Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Cupcakes are GO!

I did it. I went ahead and bought that Groupon for a dozen cupcakes. How do you kids think I should handle it? I have this terrible feeling that I’m going to get the “variety” of different flavours and I’m going to want to eat every single one of them myself just to try them all. I desperately need to NOT be tempted to do this. Take my husband with me when I pick them up? Pick them up for a certain event/dinner so I can share them? Get only one flavour so I’m not tempted to eat them all? I can always go back to the place and get 1 at a time to try the other flavours. I can just see myself bingeing on the entire box of them and not eating any meals to make up for it. Ya’ll know I’m not allowed to do this, thats why I have this blog. I’d love love love your advice!!!

Today I get to work with my favoritest coworker ever ALL DAY! We’re normally not scheduled together because we tend to do more chatting than working…but I miss him all the time and he’s one of the few people who really understands some of the crap I’ve been going through lately with my brain! So even though there was no pretty sunrise (too cloudy) and it’s been raining all morning (and it will continue to do so all day) and my entire day is being taken up with my retail job (12-8 :<)…I AT LEAST GET TO WORK WITH MY FAVORITE COWORKER! I want him to know (because I know he reads this) how much he brightens my goddamn day and how much I love him. I wish I saw him more often, we both have our own second jobs that we do from home, so even though I literally live only a 5 minute drive from him, we hardly get to see each other outside of work. YOU’RE THE BEST HON AND I LOVE YOU!

Breakfast:

Ham and Cheese Breakfast Muffins

What You Need

A hand-held breakfast or lunch is perfect for families on the go. These taste like a quiche but are easier to make and to eat. You can even make them ahead and have them ready to go in minutes.

4 eggs
3/4 cup (175 mL) Milk
1 tbsp (15 mL) honey mustard
1/4 tsp (1 mL) each, salt and pepper
5 cups (1.25 L) cubed whole grain bread (about 5 slices)
1 cup (250 mL) shredded Canadian Cheddar, Swiss or Colby cheese
1/2 cup (125 mL) diced deli ham
12 cherry or grape tomatoes, cut in half lengthwise

Added:
Paprika
Parsley
2 small Mushrooms, diced

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C). Line a 12-cup muffin pan with nonstick parchment or silicone liners, or butter generously.

In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, Milk, mustard, salt and pepper. Stir in bread, cheese and ham until evenly coated with egg mixture. Spoon into prepared muffin pan, pressing gently and drizzling with any liquid left in bowl. Press 2 tomato halves, cut side up, on top of each muffin.
Bake for about 25 min or until golden and puffed and a knife inserted into the centre comes out clean. Let cool in pan on a rack for 10 min. Remove from pan by running a rubber spatula around edge. Serve hot.

*Though mine were not quite as pretty as the ones in THEIR pictures, they were DELICIOUS! I was surprised my “cut down” recipe made 4 muffins, I was thinking I’d get 3 at the most. Its silly, but the tomatoes on the top (I used canned diced tomatoes because I’m out of fresh) really made the muffin.  I personally would not exclude them! I think the mushrooms added a little extra moisture to them so they didn’t puff up as far as they should have, but that didn’t matter to me because they tasted exactly like I wanted them to!

Lunch:

Yup, another work lunch, another day I forget to bring my camera. The Soup Du Jour was Chicken and Dumpling, which I had 2 cups of. Someone also brought chocolates. Like, a little variety of mini peanut butter cups, mint kisses, Hershey’s variety squares and Ghirardelli squares. Yeah I had some. That’s right. After I stopped myself while I was (of course) being incredibly anxious knowing I was in the same room as chocolate, I had some during my first 15 minute break. Like a handful. Not a ton, but not just 1 or 2 pieces either. The amount a normal person would want to eat when they see free chocolate. It made me happy and giddy for the rest of the day. During my lunch break, I didn’t have any. I just ate my soup and was totally and completely happy with that. I didn’t need any more, I was still giddy from treating myself earlier. I was extremely proud of myself and smiled throughout the rest of my shift knowing that I’m slowly yet surely becoming more normal. (I did work out an extra half hour on the stair-stepper today, something I wouldn’t normally do after working for 8 hours, but then again I didn’t romp around a whole ton at work today as I was mostly stuck behind a register my entire shift…and Iron Chef America (Alton Brown Fruitcake battle!) was on, great excuse to veg out at the TV for some time, so I might as well work out! Hehe!)

Dinner:

CHICKEN IN CURRIED YOGURT SAUCE 

8 oz. peach low-fat yogurt
1 tsp. cornstarch
1 c. sweet bell pepper strips
1/2 c. chopped onion
2 1/2 tsp. curry powder
3/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1/2 to 3/4 c. chicken broth
1 1/2 lb. boned and skinned chicken breasts, cut in strips
1 c. frozen peas
2 tsp. lemon juice
 
Added:
1 cup Mushrooms
Pinch of Cardamom
Extra Peach slices

 

Combine small amount of yogurt with cornstarch and return to yogurt container.

Place bell pepper, onion, curry powder, salt, pepper, and broth in skillet and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered until onion is tender, 3-4 minutes.

Stir in chicken and simmer 2-4 minutes. Add extra broth if necessary. Add peas. Cook until chicken is tender. Reduce heat and add yogurt. Stir over low heat until hot.

Sprinkle with lemon juice. Stir gently. Serve over rice.

*This is one of my absolute favorite dishes. I make this a lot. So that must mean its pretty awesome. And it is. I always add extra peach chunks which really makes it over the top amazing. It’s just something that is super easy and I know I love. Also, I had a jar of canned peaches from my peach tree that I canned myself opened from the peach chili I made the other day, so I might as well use them up. I’ll bet this dish would be FANTASTIC with tofu! ~_^ I adore tofu so someday I’ll try it!

Work was pretty amazing. I had really nice customers all day and of course great coworkers (I actually hardly got to talk with the one I was refering to earlier because we were hellishly busy all day. Then he left by the time it finally slowed down, but we still had our fair share of swapping recipes and talking crazy ^_^). I hope that it at least won’t be raining early in the morning and I can possibly see the sun rise. It just makes the day start off so much nicer.

Morning weigh-in: 126 lbs
Exercise: 8 hours at reatail job, 1/2 hour on stair stepper

Comments on: "Cupcakes are GO!" (2)

  1. if this were me, then i would buy 3 at a time!
    1 would be too little for enjoyment!
    2 = i HATE even numbers.
    3 = perfection! 😉 x

    • First off, I enjoy highly that you hate even numbers. I don’t know why. It doesn’t matter. I just do. ^_^
      Second, it’s a Groupon for like, a box. So I have to get the entire dozen at one time. Trust me, if I could just get it one or 3 at a time, it wouldn’t be such a problem! Hehe! I think I know what I’m gong to do, I’m going to a birthday party next week. They can be sort of my “present” for the party! I can share them and not worry about smashing on them all by myself. And I KNOW these two kids can eat! Hehe! And there will be others there too, so it should be the perfect arrangement!

Leave a Reply

