Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Dishes

Who else here likes doing the dishes?

I find it to be a part of cooking. Since I love and adore cooking so much I actually like to do dishes. I like to see a clean, beautiful kitchen just waiting in anticipation for me to mess it up again with my next meal. ^_^ (Or cupcakes.) For me its just a cycle of amazing and I’m certain my husband doesn’t mind in the slightest.

Breakfast:

Miss Pistachio’s Fucking INSANE Mango Pear Crepes of Awesomeness

1 heaping dose of AWESOME
1 Pear
1/2 Mango
Tons of leftover Mango Cream Cheese glaze stuff

Crepe recipe:

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup milk (preferably whole) (I used Vanilla Almond Milk…AMAZING!)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter, plus more for cooking crepes
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Put the flour and salt and in a large mixing bowl. Gradually whisk in the milk. Whisk in the eggs, 1 at a time, and then whisk in the sugar, melted butter, and vanilla. Cover and let rest in the refrigerator for about 1 hour.

Heat an 8-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Melt a small pat of butter in the pat and swirl around so that it lightly coats the surface.

Add 1/3 cup of the batter and move your wrist in a circular pattern to coat the pan with thin even layer of batter. Cook for about 1 minute or until the first side browns lightly, then flip and cook 45 seconds to 1 minute longer. Remove to a plate and repeat with remaining batter.

*These actually were born from the fact that I sorta screwed up my frosting yesterday. I added way too much mango puree and it thinned out the frosting into something I simply couldn’t work with. I added more powdered sugar, more cream cheese and more butter until it was a workable consistency, but then I was stuck with a TON of it! I had to use it up somehow! So these crepes are filled with and topped with this insane cream cheese concoction along with a sprinkling of cinnamon sugar on top, mainly for presentation because it QUITE OBVIOUSLY did not need any more sugar hehe. They were sinfully delicious, I mean I could feel my former self starting to ask how many calories I was probably consuming. Then the new me told the old me to stuff it.

Lunch:

Tomato Caprese and Pesto sandwich with chicken noodle soup. Work lunch! Also y’all know I have a thing for cool bowls.

Dinner:

Pork and Veggie stir fry with Avocado Peanut Sauce

Sauce:
1 small ripe Avocado
1 T Peanut Oil
2 T Peanut Butter (whichever you prefer, I think I ran out of the natural stuff and used chunky…worked just as well)
2 T Lime Juice
1 t Chili Powder
1 T Soy Sauce
2 T Brown Sugar
1/4 cup Coconut Milk
1/4 cup Stock (Vegetable, Chicken, whatever! Or just use water)

For the stir fry:
1 serving of Pork, cut into chunks
1 Carrot, cut into chunks
1/3 cup Peas
1/4 small Onion, sliced
2/3 Yellow Pepper, sliced
1 clove Garlic
1 piece Ginger in sweet syrup (I bought this stuff for the cuppycakes, now I gotta use it up!)

Saute the pork chunks in some sesame oil until no longer pink. Add onion and garlic until onion is translucent. Add carrot, peas and pepper. Wisk sauce ingredients together while that is cooking. Its a lot of sauce, so you can either use like, 2/3 of it, or use it all and allow it to cook down, which is what I did. I cooked it on medium high for about 10 minutes and let the sauce thicken and reduce. I’m telling ya, this was the way to go! It was so flavourful and the avocado gave it such a nice sweetness. I can’t even describe! This was also a great way to make certain the carrots were cooked through. Perfect! GOD I just love a good peanut sauce! Oh yeah, I served this on top of sticky rice.

Work at the retail job was actually fun! We were BUSY, but I felt MUCH better and actually wanted to work! I was constantly either on the phone, putting stuff away, ringing at register, or helping people in the store. I mean it was just a never-ending cycle. I don’t know why we were so immensely busy, but it was a crazy night! It went by really really fast though! I also had my favorite co-worker there…FOOD BLOG! Come on buddy, you know you want to start one!!! I KNOW YOU’RE READING THIS!

Tomorrow morning I leave for Cleveland with my husband, his best friend, and his mom. Yeah, so much for a nice romantic weekend away eh? :< I’m hoping it won’t be all that bad. When I get home on Sunday afternoon, I’m going off to join that gym! YES! I can’t even wait! I’m hoping to work out that night, then come home and make myself an amazing dinner. GAH it’s going to be so great you don’t even know! Gotta get my Steven Colbert workout bag ready!

Exercise: 8 hours at retail job bouncing from here to there, but being a super-happy individual!

 

Comments on: "Dishes" (1)

  1. Miss Pistachio’s Fucking INSANE Mango Pear Crepes of Awesomeness. this is the best title to a recipe that i’ve stumbled upon in SO long! hahahaha!

    i feel you on the calorie thing, sort of . . . today, i think that i actually felt my bottom grow a little bigger. i know it’s all in my head, so i told my head to shut the fuck up; and i’m planning to enjoy wine and sushi in a few hours. 😉 x

Leave a Reply

