Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I must admit, I’m a glutton for punishment.

I LOVE reading through these Harry and David-type catalogues, I love to look at all the candies and cheeses and cakes and all these stupid things I love but don’t often treat myself to. I think I know in the back of my mind that I CAN have them if I want them (in moderation of course) and so it doesn’t really torture me or anything. I just love food so much, I love just looking at it. I don’t even have to eat it. Its like…looking at a picture of your choice hot, sexy movie star. You’re happy just to look at them, you don’t need to eat them too ~_^ (though of course it would be nice, appreciating the beauty of the person is always good enough for me!) So I’ve been looking through all the crazy food gift catalogues we’ve been getting lately. THEN on top of that I find out that our Groupon of the day is for cupcakes. I have a weird love affair with cupcakes. My Firefox browser “persona” is a line of beautifully decorated cupcakes. I think my first post was titled something about how much I love cupcakes. Cupcake Wars? Totally one of my favorite shows. They’re one of those things though that I’m happy to just look at because they’re so pretty. If I EAT it, it won’t be pretty anymore! TRAGIC!!! I mean, I adore eating them, but looking at them makes me just as happy.

Should I buy the cupcake groupon? It’s for a dozen cupcakes, I don’t really want to eat THAT much…I could bring them to my brother’s for dinner or something though. Share them at work? But then at that point, why am I spending so much money when I really just want 1 or 2 cupcakes? I don’t want to have them lying around the house, that would be a terrible idea. So what do you guys/girls think? It would be lovely to have some professionaly-made cupcakes yo.

Breakfast:

Just a simple scramble egg today, kids. Sauteed chopped onions, yellow peppers, mushrooms and carrots with some fresh chopped thyme, rosemary and oregano scrambled with 2 eggs and topped with a bit of crumbled feta, salt and pepper. I didn’t eat breakfast till like 10:30 today, so I desperately needed something easy today. I got up late too, 8:30…well for me thats late! The feta really made this dish, use feta on your eggs! It’s an amazing combo!

Lunch:

Peach and Avocado Chili

Serves 1

2.5 oz super Lean Ground Beef
1/2 cup canned Chili Beans
1/2 cup canned diced Tomatoes
2 slices Vadallia Onion, chopped
1/2 yellow sweet Pepper, chopped
1 small Peach, diced
1/2 small Avocado, cubed
1 clove Garlic, minced
2 t Lime Hot Sauce (or the hot sauce of your choice!)
Splash of Lime juice
Shredded Cheese (I used a Reduced Fat Mexican Blend)
Fresh chopped Thyme
Fresh chopped Mint
Fresh chopped Tarragon
Chili Powder to taste
Pinch of Cinnamon
S&P to taste

Cook up the beef, drain fat and set aside. Spray pan with oil and sautee onions, garlic, peppers and herbs/spices. Throw in the tomatoes and beans (be sure to add some of the canned sauce/juice in there! Don’t drain it!) and toss the cooked ground beef back in along with the diced peach. Add hot sauce, lime juice, and S&P to taste. Check it and add more hot sauce or chili powder to your preferences. Don’t forget that pinch of cinnamon! It tastes AMAZING with the peach and beef! You’ll be surprised at how awesome of a touch it is! Let simmer until it cooks to the thickness of your choice (add more of the canned chili bean sauce or diced tomato juice if it’s too thick for you.) Plate with a little cheese sprinkled on top and avocado chunks to finish!

This was off the hook good. I really really hope you try this and enjoy it! Sorry to my vegan/vegetarian friends for this one! I’m sure you could just leave out the beef and add something else, I know there are plenty of ground beef alternatives for you kids (do inform me of your favorites so I can try them!), so just use that and TRY THIS! My god it was so good!

Dinner:

(Copy and pasted recipe, my 1-serving version is shown)

Brown Rice Casserole with Leftover Turkey (or chicken), Mushrooms, Sour Cream, Cheese, and Thyme
(Makes about 6 generous servings, recipe created by Kalyn)

Ingredients:
2 cups cooked brown rice (long grain brown rice is best)
16 oz. mushrooms, washed, thickly sliced, slices cut in half
2 tsp. + 1 tsp. olive oil (or more, depending on your pan)
1 onion, diced into small pieces
2 tsp. ground thyme
1/2 tsp. ground poultry seasoning (see note after the recipe if you don’t have it)
salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste
1 1/2 – 2 cups diced leftover turkey or chicken, cut in 1/2 inch dice
1/2 cup turkey stock or chicken stock
1/2 cup sour cream (I used low-fat sour cream, but don’t use fat-free)
1/2 cup coarsely grated parmesan cheese
1 cup + 1 cup grated low-fat cheese (I used Four Cheese Mexican Blend, use any type of low-fat cheese that you like the flavor of.)

