Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

GIGANTIC post day!

So I totally can’t just sit here for the next few hours and try and rack my brain to remember all of the ingredients I put into each of the things I made in the past couple days. I mean I could, but the results would be disastrous and quite possibly a bit on the messy side…especially if my head explodes. I don’t want my poor husband t o have to clean all of that up. So instead, I will post a recipe only if it happens to be a copy/paste that I found on the internet and did not make it up myself. OR, I’ll just describe what I threw into it if possible. But for now all of my pretty pictures will have to suffice! ^_^ I also can’t remember what meals on what days I ate at work and whatnot, but rest assured I did eat 3 gorgeous meals each of these days and actually on one of them I went to an Arts Commission Holiday Reception (my husband donates to them) and ate little niblets of cookies and cakes and candies to my hearts desire. I did not feel guilty. I also managed to not overeat and made myself dinner later that night. It’s so much easier to not overeat when you know you can eat whatever you want every day. I’m getting back to eating like how a normal person eats. A normal person doesn’t gorge on food every day just because they can. It feels wonderful to be normal again!

P.S. I picked up an AMAZING little tiny netbook on a sale and I’m so in love with it I might marry it.

(Sorry about the fuzzy second picture)

Apple Ham Bake

Ingredients

  • 3 medium tart apples, peeled and sliced
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 3 cups cubed fully cooked ham
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon curry powder
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/3 cup apple juice
  • 1 cup pancake mix
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground mustard

Directions

  • In a large skillet, combine the apples, sweet potatoes, ham, brown sugar, salt, pepper and curry. Cook over medium heat until apples are crisp-tender; drain. Combine cornstarch and apple juice until smooth; stir into apple mixture. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 1-2 minutes or until mixture is thickened.
  • Transfer to a greased 2-qt. baking dish. Cover and bake at 375° for 10 minutes or until sweet potatoes are tender. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together the pancake mix, milk, butter and mustard; pour over ham mixture.
  • Bake, uncovered, for 25-30 minutes or until puffed and golden brown. Yield: 8 servings.

*This was super yummy and easy, but I wish I would have gotten better pics for you! Sorry about that!

Chicken with Tarragon, Mustard and Pear

Ingredients:

  • 2 (about 8 ounces each) boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 2 medium Anjou pears
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 tablespoons minced tarragon leaves (may substitute 1 teaspoon dried tarragon)
  • 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons Dijon-style mustard, or to taste
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Place the chicken breast halves between 2 pieces of plastic wrap and pound to an even thickness of 1/2 to 3/4 inch. Cut each one in half, creating 4 evenly sized portions. Peel and core the pears; cut into 8 slices each. Set aside.

Melt the butter in a large, ovenproof skillet over medium heat. Add the cayenne pepper to taste, the tarragon, balsamic vinegar, mustard and salt and pepper to taste, stirring to combine. Add the chicken and quickly turn over so that both sides are well coated. Remove from the heat and arrange the pear slices around the chicken. Transfer to the oven and bake for about 15 minutes, or just until the chicken is cooked through. Transfer the chicken to a cutting board; cut so that each piece fans into 4 or 5 slices, and place on individual plates. Divide the pears and sauce equally; serve hot.

*This recipe is supposed to be for baked chicken, but I sort of modified it into a stir fry and added broccoli and a little parsnip. I’ve made this one before the proper way and both are pretty killer in taste!

Blackberry peach crumb topped muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon whole milk
2/3 cup sugar
8 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
zest of a lemon
3/4 cup peaches – diced
3/4 cup blackberries – sliced in half

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line muffin pan with liners.

Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl.

In a medium bowl whisk eggs, sour cream, lemon zest, milk, sugar, butter and vanilla together.

Add the wet mixture to the dry and stir to combine. Do not over mix.

Toss the peaches and blackberries with a little bit of flour and then fold into the batter.

Divide the batter into the muffin cups.

Crumb topping

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
4 tablespoons butter – softened a bit

Combine all the ingredients in a small bowl until it is crumbly.

Sprinkle the batter with the crumb topping.

Bake for 17 – 20 minutes. Cool on wire rack.

*These muffins were the highlight of my life. I made them with cake flour instead of AP and it made ALL the difference! I followed the rest of the recipe exactly and didn’t cut any of the sugar or sour cream or anything. These were so good, SO GOOD, that for the very first time in my cooking life, I had to share them. I made 4 and so I saved one for my husband. I even tied a little ribbon around it and left him a note. He loved the muffin. ^_^

Spicy Shrimp and Pasta Casserole

Ingredients

  • Butter, for greasing pan
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups half-and-half
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup grated Swiss cheese
  • 1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano, crushed
  • 9 ounces angel hair pasta, cooked
  • 16 ounces mild salsa, thick and chunky
  • 2 pounds shrimp, cleaned, peeled, and deveined
  • 1/2 cup grated Monterey Jack

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease a 12 by 8-inch pan or glass dish with butter. Combine the eggs, half-and-half, yogurt, Swiss and feta cheeses, parsley, basil, and oregano in a large bowl, mixing until thoroughly blended. Spread 1/2 of the cooked pasta evenly over the bottom of the prepared pan. Cover the pasta with the salsa. Add 1/2 of the shrimp and then cover it with Monterey Jack. Add the remaining pasta and shrimp. Spread the egg mixture over top of the casserole. Bake for 30 minutes or until bubbly. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.

