Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I woke up this morning at 4:30 AM so I could make myself something to eat before getting to work by 7:00. Morning is my special “me” quiet time. I don’t turn on the TV or even any lights (except for my little pink Christmas tree), I blog, I chat online with my friends (actually there’s only ever 1 that’s also up at that time, but he’s one of my very closest friends), I cook myself some form of amazing breakfast, and if I’m lucky I get to see the sun rise. I LOVE my alone time in the morning and I need it. Even though I love people very much I cannot have them around me 24/7. If I could never be alone I would go a bit crazy. This is why I don’t have (or want) children. And it’s also why I’m not certain why I got married since it means I have to be around someone else all day every day. Hehe. It means I must love him VERY very much. So imagine my crushing disappointment when I woke up and realized that my husband had been up quite literally all night and was STILL up…with all the lights on, the TV blaring, and him being in a very chatty mood. I tried to be happy to see him still up, but he could sense that I wasn’t as enthusiastic about seeing him as I lead on. He volunteered to go into the bedroom and watch TV in there instead and turned out the lights for me on the way out. It was so sweet. He didn’t take it personally. He knew that it would be my only chance for the day to have any alone time and knew I cherished that.

I stopped at the locally owned grocery store on the way home with intentions of buying real Parmesan cheese and a present for my husband for being so sweet to me. I had also worked 3 long 8 hour shifts in a row (which anyone in retail this time of year knows is just hellish) and also figured I deserved a treat. This was the same place that I had my “cupcake incident”. The one where I tried to force myself to buy a sweet treat and walked out with nothing because I was too nervous and anxious. This time was different. This time I was nothing but happy and enthusiastic at the prospect of treating myself. The scents of the bakery made me giddy and smiley instead of sick to my stomach. I bought a humungous German Chocolate brownie for myself and fresh Pumpernickel bread for my husband. He has a thing for Pumpernickel, so I knew he’d love it. ^_^ The brownie was INCREDIBLE! I’ll let you know how good the cheese is later tonight, I will be using it in my dinner.

Breakfast:

Pear, Walnut and Raisin Crumble

Ingredients:

  • Topping
  • 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup whole-wheat or all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 5 tablespoons canola oil
Filling
  • 3 1/2 pounds ripe but firm Anjou pears, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons minced crystallized ginger

Preparation:

1
Preheat oven to 350°F.
2
To prepare topping: Combine oats, walnuts, brown sugar, flour and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Drizzle with oil and stir until evenly moist.
3
To prepare filling: Combine pears, maple syrup, raisins, flour, lemon juice and ginger in a large bowl and mix well. Transfer the mixture to a 9-by-13-inch baking dish. Sprinkle the topping over the pears.
4
Bake the crumble until the pears are tender and the topping is golden, 45 to 50 minutes. Let stand for at least 10 minutes before serving.
*Warm, easy, sweet and lovely breakfast! I ate the entire thing ^_^. I topped mine with a dollop of yogurt, but that was basically just to cool it down so I could wolf it down before leaving for work. Otherwise it would have been just as amazing without it!
Lunch:
At work of course I had the turkey wrap, some chicken dumpling soup and a banana. Great as always!  Also very filling.
Dinner:
Chicken, Pear and Caramelized Onion Pizza
Mostly based off of these 2 recipes, one for a crust and one for a sauce
Cheesy White Sauce:

Directions:

  1. 1
    Heat butter in a small saucepan. Add flour and stir until thoroughly mixed.
  2. 2
    Slowly whisk in milk, adding gradually. Stir in remaining ingredients. Will thicken upon standing.

Crazy Crust Pizza Dough:

Ingredients:
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1 eggs, lightly beaten
1/3 cup milk
Directions:
You have scaled this recipe’s ingredients to yield a new amount (4). The directions below still refer to the original recipe yield (8).
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Lightly grease a rimmed pizza pan or baking sheet.
2. In a large bowl, stir together flour, salt, oregano and black pepper. Mix in eggs and milk; stir well. Pour batter into prepared pan and tilt until evenly coated. Arrange toppings of choice on top of batter.
3. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until crust is set.
4. Remove crust from oven. Drizzle on pizza sauce and sprinkle on cheese. Bake until cheese is melted, about 10 minutes.

Toppings:
Caramelized Onions
Chicken (cooked with the onions)
Pear, sliced and arranged in a cute little circle on top
2% shredded Mozzerella
Reduced fat Feta Cheese
A little more fresh grated Parmesan

*This…was….RIDICULOUS. You have no idea how friggin good this was. I had never caramelized onions before and they were SO good, I’ve just been missing out this whole time. Did it take me nearly 2 hours to make this? Yes. Was it completely worth the 10 short minutes of savoring? Oh dear god yes. The crust was one of the coolest parts as it’s just a batter and SOOOO much easier than actually rolling out a crust. I would love to make a real crust sometime with yeast and whatnot, but for a time crunch this crust is amazing! You have to eat the pizza with a fork but hell, all the best, messiest pizzas have to be eaten with a fork anyway!

Tomorrow is my day off!!!! I may experiment with cupcakes if I have nothing better to do, not sure yet. We were supposed to have some form of get together/party but I don’t think that’s happening anymore as the people we were basically throwing the party for will not be in town. Ah well! It’s ok as I’m more in a vegging out mood than I am in a party mood. I also get to wake up at 5 AM so I can be at work at 8 tomorrow, so going to bed early is in the cards.

Leave a Reply

