Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Well I wanted to pick up a dozen cupcakes today (regardless of whether we have a party or not) and it didn’t occur to me that I cannot just walk into a specialty store and demand a dozen cupcakes 2 days before Christmas thinking I can just GET them. I should have placed an order a week ago. Silly me…ah well! No big deal! I’ll probably just make some myself today anyway! I need to do a fair bit of experimenting being that I’ve never actually MADE cupcakes before and plan on making them for my family as Christmas presents. I figure…I dunno, how hard can they be? Right? Right? If I experiment, my husband had better reap some form of benefit out of it because I’d rather not eat them all myself!

Breakfast:

Pumpkin Sweet Potato Tamale Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1-1.5 lbs ground beef
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into small cubes
  • 2 chipotle chiles, minced
  • 1 tsp adobo sauce from chipotle can
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 14 oz can tomato sauce (your favourite kind, I used plain)
  • 1 can kidney beans, drained
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 cup frozen corn

For cornbread topping:

  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup pure pumpkin puree
  • 2 tbsp molasses

Directions:

Brown beef in a large pan with onion, garlic, peppers, sweet potato, and spices. Add in sauce, beans, and corn, and let simmer for 30 mins.

While beef mixture is simmering, mix together the cornbread ingredients. You can separate the dry and wet, but I’m not picky. The pumpkin and juices from the filling usually keeps it from getting too dry from over-mixing anyways.

When the beef is done simmering, pour it into a 9×13 casserole dish and pour cornbread batter overtop. Bake in a 400F oven for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out of the cornbread clean.

*I didn’t use any sweet potato, just pumpkin chunks and pumpkin puree (fresh). There was a very similar recipe that also used cream cheese in the filling so I added about an ounce or so of that as well. This was super good, I tried desperately to get my husband to try it as well and of course A) He  insisted he didn’t want any and B) Later he complained while we were out running errands about how fucking hungry he was and that he was going to pass out unless he had something to eat. I had to stop at Wendy’s for him. He got one of those chicken wrap things. So that inspired me to make…

Lunch:

Grilled Panko Chicken Ceasar Wrap

1 Flatout Whole Wheat Sundried Tomato wrap
About 4 oz Chicken, cut into 4 strips
1/4 onion, sliced
1/3 cup (or so) of Panko breadcrumbs
About 1 T Italian Seasoning
1 t salt (I use Kosher)
1/2 Egg, beaten
Fresh grated Parmesan Cheese
Newman’s Own Creamy Cesar Dressing
Reduced Fat Feta cheese
Classico Sun Dried Tomato Pesto
Fresh Spinach
1 T + 1 t Olive Oil

Mix together the Panko, Italian seasoning and salt onto a plate. Dredge chicken strips through egg and then through breadcrumb mixture. Heat olive oil in a pan until glistening. Add chicken and cook till golden brown on both sides. Remove from pan and wipe out any extra oil. Add a little extra oil (about 1 t) to pan and cook onion until translucent. Get your wrap ready! Spread on the tomato pesto (or the spread of your choice!) and add the cooked chicken. Top with the cooked onions. Drizzle on some Cesar dressing, then top with cheeses. Add some fresh spinach on top of that. Fold up, spray with a little oil and throw onto a foreman grill for about 3.5 minutes. Deliciousness will surely ensue!!!

Dinner:

Ingredients

1 10 oz package whole grain penne pasta (I didn’t have whole grain… :<)

3 Tablespoons Flour

2 Cups Fat Free Milk

14.5 ounces reduced sodium chicken broth

4 cloves garlic

1 Tablespoons olive oil

1/2 Cup freshly grated Parmesan

1/2 Cup canned pumpkin

1/4 cup minced fresh parsley

1.5 tsp minced fresh sage

dash of nutmeg

Chopped walnuts

Directions

Cook Penne Pasta

While pasta is cooking stir flour, milk and chicken broth together, set aside.

Saute garlic in olive oil.

Slowly stir in milk mixture, parmesan, canned pumpkin, parsley, sage, and nutmeg.

Cook until thickened, stirring occasionally.  Add Penne Pasta and stir.  Top with 1/4 cup toasted chopped walnuts.

*Perfect ending to a perfect day! Creamy, delicious, REALLY simple, and I still get my protein in there with the walnuts!

I know you’re all worried but DON’T WORRY! I DID in fact make a tester batch of cupcakes! They were out of this world delish! They need just a LITTLE bit of tweaking, but otherwise they were seriously yummy and addicting. I ate like 4 of them. Granted, I made some in this batch a little different, left things out in this one, added stuff in that one, etc…so I could compare and make an informed decision as to how I want to prepare them for my family and friends. BUT…I still ate 4 cupcakes hehe. SO EXCITED to try again!!!

Exercise: I did not work or exercise today…I ran around running errands and then baking like a crazy person, so I had very little rest if thats any consolation to you! ^_^

Comments on: "Yes! We have no cupcakes…we have no cupcakes today" (2)

  1. my friend jillian just posted images of fabulous vegan chocolate peanut butter cupcakes! here’s the link! http://ladolcevitavegan.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/dear-santa/

Leave a Reply

