Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Normally I drink literally a pot of coffee every day. I went without coffee this morning. Did it give me a headache? No. Did it make me irritable? Not at all. Was there any particular reason I decided to skip it? No, I was just out of coffee. Hehe. While I’m glad that I didn’t experience any adverse side effects to not drinking it, I still missed it. Not the caffeine or physical side effects, but the mental ones. I just enjoy holding a nice warm mug of coffee in the morning and filling my tummy up with a soothingly hot liquid alongside my breakfast. It’s just a comforting morning ritual. So after work today I went straight out and bought more coffee. ^_^ I would like to start learning how to cook with it. As I make so much of it every day, I could use to spare a little for a meal. I may not experiment with this tomorrow since it is my husband’s birthday and we will be going to his favorite restaraunt for lunch, and I still have blackberries left that I may use for dinner again tonight (maybe, I also got pineapple on sale today so we shall see!) but I will be experimenting with coffee soon! That’s a promise!

Breakfast:

I had to be at work at 11 today, and while thats not exactly early, it also doesn’t give me much time to prepare a lavish breakfast, so to make things quick and easy on myself I just had some cereal with a little almond milk. Hey, it got the job done. Did I measure out a serving? Yes I did and while I’m not completely proud of this I did have 2 days where I ate like a pig so I need to balance that out with a little OCD…gotta put myself into check every once in a while.

Lunch:

Sorry this pic is so weirdly dark. I think maybe I felt odd taking pics at work of my food and just wanted to get it done quickly. Anyway, here I had a cup of chicken noodle and a cup of potato bacon soup. Very yummy and as always very filling!

Dinner:

Blackberry Chicken with Avocado and Broccoli

(Attempt #2 at an Avocado Blackberry chicken dish was a HUGE success! It looked FAR prettier!)

For baking:
4 oz Chicken Breast
1 cup Broccoli
1 cup Mushrooms, sliced
A few springs of fresh Rosemary
4 or 5 fresh Blackberries
A little fresh squeezed Orange Juice

For the sauce:
About 2/3 cup Blackberries (however many you want really)
1/3 cup White Wine
Juice from 1/2 of an Orange (so about 1/4 cup)
1.5 T Red Wine Vinegar
1 t Sugar
Fresh chopped Tarragon
2 slices of a large Vadalia Onion, chopped
S&P to taste (though I don’t think I added any pepper, you can feel free too)

Place your chicken breast with a small spray of oil into the baking dish of your choice. Place a few leaves of fresh Rosemary on top of the chicken and throw the mushrooms and broccoli on top of it. I also added 4 or 5 blackberries on top because I knew they would burst a bit when they got hot and the juices would flow out on top of the chicken. Spritz again with a little olive oil and squeeze just a little orange juice over everything. Cover and bake for 30 minutes at 350. While that is baking, start making your sauce. Heat up the wine, orange juice, vinegar and sugar in a pan and start letting it reduce. I cut all my blackberries in half because A) they were massive and B) to break apart the juice a bit and added them along with some chopped sweet onion and fresh chopped tarragon. Let that reduce till nice and thick (add cornstarch if necessary).  When the chicken is done baking, add the juices from the bottom of the baking pan into the sauce to thin it out a little. (It made it the PERFECT consistency and nothing went to waste!) Chop up a little avocado and add it on top last (I feel baking avocado takes away too much of the sweetness of it, I like just adding it as late as possible). I put it all on a pile of white rice.

 It was AMAZING! I will be posting pictures this time as they are pretty and the dish looks quite appealing. ^_^ The wine reduction was beautiful and of course feel free to use red wine instead of white wine. I need to start learning how to plate my food properly instead of just piling everything into the middle of my plate (you can’t even see the chicken in there, but there is chicken!) but I could have eaten 3 more helpings of this! I feel super good about myself because I came up with this entirely out of things I had laying around. Sooooo good!

Thanks again for reading everyone! Always let me know if you have any suggestions for recipes! I LOVE trying new things and its pretty easy to see the sorts of ingredients I tend to have laying around. ^_^

Morning weigh-in: 128 lbs (yesterday made me gain another lb…so I ate better today)
Exercise: 6.5 hours at retail job

Leave a Reply

