Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I wanna start grinding my own coffee, for sure, but I also need something to grind up these seeds and spices! I made my own makeshift version of Chinese 5-Spice today (which I’m sure tasted NOTHING like real Chinese 5-Spice, hehe, but I did my very best!) and had to grind my fennel and peppercorn seeds with a little marble totem pole guy that I had sitting on my mantle! While it worked, I can think of so many uses for a coffee grinder (those seeds in that dressing I made yesterday, grinding actual coffee beans, making flours out of nuts and grains, etc…) so I think that’s going straight onto my Christmas list! Too bad my family doens’t read this blog, hehe. Anyway, for either lunch or dinner (or maybe both!) I’m going to specifically look for recipes to use the rest of my fake Chinese 5-Spice in!

Breakfast:

Pineapple Rice with Fried Egg

Serves 4

Ingredients:

– 1 cup brown basmati rice

– 1 tablespoon butter

– 2 cups water

– 2 teaspoons olive oil

– ½ diced red onion

– ½ teaspoon grated ginger

– ½ teaspoon Chinese five -spice

– 1 cup diced pineapple

– 3 tablespoons peanut butter

– ¼ cup soy sauce

– 1 cup spinach (I only had kale, so this is what I used)

– ¼ cup chopped almonds (I used chunky peanut butter, so didn’t bother adding more nuts)

– 4 eggs

Instructions:

Combine rice, butter and water in a medium size saucepan and bring to a boil over medium-high heat.  Reduce to a simmer over low heat, cover and cook for 50 minutes.

Coat a wok with the oil and heat over high heat.  Add the onion and sauté for 3 minutes, stirring constantly.  Stir in the ginger and the Chinese five-spice and fry for 2 more minutes.  Mix in the cooked rice, pineapple, peanut butter and soy sauce.  Stir until the peanut butter is completely melted.  Continue to sauté for 10 minutes.  Fold in the spinach and chopped almonds.  Remove the wok from the heat. 

Heat a small buttered sauté pan over medium heat.  Fry the eggs to your liking.  Plate one egg atop a few large spoonfuls of the rice per person and serve.

*So this was a recipe I found online last night while looking for a breakfast recipe using pineapple. I for some reason never thought to combine peanut butter and pineapple! Great combo! My makeshift 5-Spice was pretty good, though I will be purchasing a real mix of it soon just to taste the difference. I also wish I would have had spinach as I feel it had enough of a peppery flavour already with the 5-Spice and didn’t really need the extra pepper taste of the kale. Otherwise the rice was nice and gooey with the peanut butter and added egg on top and all in all I was not disapointed. Going to go looking right now for another 5-Spice recipe for lunch!

Lunch:

Chinese 5-Star Comfort Food

4 oz Chicken (ps, I always weigh my food PRE-cooked/raw)
1/3 cup Peas
1 medium Carrot
1 small Peach
1/4 small yellow Onion, sliced
1 medium Red Potato
1/2 T freshly “made” Chinese 5-spice (probably a bit less if you’re using the real stuff)

For the sauce:
Freshly grated Ginger
1/4 cup Apple Cider
1 T Soy Sauce
1/2 t Plum Sauce
1 t Rice Vinegar
1 t Cornstarch

Cube and boil a red potato for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, allow chicken and onion to cook in a sprayed saucepan until the onions are translucent and chicken is mostly cooked. Toss in peas, carrots and spices. Cook until chicken is done and carrots soften. Stir up all sauce ingredients in a seperate bowl. Add sauce mixture and peaches to saucepan and cook until sauce is of desired consistency. Mash the potatoes with a little milk and butter. Serve over the mashed potatoes.

I really needed like, a chicken pot pie today but didn’t really have the time or energy to actually make one. I also wanted to use up that Chinese 5-Spice I made and a pot pie just seemed a little odd to put it into. This was a nice compromise, I still got the “comfort food” effect from it and was able to use up my spices. It was quite yummy and something I would almost definitely make again, next time with real 5-Spice just to try it. ^_^

Dinner:

Tofu, Anise, Broccoli and Mushroom stir fry

I had just come home from the store and wanted to try this anise I’d bought really badly, but didn’t really have the time to look up a real recipe. I treated it sort of like I would onion and it seemed to work really super good!

1/3 block Light Tofu
1 cup Baby Bela Mushrooms
1/4 cup chopped Anise
1 clove Garlic
Whatever was left of that buttercup Squash that I had, cubed
1 cup Broccoli
A few Blackberries, halved
Spinach (since I knew I wasn’t using rice, I wanted something to bulk it up a little more)
1/4 cup Light Coconut Milk
1/4 cup Almond Milk
Splash of Rice Vinegar
Splash of Chicken Stock (or Veggie Stock of course! ~_^)
1 T Brown Sugar
A few Sage leaves, chopped
Fresh chopped Rosemary
1/4 t ground Ginger
S&P to taste

Normally I would press tofu for at least half an hour before cooking it, but I didn’t have the time tonight. I cut it into thin triangles and pressed them by hand inbetween a towel for about 30 seconds lol. So it didn’t turn out as crispy on the outside as it would have had I done it properly but its ok. It tasted great! So press your tofu for at least half an hour if you can. Spray a saucepan generously with oil and fry the tofu until both sides are golden brown, spraying a bit more oil as needed. Add anise and garlic and fry until fragrant (smells WONDERFUL!). Add broccoli, squash, mushrooms and spices. Fry until broccoli starts to soften. Add milks, vinegar, brown sugar, blackberries and chicken stock. Add a little cornstarch if needed to thicken (although I have to say, I didn’t need any in mine). Turn the heat way down and throw a couple roughly hand-torn handfuls of spinach on top. Cover and let spinach wilt for a couple minutes. Stir it in and serve!

I was CERTAIN to write this one down because I really really enjoyed it a lot. My biggest problem was that my coconut milk had gone a bit sour and I didn’t realize this untl it was already in the pan. It wasn’t BAD persay, but it was definitely not fresh. I added the brown sugar to counterbalance the slightly sour coconut milk, so if you use good milk, you can probably skip the sugar. The anise was an INCREDIBLE touch to this. I needed something to go with wine since my hubby and I were spending the evening together drinking Merlot, watching Sideways and eating some cheeses.

You guys…I’m really excited about tomorrow. Like REALLY really excited. I will let you know all about it first thing in the morning. You’re going to shit yourselves, yes, its THAT exciting!

Morning weigh-in: 125 lbs (finally back down to my target weight!)
Exercise: None today, instead had a really long talk with my husband about some things. Almost as exhausting, just as productive.

Leave a Reply