Added:
1 cup Broccoli

Instructions:

Cook brown rice following package directions or using a rice cooker and let cool. Preheat oven to 375F/190C.Wash mushrooms and spin dry or dry with paper towels. Cut mushrooms into thick slices, then cut slices in half. Heat 2 tsp. olive oil in heavy non-stick pan and saute mushrooms until they’re starting to brown and all liquid has evaporated. Remove onions to a dish.

In same frying pan, add 1 tsp. more olive oil and heat, then add onions and saute 3-4 minutes until onions are softened. Add thyme, ground poultry seasoning, salt, and pepper, and saute about 2 minutes more.

While onions cook, dice leftover turkey or chicken into 1/2 inch pieces. Add mushrooms and diced turkey into pan with the onion-herb mixture, and stir to combine. Add rice and gently stir until all the meat and vegetables are evenly distributed in the rice.

In a small bowl, whisk together sour cream and chicken stock, then stir in coarsely grated parmesan cheese and 1 cup grated low-fat cheese. Gently stir the sour cream mixture into the rice mixture.

Spray a 2 quart casserole dish with non-stick spray or olive oil. (I’d use a relatively flat dish without a lid for this casserole.) Spoon rice mixture into the casserole dish and press down to evenly distribute. Bake for 25 minutes, or until casserole is slightly bubbling and barely starting to brown. Sprinkle with second cup of grated low-fat cheese and bake about 15 minutes more, or until cheese is melted and lightly browned. Serve hot.

 
*WOW yo, this was even better than I thought it would be! I wolfed this down SO fast! I’ve been in love with Thyme lately, so when I saw this recipe had Thyme as a main spice, I had to try it! I used turkey, I figured it would also be a good idea to post a recipe for others who still have leftover turkey from Thanksgiving! You KNOW you’ve still got some! Make this!!!
It was a super good day you guys! I’m feeling amazing and happy. I got a lot of work done at home, sold some more things in my online store, and had some really kickass meals! The only shitty thing that happened today was when I was informed at 10:00 at night that my husband had sold our (admittedly) ridiculously, uneccesarily big TV (our house is TINY and we have this huge 64 inch projection TV that takes up like, half the living room) and the buyers would be picking it up at 10:00 in the morning. It was just great that I was consulted . GRANTED, and I’m completely admitting this, it is not my TV. He purchased it with his money and is free to do whatever he wants with it. But I do use it. And I did like it. And I was a bit peeved that he didn’t bother asking me how I felt or what I thought about it at all until after the entire transaction took place. I mean clearly he knows it’s his TV to do what he wants with and doesn’t NEED to consult me, or care about what I think…so instead of taking the polite, high road and asking me how I felt before selling it, he just went ahead and did it and told me about it later. I’m actually surprised he even gave me 12 hours warning consdering how unbelievably rude he’d been to me over the rest of the details. That’s my husband. I love him, but he’s an inconsiderate jerk sometimes. He’ll feel the need to make it up to me, he’ll feel bad about it. Don’t worry. I’m married to him for a reason, he DOES love me and he DOES care about my feelings. I’ll let you kids know what he does to make up for it…because he WILL do something.
 
Morning weigh-in: 127 lbs (STILL!!!!!)
Exercise: 1/2 hour on stair stepper, 1/2 hour of yoga
Comments on: "Catalogues and Groupons…I dig em." (1)

  1. love love love vegan cupcakes!!!
    i can eat those healthily, believe it or not!
    was your wedding cake made of many cupcakes? that’s what i imagine mine being (i will have a small small small dinner party, not a big blow out like my sisters did). —> now the wine is talking. 🙂 do you drink?
    seriously, if cupcakes make you so happy, then please buy the groupon!
    that’s a brand new blog entry in itself! 😉 x

Leave a Reply

