Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Bleh

I knew today was gonna suck. No sunrise. Basically no sun at all. It’s completely gloomy as hell outside. When its gloomy all day, I don’t want to do anything. I feel tired. I don’t want to work, I don’t want to leave the house, I don’t want to do anything. I didn’t even start making breakfast till around 10:30. And though it tasted really super good, I fucked it up. I’m tired of fucking up pancakes. I love them, and I can’t seem to make them correctly. I need to start being really specific with what I do and what I add and EXACTLY how thick the batter needs to be and how hot the grill needs to be and etc etc etc. I seem to keep getting the same results no matter what I change. I dunno. I suck at pancakes. Sorry I’m so down on myself already today. I just always get put into an automatic shitty mood when everything above happens.

Breakfast:

These are sweet potato, orange juice and ham pancakes with sugar free maple syrup. Tasted great? You bet! Looks pretty? A hell of a lot prettier than the last attempt at similar pancakes that I made! But (and theres always a but) they weren’t cooked. Again. At all. They were totally and completely raw on the inside. It was good that at least they tasted wonderful because if they didn’t, I’d be ready to go on some form of binge. So I need advice on cooking pancakes. The last time I made them the griddle was too hot and they stuck like a motherfucker on it and burned more and more as I pushed the batter around the gril. This time, I was afraid to make it too hot and so I think I set it too low. I had to work REALLY hard to make completely certain that they wouldn’t stick, so I kept unsticking and unsticking and unsticking them over and over. I’m afraid if I set the heat any higher, they’ll stick and burn. But if I don’t set it higher, they won’t cook. I seriously cooked these for about 20 minutes and they didn’t NEARLY cook through. At least they’re pretty. And tasted good. I worked really hard on these and failed. :< Again.

Lunch:

Garden Linguini with Mushrooms, Summer Squash and Sweet Potato sauce

3 oz Garden Delight Linguini
1 cup Mushrooms, sliced
1 small Yellow Summer Squash, sliced
3.5 oz Sweet Potato, peeled and cut into cubes
2 slices small Yellow Onion, sliced into large pieces
1/8 cup Fat Free Evaporated Milk
1/4 cup Almond Milk (I think…it may have been less…just use as needed to thin the sauce)
Splash of Balsamic Vinegar
Splash Lemon Juice
1 t Lemon Honey
1/2 t Brown Sugar
Ginger
Tarragon
Cinnamon
Nutmeg
S&P to taste

I dunno, I think I forgot something in there. If I did, I’ll add it later. I ate this incredibly late because I had to go errand shopping with my husband. And as much as he says “Oh it’s only a couple of places, it won’t take very long…” errand running always takes up most of my day. So we didn’t get home till about 5 PM and I didn’t want anything overly complicated. My hubby DID buy me a Christmas present while we were out though, a Hamilton Beach hand blender with processor and wisk attachments! Oh man, I had to break into that IMMEDIATELY and make a sauce out of it! I LOVE the damn thing! The husband loves how quiet it is (since he’s basically sleeping/hungover all the time) and I can whip things up SO much faster! LOVE LOVE!

Anyway, I just sauteed the onions, garlic, tarragon and summer squash for a few minutes while waiting for the linguini and sweet potato to boil (I just threw them into the same pan, worked out well!) then blended the mashed sweet potato with the rest of the ingredients (with my new hand blender!!!) and poured the concoction into the pan with the veggies and allowed it to cook down a bit to the consistency of my choice. It was actually really really good. Like, really good. I hope I got all the ingredients right in there because it really was yummy.

Dinner:

Baked Buttercup Squash with Tofu, Apple and Sweet Peppers in an Apple Cider sauce

1/2 Buttercup Squash
1/3 block of Lite Tofu
1 cup Baby Bella Mushrooms, sliced
1/2 Sweet Yellow Pepper
2 slices small Yellow Onion, sliced into chunks
1 Apple, peeled and cut into chunks
1 clove Garlc, minced
1/2 cup Apple Cider
1.5 T White Wine (or so, I may have used 2 T)
Splash of Red Wine Vinegar
1/8 cup Yogurt (more or less, I always have low-fat vanilla yogurt on hand)
Tarragon
Allspice
Pinch of Cardamom
Thyme
Fresh grated Ginger
1 t Butter

Cut squash in half and bake sliced side up sprayed with a little olive oil (I just really love the roasted quality of baking squashes cut side up) at 375 degrees for 1 hour or until soft. While this is cooking, feel free to start preparing everything else. Or have a cupcake. One of these options will surely strike your fancy. Cut your tofu into thinish triangles and press between a couple of towels (literally just place them in between towels and put a bunch of heavy crap on top of it) for about the duration of the baking squash. Spray a saucepan with some olive oil (I even sprayed a little more than I normally would have) and fry your tofu until golden. Spray the uncooked side with some more oil and flip them all over. Sautee on the opposite side until golden. Remove from pan and wipe out the used oil. Re-spray and add onion, peppers, garlic, mushrooms, and spices and sautee till onions are translucent. Add apple cider, wine, vinegar, and let reduce for a while. Add yogurt, tofu and apples. Let heat through. Sprinkle some brown sugar on top of the squash half. Fill with tofu mixture. Serve up all pretty-like!

Yeah this was off the hook. I hope I got all the ingredients right because it was friggin goooooooood! I used a slightly old apple (just trying to use stuff up and not waste anything) so they started disintigrating a bit in my sauce, turning it into an applesauce-like consistency. So I’d use a fresher apple next time. Also, feel free to use a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce up a bit if you’d like. I tend to do this because I dont like to be wasteful and runny sauces tend to stay on the plate instead of ending up in my tummy. ^_^

Oh also, I love it when it’s obvious that there are 2 different light sources in a picture. Bleh. Ah well, it still looks super pretty to me! And it was ridiculously good. Resturant quality shit right here!

So my other meals made up for my crappy morning. For the most part. It started snowing AFTER I got home last night, which was awesome. I’m not really into driving through snow. My car doesn’t handle it well. And I got some housework done. Did my laundry, cleaned up the kitchen a bit, etc. I will attempt pancakes again in the morning. So here’s hoping kids!

Morning weigh-in: 127 (I was TOTALLY pissed about this. I blame the chocolate.)
Exercise: Well, I was out and about for 5 hours, and did some housework. But  didn’t do any stair-stepping. I will be at work for 8 hours tomorrow, so it will be fine. I was active at least.

Comments on: "Bleh" (3)

  1. do you consider your love of cooking a blessing or a curse?
    as an exbulimic, loving to cook (for me) would be a curse! you are much stronger than i am! x

  2. i didn’t “subscribe to comments,” so i am commenting again to enable the comment subscription! 🙂 x

    • Haha yay!! ^_^ I’m so happy to hear from you!

      I consider it incredible. I only starting cooking BECAUSE I have a problem with control, so I have AMAZING control over absolutely everything I put into my mouth. I mean the strictest control. I have the calories of everything I cook with memorized, right down to the cornstarch and rice vinegar. So I know exactly what I’m dong and its so great because I can make ANYTHING I want to eat and won’t be the least bit freaked out about eating it. It’s so great! That’s a very awesome question!

Leave a Reply

