Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Birthday cards

Alright, I can’t get this off my mind so I’m going to air it out here. I hope you don’t mind me rambling for a minute before I get on with the foodstuffs.

A couple weeks ago I took my mom out for her birthday and explained some of the anxiety-related issues that I’ve been going through (she has her fair share as well, so it was pretty easy to talk to her about it) and I made a statement about how I tried going into a local food mart a couple weeks prior to that to try and buy a cupcake. Something sweet. And I couldn’t do it. And it sucked a lot because it was then I realized something was wrong with me. It was one of my tipping points and a very awful, anxiety-ridden day in my life. For my birthday she bought me a card that she thought was funny and cute. The front had a dog that was staring longingly at a cupcake sitting on a table and on the inside she wrote “You can just put the rest in the fridge,” and she asked me if I “got the joke” and I said I didn’t….shes like “Don’t you remember our conversation from the other day?” and then I got it…she thought it would be cute and funny to reference my eating disorder in a birthday card. Happy birthday to me. I politely told her that it was sweet and thank you, but of course was not quite in the position to want to talk about my eating disorder with everyone in the room, so I tried my best to sort of skirt around it while still being nice.

I wish my mom would just think sometimes. Maybe its my fault. Maybe I didn’t stress the seriousness of it to her enough. Maybe she was just trying to lighten my mood about it a little bit and she really truly thought she was helping by joking around. But its not a joke. It was a really dark day in my life. I wish my poor mom understood. I don’t want her to worry too much, I assured her that I was getting help for my issues and everything would be ok. But maybe I should have told her, I mean REALLY told her how serious it had become.

Aside from that it’s been an absolutely gorgeous day! I got to watch the sunrise this morning, I got large order completely finished so I will be sending that out today to a hopefully happy customer, and I’m actually looking forward to working my retail job tonight. It gets me up and about and out of the house and active and whatnot. Tomorrow I will be joining a gym! SO many awesome, productive things!

Breakfast:

Sweet Potato, Mushroom and Kale frittata

1 small Sweet Potato, peeled and sliced
1 cup Baby Bella Mushrooms, sliced
2 handfulls of Kale, chopped
2 Eggs
1/8 cup Almond Milk
3 T Reduced Fat Cheddar Jack blend
Fresh chopped Oregano
Fresh chopped Mint
Fresh chopped Sage
Allspice
Cinnamon
S&P
(all spices measured to taste, though next time I would use a little more sage, I only used 1 medium leaf)

Preheat the oven to 375. If you use oil, go ahead and throw in enough that will cook your potatoes without any other aid. Personally, I never use enough to cook mine properly and I have to either boil mine first or throw them in the microwave for a little while to get them started. So I peeled and microwaved my sweet potato for 2 minutes before slicing and cooking in an oven safe pan, preferably cast iron. I sprayed a little oil onto the bottom (which actually did give the potatoes a nice crispness, it made me happy) and cooked the potatoes until crisp. Then I added the mushrooms, spices and kale and cooked until the kale was nice and wilted, about 5 minutes or so. I wisked my eggs and milk together in a different bowl and poured it over the top of my sweet potato mixture in the pan and let it cook until the edges started to set. Then I threw the cheese on top and placed the whole pan into the oven for about 7 minutes, until the cheese is melty and the eggs are set. Fantastic! I was glad I didn’t use any garlic or onions as it really let the sweet potato flavour shine through. Feel free to add or subtract any veggies that you want though!

Lunch:

Arugula Pesto, Bacon, Avocado and Blackberry pasta salad

For the pesto:
1 small handfull Arugula
About 10 or so Mint leaves (include stems if you can, lots of flavour in there!)
A few fresh Basil leaves (if you only have dried, that works ok too)
1/2 T Pine Nuts
2 T Rice Vinegar
1 T Apple Cider Vinegar
Splash of Lemon juice
2 T grated (or fresh) Parmesan Cheese
Pinch of S&P
Water to thin out the sauce a bit

For the salad:
2 oz Rotini or Penne (I ran out of Rotini lol, so I had to mix)
1/2 Avocado, cubed
2 slices Turkey Bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 medium slice of Vadallia Onion, chopped
About 5 or 6 big Backberries, cut in half

Put all pesto ingredients into a food processor and blend until its the pesto sauce consistency of your prefrence. ^_^ I like mine a little leafy, some people like theirs a bit smoother. Toss together the salad ingredients and then toss in the pesto sauce to coat the salad. Mix it up good and throw the blackberries on top.

Holy shit kids, this was really really amazing. When I told people I had a salad with bacon and blackberries they’re always shocked at how good that sounds. And it was. It put me into a super good mood for the rest of the day! You will LOVE this combination!

Dinner:

Once again forgot my camera. Boo. So I found this super pretty picture of Black Bean soup that didn’t have any other stupid garnishes on it. I think it looks beautiful as-is, I ADORE black bean soup! I had 2 of these cups of soup for dinner.

I don’t know what it was, but I simply wasn’t hungry when I got home from work and skipped my usual ice cream. I was super tired and went straight to bed instead. We stayed to clean up and extra half an hour, so I got home pretty late. It’s ok to just not be hungry sometimes right? It doesn’t happen to me often, but its weird when it does. Well anyway, work was pretty good, I got my first “Thanks for nothing” from a customer of the season because I couldn’t pull the item they wanted out of my ass for them. :< It’s ok, her husband was really nice and made up for her being extremely rude. All of my other customers were totally nice. The holidays are an interesting time for retail, you have to expect rudeness every once in a while. It can still take you by surprise though.

Morning weigh-in: 127 lbs (still :<)
Exercise: 7 hours of retail job

Comments on: "Birthday cards" (3)

  1. the look of your breakfast just made my jaw drop with ravenous envy! i wish that i had patience to cook things! but when i want them, i WANT THEM NOW!!! (same goes for shoes and handbags, haha).

    about the mom thing: i totally think she was just trying to connect with you. my mom has that weird way of saying, “i understand. it’s okay that you’re effed up. i love you anyway.” i’ve gotten cards referencing the eating of bushels of apples. and now i think they’re totally hilarious! before i ended my bingeing and purging, i would have been angry for days, surely!

    i actually post “bulimic humour” to my blog! here is one example:

    http://nicoleandgwendolyn.com/2011/10/23/bulimic-humour-the-sunday-funnies-forgot-to-publish-this-one/

    haha, okay, stop laughing now! 🙂 x

    • I have a massive amount of patience when it comes to cooking. I adore the results and they are worth it to me because I love food so much! It only sucks when I’ve spent an hour and a half making something only to have it not taste so good, which doesn’t happen very often at all. But it always puts me in an amazing mood when I have a wonderful meal! It’s very important to me.

      Hehehe your “bulimic humour” was quite cute! I think the difference is that no one in my family really knows. My mom sort of knows I’ve got issues…but like…my brother, my sister-in-law, my grandma, my husband…none of them really know and it just didn’t seem like the time to discuss it. I guess it was a day I just wanted to forget that I had major mental problems and wanted to have my turkey and eat it too without worrying that everyone in the room was watching me eat. I will try my best to be more lighthearted about it in the futute…it just seemed like one of those “too soon” moments in comedy! LOL!

      • all of my comedic deliveries are misunderstood or “too soon” except for the bulimic ones . . . it figures i’d be good at that one. 😉

Leave a Reply