*Paula Deen knocked this one out of the PARK y’all. ~_^ I used chicken instead of shrimp and substituted the swiss cheese for goats cheese. I have been ALL ABOUT goats cheese lately. HOLY CRAP is that stuff amazing! Who knew cheese was so good??? I wouldn’t because I kept buying all the fat free crap. Anyway, I also used a peach salsa and even added another half a peach to it, and peach and goats cheese apparently run through fields together in slow motion holding hands because it was so mind-blowingly good that was the image I had in my head.

Mushroom, Spinach and Goats Cheese Omelette

Y’all are disgustingly jealous and you don’t even know.

Mini meat-pies with Pineapple Coconut dipping sauce

OK the actual filling in these was not so good. I was hoping to get rid of some of that papaya I still had and mixed it in with the ground beef hoping to sort of balance it out with the dipping sauce. Meh. GOOD things that came out of this though: I learned how to make a ridiculously flaky crust. The crust on these was FANTASTIC. Also: the pineapple dipping sauce came out EXACTLY like the kind they serve with coconut shrimp at Red Lobster. YUM! I’ll try my hand at meat pies again sometime, but will make them the proper way.

Baked Pear Vanilla French Toast
Serves 6-8

1 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 T. water
3 fresh pears or 28 oz. canned pears, drained and sliced
4 cups French bread, cut into small pieces (better to not use the crust)
1/2 cup pecans, chopped
9 eggs
2 cups milk or cream
2 tsp. vanilla
powdered sugar or maple syrup (optional)

Melt the brown sugar and butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add the water and continue heating until bubbly. Remove from heat and pour into a well-greased 9×13 pan, making sure it is spread evenly.

Slice the pears and arrange evenly on top; of the brown sugar mixutre. Sprinkle the French bread pieces over th pears, then the chopped nuts.

Beat eggs, milk, vanilla together and pour evenly over the entire mixture. cover and refrigerate overnight.

Preheat oven to 350. Bake uncovered for 40 minutes, or until it becomes puffy and the eggs are no longer runny.

(Serve with powdered sugar or maple syrup – optional. I prefer to serve it plain, I think it’s sweet enough!)

*This is the first time I used REAL bread in a really long time for anything. I mean real, actual, not “light”, sourdough bread that I had to slice myself. And the difference was astounding. I just MELTED when I ate this. I also agree with the recipe that it didn’t need any maple syrup or anything. It was absolutely perfect just the way it was.

Grilled Tuna Sandwich

Bread. Real bread. No one knows how excited I was to buy bread the day before. I went to WalMart to pick up some ingredients and they have a little deli. I didn’t have lunch at work because I wasn’t there for very long and figured I could pick something up while I was running errands. I decided that I wanted to make a sandwich in the car with real bread. I picked up a clearance sourdough loaf and bought 1 oz of ham, 1 oz of turkey and 1 oz of sliced mozzarella. I had also bought some more sour cream and some sun-dried tomato pesto. I was so excited. I didn’t even see the candy at the checkout because I was SO excited about my sandwich with REAL BREAD. I told the deli girl how excited I was. I told the cashier how excited I was. I went to the car and made a GORGEOUS sandwich. I was so happy.

This sandwich was made from tuna, Valida onion relish, light mayo, a spread made from this awesome I think Harry and David sweet pepper relish stuff mixed with light cream cheese, 2 slices of American cheese, tomato, orange pepper, fresh thyme and oregano and some lettuce (added after its cooked), and grilled it in an old Foreman that I thought we’d never use again. Well now I’m using it for sandwiches dammit! I took this to the living room to eat and my husband commented that it looked like I bought it from a restaurant. Damn straight!

Tofu and Pineapple Fried Rice

Pretty straight forward. Brown rice with tofu, pineapple, shredded carrot, peas, onion and red peppers topped with some crushed cashews, The recipe called for peanut oil. I used sesame. I think peanut would have made a bigger difference. It was still really good, I’m just becoming a better cook and realizing the little things that make a dish just a little better. ^_^

Thank you again for reading! I’m a tiny bit afraid of backsliding so I really still need this blog. I’m so happy that I have people who read and genuinely care about my recovery! You are all amazing people! I’ll still try and go through and tag this post proper like so that you can reference these recipes later, then I need to restart my little netty and post all of yesterday’s meals. THEN start on todays! Haha!

 

Comments on: "GIGANTIC post day!" (1)

  1. you are amazing and need to make a cookbook!
    did you check out my salmon sandwich design?! i want to know of what you think, please!
    http://nicoleandgwendolyn.com/2011/12/14/the-exbulimic-salmon-sandwich-design/

Leave a Reply

