Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Kale!

I bought a big bag of kale for the first time yesterday (it was on sale…but of course ^_^). I normally pick up spinach, and while it was also on sale I’m ALL about trying new foods! I was going to have blackberries this morning, but decided on the more savory route instead. Just wasn’t in the mood for sweet. Gotta say, A+ decision on my part! Also, the blackberries will absolutely still be good tomorrow, they didn’t HAVE to be used right away. Maybe a “blackberry” day will be in order then? Ohhh! BUT today is a kale kind of day! I will be going to have birthday/Thanksgiving dinner at my dad’s tonight so this is also a great way to keep things light and fresh for the day! SOOO excited about what I might make for lunch!

Breakfast:

Scrambled Eggs with Kale

2 handfulls of Kale, lightly chopped
1/4 small Onion, chopped
1/3 cup diced Tomato
1 clove Garlic, minced
2 Eggs
Fresh chopped Basil
Fresh chopped Marjoram
1 T grated Parmesan
S&P to taste

Spray your saucepan with a little oil and sautee diced onion and garlic. Add basil and marjoram (or herbs/spices of your choice!) and cook until fragrant. Add tomatoes and throw kale on top of all that. Let wilt, but not too much, try to keep the kale a little crunchy. Mix together, add parmesan and crack a couple eggs on top of all that. Add a little almond milk to keep everything moist if you want. Scramble up the eggs with the veggies until they’re cooked to your liking! Plate with a little kosher salt and pepper on top!

My first shoulder bump with kale was a surprising and very pleasant experience! Not that I didn’t think I would like it, but I was shocked at how nice and crisp the kale stayed even after a bit of wilting. Spinach tends to lose most of its crunch after wilting it even for just a little bit. So I was REALLY happy with the heartiness of this meal! PERFECT for a light morning! Kale tastes almost like a combination of the earthiness of spinach and peppery flare of arugula. I can’t even wait to see what I’ll come up with for lunch. KALE ROCKS!!!

Lunch:

Wilted Kale, Arugula and Cottage Cheese salad

Large handful of Kale
Small handful of Arugula
1/2 cup Low-Fat Cottage Cheese
1 Parsnip, shredded
1 cup Mushrooms
1/3 cup diced Tomatoes
Freshly grated Ginger
Low-Fat Sesame Ginger dressing

Sautee the parsnips until soft. Add ginger, mushrooms and tomatoes and heat through. Add kale and arugula and cover for about 2 minutes until wilted but still crispy. Stir everything up and take off of heat. Add to a bowl with 1/2 cup cottage cheese and mix up. Drizzle with a little sesame ginger dressing (or dressing of your choice, this of course went really well with the ginger already in it).

Of course I totally loved this! Lots of flavour, light and good for you! I need to try one of these millions of kale chip recipes eventually, they certainly would go awesome with this salad!

Dinner:

Nooooo I didn’t JUST have this ABSOLUTELY AMAZING carrot cake cheesecake that my dad made me for my entire dinner…but I DID have 2 pieces! I just happened to take a piece home as well and so took a picture of it when I got back. My dad is a super amazing cook and knows that I’m big into cheesecake. I request one from him every year, and I LOVE surprises, so I let him pick what kind he wanted to make me. OH MAN! This was the PERFECT choice as I completely adore carrot cake! My dad just knows me so well.

Also with the carrot cake came appetizers (chocolate popcorn, indian candy corn, and a cheese and cracker selection), ham, sweet potatoes and green beans. I did have a small amount of seconds (1 extra slice of ham and 1 piece of sweet potato) and then of course the 2 helpings of cake (hey, it was my birthday cake from my dad! Why not?) He then proceeded to give me a selection of fudge cubes he brought back from Frankenmuth Michigan, which I attempted to share but nobody would take any because they were “mine” and there were plenty of other sweets to eat that were “everybody’s”…bah. So I sampled a couple cubes of them and had a little more popcorn until my sweet tooth was satisfied and my stomach was full and happy. I once again did not overeat to the point of bursting. I’m getting SO much better at just eating like a normal person. I’m incredibly proud of me. AND I only saw 2 extra pounds on the scale the next morning! So it was a good night!

Morning weigh-in: 125 lbs
Exercise: None today, I worked from home all day before going to my dad’s and then wasn’t much in the mood for exercise after eating a bunch of food, but I will make up for it with an hour of stair stepping later.

Comments on: "Kale!" (1)

  1. oh my dear goodness, kale is seriously the “food” for which my friends accept invitations to my “cocktail parties.” hahaha! this makes me laugh really hard, not just because i’ve enjoyed two glasses of wine, but because kale is, indeed, very important to my exbulimic social life! i will throw a LOT of kale into a salad spinner, spin it dry of H20, allow it to sit, then spin it some more, then dry it with towels. then i’ll mix it with a bit (3 TBSP or so) of macadamia nut oil (or whatever you have on hand that you can deal with), throw it onto a baking sheet, and cook at 350F for an hour! OMG! crisp, fabulous, crunchy, fluffy kale chips are the result! i dip the chips into ketchup because i’m a ketchup addict. and my friends are simply enamoured with it. you must try it for yourself! and take pictures for the blog, por favor! :):):) x

Leave a Reply

