Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Christmas Day #2

I had to wake up early this morning to go to my dad’s for our traditional Christmas breakfast (latkes and applesauce with polish sausage) and presents! I brought the matcha cupcakes for them which they seemed incredibly pleased with and that made me very happy. ^_^ We had to be there by 8 AM for breakfast and I had to be at work at 11 (which also means I have no pics of breakfast OR lunch as I forgot my camera and ate lunch at work of course…but for the record at work I had a turkey wrap and chicken with wild rice soup.) Both my brother and my dad donated to the “Buy-me-a-new-computer-because-I’m-desperate-and-poor” fund, so I currently have plenty of money to pay myself back for this one and on top of that have enough left over to buy an external DVD drive and the carrying case that I wanted to go with it. YAY! And even though it’s COMPLETELY impractical, I may be able to purchase this case as well: http://barrysfarm.net/product/unicorn-laptop-sleeve *crosses fingers!!!*

Dinner:

Black Beans and Brown Rice

This was something I just sort of threw together really quickly in-between coming home from work and going out to a goth club (which I REALLY didn’t want to do, but said friend who is leaving the country wanted to go and I wasn’t going to tell her no when I’m not going to be seeing her again for like 2 years unless I can get the funds to go visit her…I still had fun, I was just very very tired) so I had little time to really think about what I was doing. I think I remember mostly what I put in this and will try to accurately post measurements and such since this was actually really good!

2/3 cup canned Black Beans (with some of the juice)
1/2 cup Corn
1/2 cup Peas
1/4 small Onion, sliced
1/2 cup diced tomato (I had a small one that I diced and then also added some canned crushed tomato to fill up the rest of the 1/2 cup)
1/2 Pablano pepper, diced
1/2 Orange Pepper, sliced
1 clove Garlic, minced
1/3 cup Brown Rice, uncooked
Probably about 1/2 t Cumin
Fresh chopped Cilantro, about 1/2 T
1/2 t Chili Powder, maybe a little less…maybe more like 1/4 t…just add it to taste hehe
1/4 cup Sour Cream
1/8 cup Red Wine Vinegar
Dash of Lime juice
Shredded Cheddar

Uh, just sort of cook all the veggies and spices together until some of the sauce reduces, cook the rice seperately. Then at the end, add the sour cream and lime juice, stir in the rice and serve with with some shredded cheddar cheese on top. You won’t be disappointed! Great vegetarian dish!

Work was pretty awesome, once again everyone was nice and no one yelled at me. I have very few of these full shifts left, so lets hope I can make it through the rest of them without an angry customer! WOO! Then next week its back to sewing! ALSO starting January 2nd I will be joining a gym. My goal is to make it at LEAST 5 times a week, if not more. Every day would be optimum, but not necessary. I just need to be sure I’m up and off my ass this winter!

 

Comments on: "Christmas Day #2" (2)

  1. how do you always concoct the most amazing dishes? i stare at your food in absolute awe. your talent is admirable! x

    • Thank you!! You’re too kind my friend! ^_^ I don’t know, I just use whatever it is I have in my fridge and attempt to stick to some form of theme. Like, ok I have black beans, lets go for something mexican. And I go from there. ^_^

Leave a Reply

