Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Hangovers

I cannot remember the last time I had a hangover. It had to be my birthday from 2 years ago. I actually drank last night. 2 big glasses of wine. Since I never really drink these days, it hit me pretty hard. I don’t really like it anymore. Drinking is alright, but getting drunk sucks. So does the hangover the next day. My head hurts, my tummy hurts, and I have to work an 8 hour shift. Not exactly my idea of fun. If nothing else, there were cupcakes. Oh yes. Yes there were.

Breakfast:

Apple Cinnamon Raisin baked oatmeal

(modified from the following recipe)

Ingredients
2 eggs ($.16)
1/2 cup applesauce ($.20)
3/4 cup sugar ($.15)
1 cup milk ($.10)
3 cups of quick cooking oats ($1)
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp baking powder ($.05)
2 Tbsp brown sugar ($.05)
1 tsp ground cinnamon ($.05)
2 cup fresh blueberries ($2) (I used apples and raisins)
Vanilla or plain yogurt, or cream, or milk ($.50)

8 eggs ($.64) On sale $.89 a dozen!!!
1/2 cup milk ($.05) On sale for $.75 a half gallon!!!
Salt/pepper

Directions

1. In large mixing bowl, whisk 2 eggs, applesauce, sugar and milk.  Once creamy, add oats, salt and baking powder and mix through.  (If you wish to add in any fruits, add about 1 cup into the batter at this point.)  **Gluten free: Use certified GF oats.  They are expensive, but this dish would be worth it!
2. Pour batter into greased 9×13 baking dish. Sprinkle top with brown sugar and cinnamon.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes before serving. Don’t wait too long, as you want to serve it warm! Top with your preferred topping: vanilla or plain yogurt, or cream, or milk.

*I had leftover crumble topping from the muffins I made about a week ago, so I used that on top of this and it was PERFECT! I was only going to eat half and save the rest for my husband, but of course ate all of it because it was so very very good!

Lunch:

So of course lunch was provided for us at work. Slow-cooker pulled pork, cake, crackers & cheese, and a whole ton of chocolate. So yeah, that’s what I had. Knowing full well I was to be eating a large dinner that night, I tried not to have too much, so I ate like a normal person and didn’t smash on the chocolate too badly.

Dinner:

I’m not really going to bother with a picture. It was a crazy buffet with 2 types of  chicken,  3 or 4 types of sausages, 2 types of meatballs, sauerkraut, potatoes, corn, bread, and 2 tables full of desserts. Yup. I was in dessert heaven. I had a huge plate of food, yes, but of course the desserts was where I slipped. I ate WAY too much. Way too much. And felt like puking. I wanted to. But I didn’t. I also drank too much so the combination was terrifying. I really didn’t want to come back and tell y’all that I had puked. I thought about all of you. I know it’s not like I have a huge reader base or anything, but just knowing I’d have to fess up to it here was very unpleasant. I still had a really good time at the event and ate really great food and was very happy spending time with my friends and husband, but ended up leaving a little early because I didn’t feel good and just wanted to sleep in my own bed.

Exercise: 4.5 hours at retail job

Comments on: "Hangovers" (1)

  1. i hope that your head feels better! i suggest the yin yang yoga pose! it always solves my problem, and i never need to take medication! and i drink an average amount. 😉 oh and your oatmeal looks ultra fab! x

Leave a Reply

