Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Sick Day :(

Some of it is my fault. I ran out of birth control and a body is NOT happy when you go off of birth control in the middle of a cycle. 😦 Of course the office was not open over Christmas weekend for me to get more. I will be able to pick up more tomorrow but DAMN is it profusely unhappy.  I’ve also had a sinus infection which seems to have moved into my chest making me cough up green stuff. YAY! Having to work all night until late did not help. I had to take a nap in between making breakfast and taking a shower/leaving for work. I slept for my entire last 15 minute break at work. I mean full out drooling on the table ASLEEP for 15 minutes.

This was also the first day in a looooooong time where I only had 2 meals. My breakfast was slightly fucked up and took twice as long to bake as it should have. So I ate breakfast at noon. I had to be at work at 3. There was no point in eating lunch in-between. Instead, I took a much needed nap. Then took a shower, left a bit early to get an oil change, then worked miserably for 8 hours. I had dinner at 6:30. There really wasn’t any point in eating when I got home as I was so friggin exhausted and sick that I just went straight to bed. So don’t beat me up too badly for only having 2 meals. There was a good reason!

Breakfast:

Shelly’s Apple Raisin Protein Souffle

2 eggs
2 small Apples, diced
2 Tablespoon Raisins
3 Tablespoons Multigrain Pancake Mix, dry (I use this)
1 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 cup Vanilla Soy Milk
1/2 cup Unsweetened Coconut, toasted
3 Tablespoons Sugar Free Torani Syrup (I used SF Caramel), divided use
1/4 teaspoon (+ a dash for tops) Nutmeg
dash Cinnamon

Topping: Sugar Free Maple Syrup or Vanilla Custard (see below)

Cook apples, raisins and 1 Tablespoon of the SF Torani syrup for 5 minutes on low heat. Set aside to cool. Spoon a tablespoon or so of the cooled apple mixture into each ramekin to cover the bottom of each.

Mix all ingredients (including remaining apple mixture) in a blender till smooth.

Pour mixture into 4/4-oz ramekins or custard cups.

If you don’t have a groovy set up like this. Just place the ramekins in a large roasting pan. Place pan on oven rack and pour enough very hot water to come halfway up sides of ramekins. Sprinkle top of each souffle with additional nutmeg. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes or until set, knife inserted comes out clean. Serve warm or chilled with warmed SF maple syrup or vanilla custard on top.

*OK so I changed this up big time. I used pear instead of apple, honey instead of sugar-free syrup and made one big huge souffle instead of little ones. ALSO I forgot to add the other half of the honey into the batter, so I just dropped like 4 dollops of it into the batter while it was sitting in the oven. The honey all floated to the top and sort of caramelized there, which ended up being pretty cool. But since I made one big souffle it took about an hour and a half to cook. While well worth it since it tasted awesome, it sucked because Iwas sick and just wanted to eat something and had to sit and wait an extra 45 minutes, then an extra 15 for it to cool, before I could eat. Hence the insanely late breakfast. Oh also I didn’t use any of the protien powder. Instead I just added some vanilla extract.

Lunch:

I just liked the bowl in that picture.

I had a turkey chipolte panini thing from the cafe. Decided to switch it up a bit! Then had a bowl of chicken & dumpling soup with it. Also a small bag of chips which I was not too happy about as they were out of bananas. 😦 But oh well. I can’t remember the last time I snacked on chips so it was sort of nice.

So no dinner. This was what I ate. I did snack on some caramel corn that was left in the breakroom during my first 15 min break, but overall this was it. At least I had a decent amount of food for my very late lunch.

Who else is MAD looking forward to the new season of the BBC’s Sherlock on Jan 1st??? Anyone?? ^_^

Exercise: 8 hours at retail job, on the floor. Lots of running. I can’t wait to join a gym though.

Leave a Reply

