Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I was gonna buy more because there are sales everywhere on blackberries right now, but really really REALLY didn’t want to go errand shopping today. I mean “really” underlined like a million times. So I didn’t have enough blackberries to do 3 meals with. I only got in 2. I’m still learning how to cook with them, I think maybe I’ve only ever bought them once before. I will learn and get better and all that jazz! I’m definitely no chef, though the ideas I come up with sometimes work really super well, sometimes they just don’t. I’m sure it happens to the best of cooks. (Actually, I KNOW it does, Next Iron Chef anyone?)

Breakfast:

Broiled Blackberry Corncake

Adapted from a recipe in The Cornbread Cookbook by Jeremy Jackson

Makes 6 servings – Use organic ingredients whenever possible

3/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour

2 tablespoons whole wheat flour

1/4 cup corn flour

I cup brown sugar, divided

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup rice milk (or other non dairy milk)

2 tablespoons Earth Balance butter substitute, melted

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups very hot water

1 1/2 cups blackberries

Preheat your oven to 325°.

Grease a spring form pan with Earth Balance.

Sift together the flours, cornmeal, 1/2 cup of the sugar, baking powder and salt into a bowl.

In another bowl, melt the Earth Balance, and stir in the rice milk and vanilla.

Pour the liquid mixture into the dry and stir until blended. 

Spread batter into the spring form pan and sprinkle the remaining sugar on top of the batter.

Sprinkle the blackberries over the brown sugar.

Pour the hot water over everything.

Bake for 50 – 55 minutes.

Right before serving, broil on high for 8 minutes.       

*REALLY cool recipe!!! I’d actually JUST bought corn meal and whole wheat flour and needed an excuse to try them together, so this made me super happy. Also I was out of eggs. SO I was specifically looking for a recipe that excluded eggs as well. Super duper yummy cake, the edges were a bit gooey because I didn’t even out my batter enough before pouring the water over the top, so it collected in the edges a little, but the cakey texture was still there and, actually, the gooey edges were my favorite part! The broiling idea was really good, it gives it a nice crisp topping. I was highly impressed!

Lunch:

Not what I ate.

But it looks about a MILLION BAZILLION times more appetizing than what I did eat.

And while what I had tasted good, it was ugly as fuck. I mean really really really ugly. I took pictures and there was NO WAY I was posting them. I’ll just describe what I did have. It was roasted chicken (which was beautiful and roasted very well) with roasted broccoli (also roasted well), a baked potato and roasted walnuts (was not impressed with the flavour of the walnuts, there are processes I’ve yet to understand how to do properly). I made a sauce out of blackberries, honey and avocado. It SOUNDS good because it WAS good, but it looked absolutely terrible. I cannot with good conscious subject you kids to how it looked. Next time, since I did like the combination of flavours very much, I will make it in such a way that will be pretty to look at as well.

Also in between lunch and dinner I ate my other piece of cheesecake that I took home from my dads that you saw in yesterday’s post. I ate the last cubes of fudge from him as well. I had to do this now as opposed to later for various reasons. After I eat dinner, I always always every night throughout my entire diet have a serving of light ice cream. Its just a nice little ritual. After I eat that I’m not allowed to have anything else for the rest of the night or I might binge. I’ve seen a bad pattern with eating anything after dinner, so I don’t. If I must eat sweets, I have to do it in between lunch and dinner. Also, I LIKE looking forward to eating dinner. So I’m a lot less likely to binge knowing I have to have another meal yet later in the evening. So I ate my cheesecake and my remaining fudge and was happy.

Hoisin Pork stir fry

4 oz Pork (I actually had a little less, just trying to use what was left)
1 Carrot, cut into slices
2/3 cup Broccoli
1/4 small Onion, sliced
1 c sliced white button Mushrooms
Fresh chopped Garlic
Fresh chopped Ginger
2 T Hoisin sauce
1 T Lemongrass sauce
1/2 T Soy Sauce
1 t Rice Vinegar
Splash Lemon juice
Crushed Red Pepper
S&P to taste

I think this sounds about right. I just wanted to keep it super duper easy tonight after my overly complicated lunch. I just stir fried everything together basically. Nothing hard. It was very very yummy and easy though, the pork was perfect with the hoisin sauce. I served it on sticky rice. Great way to end the day!

Morning weigh-in: 127 lbs (a tiny bit of added weight from dinner the night before, but not much!)
Exercise: 45 minutes on the stair stepper

Comments on: "Half-day for Blackberries…(I ran out)" (3)

  1. i love that you’re not vegan. most of my blog friends are, indeed, “clean-eating’ veganites. you remind me of my sweet (skinny) baby sister. she loves chicken and comments on my blog, from time to time, as “Fat Girl.” (even though she’s thinner than a rail!). it’s so amazing to really connect with the thoughts of other people throughout the world. and believe me, i truly connect with your thoughts. i don’t have iced cream for dessert at nighttime, but i do, indeed, indulge in a gin martini or two. (or three, on holidays). 😉 x

  2. Aw what a sweet sentiment that I remind you of your sister! It’s also nice to know even the strictest of us dieters have our little indulgent rituals (always within our daily calorie count though! Hehe!) You are of course free to susbstitute anything you need in my recipes to make them vegan and of course would LOVE to hear about the results! Maybe even a picture or two? 🙂

  3. pictures, yes!!! it’s a promise!!! x

Leave a Reply

