Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

When I go shopping for food now it feels like an entire new world is open up to me now. Sometimes I’ve found myself not even reading labels with new items. For example, I picked up that sun dried tomato pesto and it actually completely slipped my mind to check the label. That would have been an impossibility for me a month ago. I mean, its pesto. It’s not bad for you. It has good oils in it and healthy ingredients. There’s no reason for me to worry about it. And somehow I know that. Automatically. Like I don’t even have to think about it. Its amazing to me. I know I can trust myself. I still eat lots of lean meats and fruits and veggies. I still won’t eat fast food or drink soda. I know how to eat healthy. And yet this whole time I haven’t been. I’ve been missing out on really essential nutrients because I was so obsessed with calorie-counting.

I sang in my car yesterday.

This is very significant in a weird way. I used to go CRAZY singing in my car. I was actually like, known around town for it. I loved singing TO people when I knew they were staring at me and they loved it. I used to get asked what I was listening to that was so amazing that I’d be spazzing out so enthusiastically. Then I stopped giving my body what it needed. I became severely depressed. I was irritable ALL THE TIME. I never sang anymore. Yesterday, I sang. And I danced. And I cried because I was so happy. I’m just OVERFLOWING with emotions and happiness. I can’t even describe it.

Breakfast:

Biscuit and Beef Breakfast Bake
Adapted from Home Cooking magazine
Printer-friendly version

1/2 pound ground beef (or sausage)
1/2 C chopped onions
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 1/2 C shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 C baking mix
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 C milk
Hot sauce to taste (optional)
Sauteed vegetables of your choice (optional)

Added:
Peas
Corn
Mushrooms

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Brown ground beef and onions in skillet, stirring frequently. Drain well. Stir in oregano, basil and pepper. (Add in vegetables if using.) Pour mixture into 2 1/2 quart casserole dish. (A 9×13 cake pan would probably also work.) Sprinkle with half the cheese.

3. Combine baking mix, salt, eggs, milk and hot sauce. Pour mixture over ground beef and cheese. Sprinkle top of casserole with remaining cheese. Cover and bake for 10 minutes. Uncover and bake for 15 minutes, or until crust is brown.

*I made a 1/3 recipe. It was SO MUCH food! It was so so good, so cheesy and full of good lean beef! But I couldn’t nearly eat it all! So I offered the other half to my husband. He practically licked the plate clean. I was really proud! I’m so happy that I get to share my food now because I finally feel its good enough for other people to enjoy! I can now feel the joy that real cooks feel by preparing meals for others and watching them wolf it down!

Lunch:

I try to pick black bean soup pics that don’t have crap on them, but this time I got lazy and used the first picture I saw hehe. It’s got very little crap on it, so I’ll let it slide this time.

So I had a grilled turkey wrap with cheese at work and a cup of black bean soup. And I mean I had a WHOLE turkey wrap. None of that half-sandwich stuff. My body needs food to function, I’m learning this. I was giddy and smiling and happy all day at work. I was enthusiastic to help each customer. The change in my mood is astronomical.

Dinner:

Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Ingredients:
4 slices bacon (cut into 1/2 inch pieces, completely optional)
1 pound of beef (cut into thin slices)
1 tablespoon butter
1 onion (sliced)
1 (8 ounce) package cremini mushrooms (sliced)
2 cups beef stock (or red wine or a combination of both)
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 tablespoon paprika
1 teaspoon dried dill
salt and pepper to taste
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 cup beef stock
1/2 cup sour cream (low fat if you desire)
2 tablespoons dill (chopped)

Added:
1/8 cup Light Cream Cheese
Peas

Directions:
1. Cook the bacon in the pan and set aside.
2. Saute the beef in the bacon grease until it is no longer pink, about 5 minutes and set aside.
3. Melt the butter in the pan.
4. Add the onions and saute until tender, about 5 minutes.
5. Add the mushrooms and saute until tender, about 5 minutes.
6. Add the bacon, beef, stock, tomato paste, paprika, dill, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.
7. Reduce the heat, cover and simmer until the meat is tender, about 60-90 minutes.
8. Mix the flour into the stock and stir it into the beef.
9. Bring to a boil and cook while stirring until it has thickened, about 2-3 minutes.
10. Remove from heat and stir in the sour cream and dill.
11. Serve over noodles or rice.

*You honestly wouldn’t BELIEVE what a difference the dill made in this! I didn’t have fresh dill, but I bet it would have been even better! What a totally cool flavour combination! And the creaminess of the added cream cheese just knocked it over the edge. I have a block of cream cheese that I’m trying to use up, so it was the perfect additive!

Tomorrow I get to go to a birthday party. We’re going out to eat. There will be beer. I do not feel anxious. I do not feel upset or crazy. I will probably still have what I feel is the “healthiest” thing on the menu at the restaurant, but I won’t sit there and count the calories up in my head. I won’t worry about “now if I get this side dish I shouldn’t have a piece of bread” or “can you leave the cheese and croutons off of the salad?” or “I wonder how bad that one bite of appetizer was for me…” NONE OF THAT! None of it! I will enjoy myself. I will have food. I will have beer. I will have cake! YAY!

Exercise: 6 hours at retail job, 35 mins of yoga

Leave a Reply

