Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Getting shit done! YES!

Cons this morning:
-Our big ass TV got taken away at about 11 AM. While not TV-less or anything, it’s a shame that my husband basically felt the need to sneak around behnd my back to sell it.
-Had to deal with another person banging around early in the morning. I really rather  enjoy having my nice, quiet mornings to myself. At least he didn’t turn any music on when he asked if it as ok and I said no.
-Husband’s computer is not working, to fix this problem he keeps jumping onto mine to find a solution. I hate sharing my computer, I can’t blog with him constantly on it. Bah.
-Free preview of Cooking Channel ended, stuck with shitty preview channels this month. What I wouldn’t have done to have them extend TCC for December…that would have helped with my winter depression problem BIG time.

Pros this morning:
-I finished a project nice and early(about 1:00) and got it all posted into my online store already. It makes me really happy when I buckle down and get shit done!
-Beautiful sunrise this morning. I need sunlight to survive.
-I did not have to participate in the moving of the TV whatsoever. I wouldn’t have helped if asked anyway.
-Since getting shit done early, I got to actually relax and kick my feet up a few hours before going into retail job. I almost feel…lazy. I never get to feel lazy.
-Looking forward to getting out of the house and going into a short shift at work. It gets me off my feet and around people. It’s nice being part-time at my retail job, it’s the only time in my life I’ve actually looked forward to working. The less shit you have to deal with, the more you enjoy your job. Ever notice that?
-I made a beautiful little breakfast. I did my best to plate it pretty so I would have nice pics! I also had an amazing lunch. Life is good and food is awesome!

Breakfast:

(LOVED this recipe since it originally only made one serving!!!)

Tropical Pineapple and Coconut Infused Baked Oats

Print this easy peasy recipe Print this easy peasy recipe

Servings – 1

Preparation Time – 5 minutes

Cooking Time – 25-30 minutes

Ingredients

  • 40g (1/2 cup) rolled oats
  • 125ml (1/2 cup) soy milk
  • 1 tsp honey/maple syrup
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp finely diced fresh or tinned pineapple
  • 1 tsp desiccated coconut

Toppings

  • 1 tbsp plain soy yoghurt
  • A few pieces of fresh pineapple
  • 1 heaped tsp raisins
  • 1 passion fruit
  • 1 tsp desiccated coconut

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 180C (350F).
  2. Mix together all baked oat ingredients with the exception of the milk.
  3. Place mixture in to a lightly greased ramekin and pour over milk.
  4. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes.
  5. Remove from the oven and allow it to cool for at least 20 minutes before removing from the ramekin. Place under a preheated grill (broiler) for 4-5 minutes (turning upside down half way through to allow the bottom to crisp up too!)
  6. Serve with toppings, on top or in a bowl muddled up together…it will taste the same either way!

YUM! So simple and so pretty! I had pineapple to use up so this was what I found! I also needed something not too complicated since hubby was running around all morning…didn’t really want to have him in my way/be in his way. I don’t have a ramekin right now unfortunatelly (I will be remedying this problem though) and so had to make them in 2 muffin-style cakes instead. After I ate one down I took another pic so you could see it better! I topped mine with a blackberry on each as well. Very pretty and yummy!

Lunch:

Sweet Potato, Eggplant and Kale stir fry

1 medium Sweet Potato, cubed
1/2 medium-large Eggplant, cubed
2 handfulls Kale
2 sliced Vadallia Onion, chopped
1/2 orange Sweet Pepper (or whatever color strikes yer fancy), sliced
1/2 cup diced Tomatoes
1/4 cup crushed Tomatoes (or tomato sauce)
1/4 cup (or so) of Stock (I used chicken, feel free to use whatever you want!)
1 clove Garlic, minced
1 t Turmeric
1/2 (heaping) t Garam Marsala
1/4 t Curry
1/4 t Mustard Seeds
Crushed Red Pepper to taste

Spray a saucepan with olive oil and sautee the onions, garlic and mustard seeds until the seeds start popping. Add eggplant, potatoes, pepper and spices and cook until eggplant and peppers begin to soften, a few minutes. Add diced/crushed tomatoes and stock. Cover and simmer about 10 minutes, make sure all your potato is in the liquid so it cooks through. Toss kale on top, cover again and let simmer for another 5 minutes, until kale is wilted and potatoes are completely cooked. Mix up nice and good and get all that wilted kale in there. Serve and enjoy!

I had so much food that I clearly did not need to add any rice or noodles to this. In fact, I’d love to make pasta/grain-less dishes like this more often because it saves time and makes me feel less dependent on rice as a filler. I was “Mmmm!”-ing my way through the entire bowl! I was so stuffed that I only ended up having one cup of soup at work later!

Dinner:

Took forever to find another cup o black bean soup picture that didn’t have some stupid garnish to make it look pretty. I think its amazing just the way it is!

Work was CRAZY tonight for some reason! It was just nonstop! Normally nights aren’t so insane, but thats retail in December for you. It was also a Saturday night, so I’m certain that had something to do with it. Tonight probably won’t be so insane and I get to work with my ABSOLUTELY FAVORITE person tonight and I know he reads this blog so he’ll be happy I mentioned him. ~_^ He’s one of my biggest helps getting through all of this as he’s been helping me with my anxiety issues. He’s an awesome frend and we tend to be a bit too talkative when we’re at work, but I swear we still get shit done!

Morning weigh-in: 126 lbs (FINALLY!)
Exercise: 4.5 hours of retail job

Leave a Reply

