Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Gym day!!

I woke up early in Cleveland on this day to wake myself up and have a little morning alone time. I drove home (which was fine, driving there is the hard part, getting home is easy) and we stopped at Denny’s for breakfast, I’ll see if I can find a pic of what I had…

Breakfast:

Bananas Foster from Denny’s. I really liked this actually and may make it sometime! I just found an Alton Brown recipe for it and what he says is sort of gold to me, so I will have to try it!

Lunch:

Sardine salad Sandwich

I wanted tuna but didn’t have any. This would have been better with tuna. While not awful, its not worth posting what I put into this. Basically it was sardines, mayo, tomato pesto spread, feta cheese, goats cheese, onions and peppers. Not exciting. I did try baking it, but didn’t bake it for long enough so the inside wasn’t all that warm and the cheese didn’t really melt. I’ll do better next time!

After lunch I went out and joined a gym. I worked out for about an hour before coming home to a PILE of candy on our counter. Apparently my father in law had stopped by and dropped it all off to us. My husband isn’t really into sweets, so I will probably end up eating most of it. Which is fine, I’ve sort of stopped caring. I mean not really…I DID just join a gym and I am getting anxious about my pants not fitting (they still fit, but I’m getting pre-anxious) but I do just shovel chocolate into my mouth now I must admit. Ah well, it IS the holidays after all.

Dinner:

Raspberry Baked Chicken with Pine Nut Couscous

For the Raspberry sauce:
1/2 cup or so of Raspberries
3 T Balsamic Vinegar
3 T Sherry
1 T Brown Sugar, packed
1.5 t fresh Thyme
Fennel seeds
1 clove Garlic
Fresh grated Ginger
S&P to taste
Splash of Lemon Juice

Let ingredients reduce for about 15-20 minutes on medium low heat in a saucepan. Add more vinegar or sherry if you feel its getting too thick.

For the baked chicken:

1 serving of Chicken Breast (I cut those huge ass things in half)
Parsley
Fresh Tarragon
A few raspberries cut in half
A little unsalted Butter
Olive oil spray
S&P

Preheat the oven to 350. Spray a baking pan with oil. Spray the chicken with a little oil too. Rub on parsley, salt and pepper. Sprinkle some tarragon on top. Place some of the cut raspberries on top along with a couple small shavings of butter. Cover and bake 30 minutes. Add some of the drippings to the sauce when done.

Pine Nut Couscous:

1/3 cup Couscous
2 T chopped Onion
1/2 T Unsalted Butter
Freshly grated Parmesan (to taste)
1/3 cup Broth (Chicken, Vegetable, whatever you prefer!)
Splash of Lemon Juice
1/8 cup Pine Nuts
1 t Parsley

Mix together broth, onion and spices and bring to a boil. Add couscous, pine nuts and lemon juice and turn off the heat. Cover and let sit for 5 minutes. Add parmesan cheese, stir to melt and recover to keep warm until you need it.

I obviously added a little raspberry sauce to the couscous as well. This was one of those “ridiculously good” dishes that I alter a little bit every time I make, but it always turns out amazing. This one definitely also LOOKED as amazing as it tasted, which is important to me!

This was a looooooong day, but it turned out great! I LOVE my new gym and plan on going pretty much every day if I can find the time. The staff is really nice and nobody bothers me. (Then again I’m always working out with headphones on, so if anyone ever did talk to me, I wouldn’t hear them anyway.)

Exercise: 1.5 hours at gym

Comments on: "Gym day!!" (3)

  1. the raspberries on your chicken look beautiful! cleveland? beechwood. 🙂

    • Wha??? No wai! Toledo. ^_^ Yeah my chicken was incredibly good! I still have more of that recipe to post…I’ve been running a ton of errands and whatnot today. We’re minus 2 doors in our house, so we’re trying to fix that so the new kitten doesn’t go into our room or the basement. THEN I have to work my retail job at 6:30. WHEW!

  2. Ianus Christius said:

    …this looks delicious…
    greets from Croatia…

Leave a Reply

