Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Nope, not gonna do it…

Not in my title anyway! But MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! My husband was up until 7 AM drinking with his cousin, so he’s still sleeping off a hangover at 1:30 in the afternoon. Not entirely impressed with him…I hope he gets up soon. I’d like to get a start on this gorgeous day!!!

Breakfast:

Belgian Waffles with homemade Strawberry Pie Filling syrup, fresh Strawberries and real Whipped Cream

Here is the waffle recipe I used:

3-1/2 oz. (3/4 cup) bleached all-purpose flour
1 oz. (1/4 cup) cornstarch
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup milk
6 Tbs. vegetable oil
1 large egg, separated
1 Tbs. sugar  (I used 2 T)
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Heat the oven to 200°F and heat the waffle iron. Mix the flour, cornstarch, salt, baking powder, and baking soda in a medium bowl. Measure the buttermilk, milk, and vegetable oil in a Pyrex measuring cup; mix in the egg yolk and set aside.

In another bowl, beat the egg white almost to soft peaks. Sprinkle in the sugar and continue to beat until the peaks are firm and glossy. Beat in the vanilla.

Pour the buttermilk mixture into the dry ingredients and whisk until just mixed. Drop the whipped egg white onto the batter in dollops and fold in with a spatula until just incorporated.

Pour the batter onto the hot waffle iron (mine takes about 2/3 cup) and cook until the waffle is crisp and nutty brown (follow the manufacturer’s instructions for timing at first and then adjust to your liking). Set the waffle directly on the oven rack to keep it warm and crisp. Repeat with the remaining batter, holding the waffles in the oven (don’t stack them). When all the waffles are cooked, serve immediately.

*Though in my iron these did not turn out as crispy as promised (though they did have some crisp to them) I think it’s not the batter’s fault. I think I need to be spraying my waffle iron with oil first. Anyway, these tasted exactly like the waffles I get at my favorite breakfast hole-in-the-wall. They were incredible! I made some for my hubby too, but of course he’s failed to get out of bed yet and its nearly 2:00 in the afternoon. Grrrr…it’s ok. I just wanted an excuse to use up that strawberry filling that I made and this was PERFECT!  It was the best Christmas breakfast treat I can imagine!
My Christmas was pretty awesome! I got to spend time with family and eat a ton of really great food! There were 2 downsides though: #1, I had a cold and my nose was really stuffed up all day. Therefore, it was difficult for me to taste anything. And #2: Because of my husband’s antics the night before, he basically slept through his entire Christmas. This is his own stupid fault. What annoyed me most though was that during his family’s celebration, which I had to DRAG him out of bed for at 3:00 in the afternoon, he stayed there an hour and then disapeared. Turns out he went to go sleep in his car. While his family thought this funny (Oh that’s happened to all of our husbands! They’ve ALL pulled something like that!) I did not. I don’t really care how many times their husbands have done something like that, it doesn’t make it acceptable. Since I took part in the family gift exchange instead of him though, I got me a beautiful 16 piece Pyrex set, so I ended up being as happy as a kid in a candy store! Then from there we went to my family’s gathering on my mom’s side of the family. I gave my mom and brother their cupcakes, which they all adored (my mom actually called me the next day just to tell me “you should sell those on Ebay”…my mom is silly but I’m glad she enjoyed them so much!) and we had an amazing time!

As far as food goes, there was just so much of it and of course I got no pictures, but there was turkey and stuffing and noodles and ham and sandwiches and chicken salad and just all sorts of great food at both places! YUM! Also, I need to make both my grandma and a very close friend of mine who is leaving the country for a couple years coming up soon some cupcakes. I will think of a really super good recipe! I can’t wait!!!

 

Leave a Reply

