Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Best friend birthday-day!

Today is one of my bestest friend’s birthday! Per usual, there will be cupcakes. Yes yes yes! It’s my thing now, people are beginning to expect them! And I always cater to what I know they would like and make something new and amazing! I can’t wait to share what I’ve made! But first:

Breakfast:

Spiced Carrot Cake Pancakes

Ingredients:
10 oz flour (2 cups)
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cloves
pinch of nutmeg
1 extra large egg
1½ cups milk (I used Skim)
4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
2 tbsp brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup shredded carrots (you don’t need more than 1 carrot)
butter or oil for the pan
maple syrup

Directions:

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, sea salt, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg to combine.

In another bowl, beat the egg with a whisk and stream in the milk while whisking.  Whisk in the butter and the sugar.

Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry, while stirring.  Add in the shredded carrots.  Now, just like with the Chocolate Chunk Muffins post, you need to leave lumps in the batter.  Do not stir until smooth.  If you don’t overmix and you leave those lumps in there, you will be rewarded with a fluffy, light, tender and soft pancake.

Heat up a nonstick skillet or a griddle over medium heat and add a teaspoon of butter or oil.  Pour the the desired amount of batter into the pan (I like smaller pancakes because they are easier to flip).  Let the pancake cook until bubbles start to become visible on the surface (this usually takes 2-3 minutes):

These little bubbles tell you that it is time to flip the pancake (pretty convenient, huh)?  Cook for another minute or so, and remove the pancake from the pan.  Repeat with the remaining batter.

Makes about 8 5-inch diameter pancakes.

*I of course tried to make my pancakes ridiculously too big! They were cooked through though (whew!!) and tasted amazing! The cream cheese syrup concoction on top was just a mixture of cream cheese, honey, powdered sugar and milk. I topped it with raisins and pecans! I’d make them a bit smaller next time! No use in being plate-sized!

Lunch:

OK you guys, don’t be mad….I didn’t have a real lunch today. From 11-2 I was running all over town picking things up for my husband and trying to find the final ingredient in my ginger cupcakes. I hit 3 Asian markets before finding a suitable substitution. When I got home, the people who were dropping off our new kitten were here and I spent some time talking to them. Then I had to start candying my own ginger, then make the frosting, then the batter, then bake them and make a beautiful presentation for my friend. THEN I had to take a shower, dress up and look presentable for said friend. That left me with exactly zero minutes for lunch. I did however eat 2 tester cupcakes:

Ginger Molasses Cupcakes with Mango Cream Cheese frosting topped with a piece of Candied Ginger and Ginger Sugar drops

I did make the cupcakes from a recipe I found in a book at work and if you’d really like it I can copy it here. These are SPECTACULAR!

Dinner:

For said friend’s dinner we went to Longhorn Steakhouse. I found this pic online, but it happens to be exactly what I had. Trout with shrimp and lobster with mashed potatoes. And a salad. We went out to ice cream for dessert. My friend LOVED her cuppycakes!!!! She went absolutely nuts over them! I was SO happy!

Exercise: Running around town and frantically around a kitchen ALL DAY. I think that counts for something.

Comments on: "Best friend birthday-day!" (1)

  1. your exercise sounds fantastic. i did the same last thursday. but i have no husband or cat. just a really high maintenance dog. 🙂

    i want to eat the pictures of your food directly from the screen of my MacBook Pro. of course, we all know that i could never be in a room with those things, but i can live vicariously through your pictures and love that you can eat them without bingeing and purging. you’re fabulous. thanks for your friendship! and for the pics! x

Leave a Reply

