Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

So I semi-failed at pear day #1 being that I had NO time when I got home from my grandma’s to mess with anything complicated…so instead I made fancy mac and cheese . Having to wake up at 4:30 in the morning really motivates one to just say “Fuck it, I’m not screwing with this right now, I’m making something easy!” So today I’m hoping to try again and am hoping this time I’ll get at least a dinner in as well with pear. It ought to be a mildly long day at work, but I’ll be home in time to make myself something lavish before having to wake up at 4:30 in the morning again. Bah!

Breakfast:

Dried Pear and Cardamom Scones

Serves: 8
    Prep time:
34 cup all-purpose flour
14 cup whole wheat flour
18 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
14 tsp salt
tsp cardamom (ground)
112 tbsps butter
5 tbsps low-fat buttermilk
12 tsp lemon rind (grated)
12 tsp vanilla extract
12 egg
12 cup pears (chopped dried)
1 tsp all-purpose flour
cooking spray
12 egg white (lightly beaten)
1 Preheat oven to 350°.
2 Lightly spoon flours into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flours, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cardamom in a large bowl; cut in butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse meal.
3 Combine buttermilk, rind, vanilla, and egg in a medium bowl; stir in dried pears. Add buttermilk mixture to flour mixture, stirring just until moist (dough will be sticky).
4 Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Dust top of the dough with 2 teaspoons all-purpose flour, and pat into an 8-inch circle. Cut dough into 8 wedges; arrange wedges 1/2 inch apart on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Brush egg white over wedges. Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until golden. Serve warm.

*I of course cut this down to 4 scones instead of 8. Also, I used fresh pear instead of dried. Didn’t seem to have an adverse effect whatsoever. Actually I was shocked…SHOCKED at how beautiful these came out as I’d never made scones before. I was also INCREDIBLY grateful that the recipe specifically states that the batter/dough will be sticky. It was so sticky, I would have been SURE I was doing something wrong had it not said so lol. I left one of these for my husband. He’s started asking me now what I plan on making for breakfast. Looking forward to what I might leave for you, eh? ~_^

Lunch:

I actually already had this, this is a repeat picture. I had the leftovers from this chicken, peach, goats cheese pasta dish from a few days back for lunch at work today along with an apple. YUM!

Dinner:

Pumpkin Meatballs in Pumpkin Pear sauce

Meatballs:
1/4 lb Lean Ground Beef
Heaping 1/8 cup pureed Pumpkin
1/2 Egg
1/4 cup Panko + another 1/4 cup for rolling
Allspice
Cinnamon
Half a handful of chopped Walnuts
1 T Parmesan

Sauce:

About 2 T finely chopped Onion
1 clove fresh grated Garlic
1 T unsalted butter
1/4 cup cooked Pumpkin
1/2 cup Apple Cider
1/4 cup Pear, cut into small cubes
1  T Coconut Milk (next time I would use a little more)
1 t Cornstarch
1 T Brown Sugar (I THINK I added this…)
Nutmeg
Cardamom
Ginger

Stir fry included:
1 cup Shitake Mushrooms
1 grated Carrot
1 sliced Parsnip
1/2 fresh Pear, cut into chunks

Combine all meatball ingredients and mix lightly but thoroughly with your hands. Form into balls. Dredge through more panko to coat each meatball. Heat up a saucepan with some olive oil and place each meatball in the pan. Turn over a couple times while cooking, about 10-15 minutes all together. Remove from pan and wipe out leftover oil. Add a little more fresh olive oil and stir fry veggies until parsnips are soft. Combine all sauce ingredients and add to pan. Add pear. Add meatballs and cook through till warmed. Serve on top of rice or noodles.

*I actually wish that I had MORE sauce in this. I may actually make it a bit more pumpkiny and creamy next time, but otherwise this was DELISH! The meatballs were especially amazing. I might nix the mushrooms next time though, I don’t think they went particularly well with this. Also, I made far too many noodles, next time I won’t overdo it on that either hehe.

I got to run around like a crazy person at work all day which was AWESOME. It gets me exercise and makes the day go SO much faster when you’re not stuck up at a register for 8 hours. I work one more early morning on Saturday and then I attempt my Christmas gift for my family….cupcakes! I will of course take lots of pictures!

Leave a Reply

