Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

We’re trying to get a ton of things done today before going out of town for a birthday party! I have a project to start, finish and send before 2. Then we have to run a bunch of errands, including stopping to pick up birthday presents. Then I have to run back home, take a shower and make myself look presentable. The party is about an hour away and we’re going out to dinner at this REALLY fancy looking joint! I’m quite excited!

Breakfast:

Raspberry Clafoutis

Ingredients

yield: 6-8

  • 12 ounces fresh cherries, halved and pitted (This is the traditional method, I used raspberries instead)
  • 1 cup minus 2 tablespoons (125 g) flour
  • Heaping 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 cups milk
  • 3 large eggs at room temperature
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

Procedures

  1. 1

    Preheat the oven to 450°F. Butter and lightly flour a 9 1/2 inch tart pan or baking dish; a ceramic quiche dish is perfect. Put the cherries in the dish, cut side down.

  2. 2

    Whisk the flour and salt together in a large bowl. Whisk in half of the milk until the thin mixture is smooth. Whisk the eggs in one at a time. Add the sugar, remaining milk, and vanilla extract to the bowl and whisk until smooth.

  3. 3

    Pour the batter over the cherries and dot the top with butter. (My batter came right up to the rim of the baking dish, so I set it on a rimmed baking sheet before placing it in the middle of the oven; in the end it did not overflow while baking, but I was glad not to have to worry about cleaning up the oven.) Bake for 25 minutes, until lightly browned and puffy. The center of mine never puffed, but the edges rose dramatically (only to deflate completely during cooling). Cool completely before serving.

*This was fantastic! I never knew something this delicious could be THIS EASY!  I tried to take pretty pictures of a slice of it, but since it was only 1/3 of the recipe in a pan that should have held the ENTIRE recipe, it was a bit too thin to cut into slices. But you get the gist! I cannot WAIT to make this with all sorts of different fruits!

Lunch:

This was actually REALLY close to what I had! I had to get take-away while I was out and about and stopped at my favorite Mediterranean diner. I got a falafel wrap, lentil soup and green beans. So this pic is about as close as I can get to what I got! ^_^

Dinner:

At the restaraunt, the salmon was calling me…but then I saw this Cherry Bourbon BBQ Chicken made with Red Stag with those crispy fried onion things on top and simply COULDN’T resist. I was SO GLAD I got it! I will be trying to replicate this cherry bourbon sauce VERY soon! With it I got a black bean and corn salsa and macaroni and cheese. I cannot remember the last time I had mac n cheese, so that was a big deal to me! WONDERFUL food!!

Tomorrow I’m going to yet another big party! It’s supposed to be an all-nighter, but I’m fairly certain I have to work the next day fairly early, maybe even ridiculously early, I can’t remember. So we’ll see if I can stay all night or not. The birthday party was a huge success! We had an amazing time with our friends and we met some awesomely cool new people as well! I’m hoping that after the holidays I’ll get back to a more normal eating pattern and won’t be eating out so much. I’m sure I’ll be gaining a couple pounds over the holidays but you know what? That’s ok. I was 10 lbs away from being UNDERWEIGHT. I could use a few extra pounds back on me.  I’m still trying my best to fit in exercise every day and am going to be at my retail job a LOT this next week. I mean I’ve got 40 hours. I haven’t worked 40 hours at that job in one week in years. YEARS! So I’m going to be a mess. My posts will probably be really messy too, I hope you don’t mind!

Exercise: I got none today. Besides all the running around we did for errands, I didn’t do any actual stair-stepping or yoga. :< I’m working my retail job tomorrow, so that should make up for a little of it.

Comments on: "More birthday parties?…YES but this time not mine!" (1)

  1. this post has made me want to grill cherries! ha! x

Leave a Reply

