Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I was out of some supplies for my job, so I made myself go out and about on Black Friday weekend to pick up some stuff. Well, turns out absolutely everything I could ever want was on clearance or a sale and, of course, I had to buy it. I’ve got enough meat now to last me what I’m hoping is the rest of my life (or at LEAST like, a month) and have invested in every clearance herb Kroger had to offer for 79 cents. Blackberries at the local fresh market: 50 cents a pint. SCORE! And I’ve been unhappy lately using applesauce in my sauces, gives them a weird texture, so I invested in apple cider (which was the only thing I paid full price for.) Firefly marathon on the Science channel today and I’ve been feeling like a big fat nerd lately…so I’ve happily had that on all day. Finished a project. AND went on a walk! A really nice, sunny, beautiful, extended walk. AAAND I even got in an hour long nap today. DAMN it’s been a good day! (Does it make you old if you’re proud that you fit in a nap for the day?)

Breakfast:

Cottage Cheese, Oat and Blueberry pancakes

1/2 cup Oats
1/4 cup Cottage Cheese
Almond Milk (enough to thin it to the right consistency)
1 Egg
1/4 t Baking Powder
1/3 cup Blueberries (I love me some blueberries!)

I blended everything in my lil food processor except the blueberries. I threw those into the batter after the fact and mixed them in. Set the grill to about 275 (I was afraid of it being too hot again) and cooked them up! They looked gorgeous and tasted even better! I threw a little butter and sugar-free maple syrup on top.  I don’t know why I wanted blueberry pancakes again considering I just had them not 2 days ago, but really wanted some. Totally easy and worth it!

Lunch:

Avocado Chicken burritos with Pumpkin Tomato sauce

For the sauce:
1/3 cup diced Tomato
1/4 cup pureed Pumpkin (just trying to use the rest of it up)
1/8 cup Yogurt (I used low-fat vanilla like I always do)
1 T Water (a splash or so…however much you want to thin it out a bit with)
Splash of Picante Sauce (or any type of red hot sauce)
Dash Crushed Red Pepepr
Dash Cumin
Dash Cinnamon
Small splash of Lemon juice

For the stir fry:
4 oz Chicken
1/4 small Onion, chopped
1/4 Sweet Red Pepper
1/4 Sweet Yellow Pepper
1/2 Avocado
Fresh chopped Basil
Fresh chopped Mint
Fresh grated Ginger
S&P to taste

For finishing:
1/4 cup 2% Shredded Mexican Blend Cheese
2 T low-fat Sour Cream

I first simmered the onion until translucent. Then I added the peppers, ginger and fresh herbs and cooked until they were tender and fragrant. Next, toss in all the sauce ingredents and chicken. Let the chicken cook in the sauce, the yogurt makes the chicken nice and tender! Cook until the sauce is nice and thick and sicks well to all the veggies/chicken. Add avocado and heat through. When done, serve in a couple wraps (tortilla or otherwise, I use Lo-Carb Salsa wraps) topped with cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

WOW was this good! I mean it turned out FAR better than I thought it would, I was just trying to use up some stray ingredients. I was quite impressed with how quickly I devoured 2 of these burritos! The sour cream isn’t pictured but is definately necessary! Don’t forget it! I decided at the last second to add it and MAN am I happy I did!

Dinner:

Orange Blueberry Pork stir fry

For the sauce:
1/2 cup Orange juice (I used fresh squeezed)
1/3 cup Light Coconut Milk
2 T Brown Sugar
2 T Butter
2 t Corstarch
Couple dashes Soy Sauce

For the stir fry:
4 oz Pork (cubed & coated shake’n’bake style with 1 T Flour, 1 t Cornstarch and 1/4 t Baking Powder)
1 cup Mushrooms, sliced
2 large Carrots, cut into matchsticks
1/4 small Onion, chopped
1/3 cup Blueberries
1/2 Orange, sliced into chunks
1 clove Garlic
Fresh grated Ginger

Steam the carrot matchsticks for about 6 minutes to soften them a bit. They just never seem to cook soft enough for me otherwise. Meanwhile, fry up your coated pork cubes until no longer pink. Remove from pan onto a plate or bowl and set aside. Wipe out pan, respray with oil and fry up onion, garlic, mushrooms and throw in steamed carrot matchsticks. Cook until carrots are soft enough for your taste. Add sauce ingredients, ginger, orange chunks and blueberries. Reduce sauce until thickened to your liking. Serve on sticky rice and enjoy!

I’ve made this before, well the orange carrot sauce anyway, the blueberries are a new addition. I know that I love this orange sauce! The disapointing thing was that my orange I squeezed my juice from was not a very good orange. It wasn’t very sweet and almost tasted a bit sour. I balanced it out with enough sugar so while it was still good was definitely not as good as usual. Be certain you test your orange and eat a slice of it before squeezing to make sure it doesn’t suck. If it does, just use some carton orange juice instead, you can’t go wrong with it! 

Tomorrow I go to my dad’s for birthday/Thankgiving dinner. He was out of town for the festivities, so we scheduled them for Sunday instead. I will let you all know how I do! I’ll most likley spend the day eating light in anticipation of a large dinner once again. All I know is I have to use those blackberries for SOMETHING in the morning! I’ll figure out something neat and pretty just for all of you! I will once again make you proud and not overeat tomorrow night! Thanks again SO MUCH for reading and keeping me accountable! THANK YOU THANK YOU!

Morning weigh-in: 125 lbs
Exercise: 4.5 mile walk, 1/2 hour yoga

Leave a Reply

