Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Eating better FTW

My husband went to his mother’s house yesterday while I was at work for dinner. He ended up bringing home a barrage of cookies and fudge and sweet things. Now while I’m obviously not adverse whatsoever to eating these things…its odd how much I’m changing about the way I think of them. How normal I’m getting again. Because sure, I can eat as much of them as I want. But I didn’t want any. I made my dinner, which was awesome, ate it, realized I was out of ice cream…but didn’t for a second let that bother me. It was like “Oh right, I’m out of ice cream. Do I want a cookie instead? Meh…not really…hell I don’t even really want ice cream right now. I think I’m set for the night.” and that was it! No big deal. I didn’t want any, I didn’t eat any. It was so weird to NOT WANT. Does that make sense? It was wonderful, but weird. I feel so…normal again.

I had a dream last night that was also amazing in a superneat way. In this dream I had gained back a tiny little amount of weight. Not a ton. Enough that I would be more in a normal weight range instead of at the edge of being underweight. Like maybe around 135 lbs. In this dream was one of my celebrity crushes (I dare you to guess ~_^) and he was obviously rather attracted to me. Not in some over-the-top overly sexual way. He was quite shy about it, and it was cute and lovely. And in a way it was very reassuring. I’m beautiful. Even if I gain a little weight back (which I probably should) I’m still beautiful. And in fact, I’d probably be a bit MORE attractive with a little extra weight on me. I sure felt sexy in my dream. Sexy enough to catch the eye of someone *I* find sexy! Even WITH the weight! How cool was that? How neat is my subconscious for helping me along like that?  I think it really means my brain is changing. The way I’m thinking about myself and my body is really truly changing! YAY!

Breakfast:

Peach-Raspberry Buttermilk Bread Pudding
Adapted from the LA Times
8 cups stale sourdough bread (with crusts on) cut into 1 1/2 inch squares
2 cups buttermilk
2 cups heavy cream
2 cups milk
1 cup raspberries (frozen or fresh)
1 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice plus zest of one lemon
2 1/2 pounds ripe but firm peaches (about 8), peeled, pitted and sliced one-eighth-inch thick
1 teaspoon butter
6 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 cup turbinado or demerara sugar

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, toss the bread, buttermilk, heavy cream, milk, raspberries and lemon zest and set aside to soak for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, stir together 1/4 cup of the granulated sugar, lemon juice, and peaches, to coat; set aside.

Grease a 9-by-13-inch casserole dish with butter; set aside. Whisk together the eggs, vanilla, salt and remaining 3/4 cup of the granulated sugar in a medium bowl, then add to the bread mixture. Add the peaches and stir well to combine. Transfer to the prepared dish and spread out evenly.

Sprinkle the additional sugar over the top and bake until cooked through and deep golden brown, covering with a sheet of foil if parts of the top get too dark, about 1 1/4 hours. Serve warm or at room temperature with a scoop of ice cream.

*Though I DO have canned peaches from this summer, I needed to use up the rest of that papaya, so I substituted that instead. JUST as good! I think maybe I used a little too much bread because it wasn’t as pudding-like as I thought it would be, but all the taste was there! I LOVED the buttermilk in this! I sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top as well! I wish I had more raspberries, I used the very last little bit of what I had, same with the papaya. Next time I make this I will use more fruit and less bread.

Lunch:

Tuna & Pineapple Favourite

ingredients

10g butter
1 spring onion, finely chopped
1 tablespoon cornflour
1½ cups reduced fat milk
¾ cup drained, canned pineapple pieces
½ cup frozen corn, cooked following packet instructions
1 teaspoon grated lemon rind
425g can tuna, drained
½ cup grated reduced fat tasty cheese
Fresh basil or parsley leaves for garnish

instructions

step 1

Heat butter in a medium saucepan, add spring onion and cook for 1 minute.

step 2

Blend cornflour with 2 tablespoons of the milk and add to saucepan with remaining milk, stirring for 2 minutes or until boiled and thickened.

step 3

Stir in pineapple, corn and lemon rind, gently fold in drained tuna and heat through.

step 4

Spoon mixture into 4 x 1 cup ovenproof pots, sprinkle with cheese and place under a preheated grill for 1-2 minutes or until golden brown.

*These were surprisingly yummy! I had an insanely late lunch, so it was something very easy and at this point I love anything topped with a bunch of cheese, so life is good! This was also a great way to take care of the rest of that pineapple I had!

Dinner:

Pork, Onion and Potato stir fry with Coconut Peanut sauce

For the stir fry:
1 cut of Pork
3 tiny Potatoes, cubed (I tend to pre-cook mine in the microwave for 2 minutes)
1 cup Mixed Mushroom slices
1/4 small Yellow Onion, sliced
1 clove Garlic, minced
Fresh Ginger, minced
1/2 T Peanut Oil

For the sauce:
1/2 tablespoon peanut oil
1/2 tablespoon panang curry paste or red curry paste (I accidentally left this out, but it was still amazing!)
1/8 cup coconut milk
1/8 cup chicken stock
1.5 tablespoons fish sauce
1 tablespoons lime juice
1 tablespoons brown sugar
1/2 tablespoon chili sauce (or 1 birds eye chili, sliced)
1 tablespoons peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
1 tablespoons peanuts (roasted and crushed)

Stir fry pork in the peanut oil. When no longer pink, add onion, garlic and ginger. Fry up another minute or so. Add cooked potato chunks and mushrooms. Wisk all sauce ingredients in a separate bowl. Add to pork mixture. Cook until sauce is of desired thickness. I served mine on soba noodles.

*Now THIS was a decent peanut sauce recipe! I didn’t have any real peanuts so I ended up just using 2T of peanut butter. It was also suggested to me that I use the “natural” kind of peanut butter and I really feel that this did make a difference! I also of course accidentally left out the red paste (oops) but was still rather impressed with this sauce! I keep trying to find a good recipe that really compares to what I have in restaurants, but am slowly realizing that unless I buy some real specialty ingredients, this is probably about the best that I will get. And it is more than acceptable!

I also ended up having a couple little snacks while watching TV with the husband. A few cookies, a brownie, and of course my usual small serving of ice cream for dessert! I’m treating myself to something new (GASP!) and bought Blue Bunny’s White Chocolate Macadamia Nut ice cream! DAAAAAAAAAAMN! But the awesome part was that I was able to STOP eating the sweets. We still have a lot more left! I didn’t smash on it all! I had a few of these, a sampling of that, and a little brownie chunk. I’m incredibly proud of myself! I actually took the day “off” because it will be my last one in a while. Work is going to be overwhelming and crazy for the rest of the week, so I figured one day of not sewing was not going to kill me. I did get lots of exercise in as I went to the park with my husband for a while. It was a GORGEOUS warm winter day! I HAVE to take advantage of those!

Exercise: 1/2 hour on the stair stepper, 1 hour of walking in the park

Comments on: "Eating better FTW" (2)

  1. who is your celebrity crush??? tell me!

    mine is james caan – then and now!

    and mark wahlberg – now! 😉 x

    • Haha! Well I also have a couple, and while he was not the one in my dream, I have a massive crush on Benedict Cumberbatch. (Yes, there is a man in this world with that awful, terrible name…and he is of course British. ^_^) I went all the way to London just to see him in a play…twice. And I threw him roses which he personally thanked me for after the show. *dreamy sigh* Hehehe.

      But it wasn’t him.

Leave a Reply

