll have to tell me when you find a good subsitution! I’d love to try it! I could never be fully vegan but am ALWAYS willing to try different ways to make things!

Leave a Reply

