Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Pear Day #1

Now unfortunately ALL my meals can’t have pear in them since I do have to work every day and will end up eating from the cafe or otherwise, but I’m starting the use of my Harry and David pears that I get every year from my dad today! We’ll see how this works out! I LOVE pear and have lots of recipes surrounding it, so I think it will be a good week! Of course I have to start out with something complicated on a day that I have to be at work at 11, so I got up at around 7AM just so I could make an awesome breakfast. Cheers!

Breakfast:

Pear, Walnut, and Goat Cheese Quiche for Two

cream cheese pie crust recipe (follows)
custard filling recipe (follows)
1 pear, your choice what kind, cut into sections with skin on
1/3 cup goat cheese crumbles (or more if you really like cheese)
1/3 cup walnuts, toasted and roughly chopped

Cream Cheese Pie Crust

½ cup all-purpose flour
3 TBSP unsalted butter, chilled and cut into 12 cubes
4 TBSP cream cheese, at room temperature
1 tsp apple cider
2 tsp honey

Preheat oven to 350F.

Using a food processor, add together all the ingredients. Pulse until it comes together in a ball.

Divide into two discs. Wrap into plastic wrap and place in fridge for 30  minutes.

Remove from fridge and roll out one disc on lightly floured surface to 1/8 of an inch. Lay and shape into either individual quiche dish or mini pie dish. Cut off excess dough. Repeat with second disc.

Top the crust with parchment paper and fill with dried beans or pie weights.

Bake for 10 minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool.

Custard mixture:
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1/3 cup heavy whipping cream
pinch of fresh nutmeg
salt and pepper to taste

In a small bowl, whisk together all the ingredients.

To make the quiches:

Divide the pear, walnut and goat cheese in half. Layer ½ the pear slices in one crust, and ½ in the other. Sprinkle ½ of the walnuts over the pears and do the same with the other one. Sprinkle ½ of the goat cheese crumbles over the pears and walnuts and do the same with the other one.

Pour half of the custard over the pears, walnuts, and goat cheese filling. Pour the remaining half into the other crust. You should have just enough.

Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the middle doesn’t giggle anymore. Serve with a nice salad.

*I cut this recipe down just a little to make it more of a large 1 serving instead of 2, but next time I’ll probably just do the 2 serving bit. I also used pecans instead of walnuts simply because I have a preference toward pecans AND I have whole pecans and only chopped walnuts. I really wanted the look of the whole pecan instead.  This is by far one of the best things I’ve ever made. The crust turned out a little crispy on the edges (from cutting down the recipe and because I’m still new at crusts) but otherwise the flavours in this dish were absolute perfection. I ate the entire thing. I still can’t rave enough about how much I adore goats cheese!

Lunch:

I had my usual turkey wrap, soup and banana. I think I’m going to bring in some leftovers tomorrow so I don’t have to spend $5 on lunch every day. While tasty, it’s getting a bit pricey.

Dinner:

Baked Mac and Cheese (serves 2)
adapted from Fannie Farmer’s Classic Baked Macaroni and Cheese

4 oz dry macaroni (if you don’t have a kitchen scale, it’s about 1 cup)
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
1 cup milk
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup shredded cheese (I use half cheddar, half mozzerella)
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup broccoli, chopped (optional)
1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs

1. Cook pasta until done (about 8 minutes). Drain. Set aside.
2. Melt butter in a saucepan over low heat.
3. Add flour, salt, and pepper to melted butter and whisk together for a minute or two.
4. Gradually add milk, continuing to whisk.
5. Bring to a steady boil, then reduce heat.
6. Sprinkle in cheese. Keep stirring until cheese melts and sauce is very thick.
7. Add macaroni and stir to coat.
8. Transfer to ramekins (or a casserole dish). Mix in broccoli, if using.
9. Sprinkle breadcrumbs over top.
10. Bake at 400°F for 20 minutes, or until top is golden brown.

*ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Sorry I didn’t use pear for dinner by the way, I was really really in the mood for mac and cheese being that I hadn’t made it for myself in years and just really wanted some really badly. Hehe. This was SO good and I followed the recipe almost to a T. The only difference was that I mixed in about 1/8 of a cup of grated Parmesan with the Panko that I sprinkled on top to give it just a little extra cheesy kick! I totally ate all of this. It was perfectly creamy and the Panko gave it the perfect little crunch on top! WONDERFUL!

My customers have been nothing but nice to me at work. I’m sure it helps that I finally have a smile on my face again and am enthusiastic to greet every person that I come into contact with. It sucks cashiering for 8 hours at a time, but tomorrow morning I get to work without customers for 2 hours, so that will be a wonderful little change. I got to see a cousin of mine that I haven’t seen in a long time. She’s currently living with my grandma. She was in rehab for quite a while apparently and no one told me. I told her that was ironic as I just got through a hard time myself getting over an ED. We talked a LOT about our problems/addictions/etc, she’s such a good kid. She said there were a lot of other girls in rehab trying to recover from various ED’s and, from listening to all their stories, really understands what I’m going though. AND while she was there she really got into cooking! So her and I are going to go to the grocery store and pick out something to make and go back to my grandma’s and cook! I’m very excited to not only get to spend time with my awesome little cousin, but get to do things that I absolutely love with her as well! She’s only 17. I’m glad we have each other.

Exercise: 8.5 hours at retail job

Comments on: "Pear Day #1" (2)

  1. mmmmmmmmm! harry & david pears are the best ever! i love to grill my pears, but i would never grill a harry & david because they are too precious, and i prefer them deliciously raw. hope you’re having a grand day @ work! x

    • Thanks darlin! Work has actually been not so bad lately, I get to go in at 7 AM today which is better than it sounds lol. It means I get 2 hours in the morning to just shelve books and not be bombarded with customers! I LOVE my pears, I can’t wait to make lots of cool new things with them!!

Leave a Reply

