Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Lack of sleep catches up

I wake up ridiculously early every day to have some time to myself and make big amazing breakfasts and whatnot. My brain normally wakes me up automatically…today it decided to wake me just past 8AM, which for me is ridiculously late. I had a LOT to catch up on in my blogging, so I decided I had to do all of that before making breakfast (which I had no clue what I wanted). I got all of that done and my husband woke up. I looked at the clock and it was already 10:30. Damn….so late…I COULD make a breakfast, something easy. OR I could eat all those leftovers still sitting in the fridge and be slightly lazy today. Especially since I didn’t already have my heart set on anything. SOOOO:

Breakfast:

Superduper Leftover Day!

I had the rest of my oat and apricot bake and the rest of my bread pudding. They still tasted great, especially the bread pudding, I think that stuff gets better as it sits around for a while. So now it’s time to get to work and think about what I want for lunch! ^_^

Lunch:

The Mexican-style “I-have-no-idea-what-I-did” Biscuit Bake thing

Alright well…though I did loosely base this on a recipe I found online, I didn’t follow it at all. I have a list of ingredients that I wrote down, but fuck if I remember how much of each thing I put in…I can GUESS…but I am going to try because this was GOOOOOOOD and you deserve to try it. So here we go:

For the innards:

3.5 oz (or so) Summer Sausage, cut into chunks
1/3 cup Corn
1/3 cup Black Beans (I used canned, in fact I based this entire recipe on the fact that I had to use up the last of these black beans)
2/3 cup shredded Cheddar Cheese, divided
1/4 small Onion, chopped
1/4 cup Salsa
1/4 cup Milk
1/2 Egg (there goes the rest of the egg from that previous recipe!)
Mushrooms (I can’t remember…maybe 2/3 of a cup?), sliced
1 t Chili Powder
1 t Cumin
1 T fresh chopped Cilantro
S&P to taste

For the biscuit topping:

1/3 cup Bisquick mix (laziness ensued today…)
Uhhh…like maybe 1/8 cup milk?
A little butter
Now I’m thinking I might have used 1/2 a cup of Bisquick? Oh, however much you want to make for the topping is fine!

Toss the chopped onion with some olive oil in a pan over medium heat until translucent. Throw in all the rest of the veggies,  meat, spices and salsa and allow to cook until veggies are tender and a bit of the liquid has evaporated away. Take off heat. Mix up milk and egg in a bowl. Add the sausage veggie mixture to the milk and egg mixture. Add about half of the cheddar cheese to this concoction. Dump it all into a small bread pan. Top with the rest of the cheddar cheese. Mix the biscuit mix, milk and room temperature butter in a separate bowl. Make sure it forms a ball and is not too thin of a batter. Add this on top of that last layer of cheese in the bread pan. Bake at 350 for abut 25 minutes. (That part sounds right.) I’m sure a vegetarian version of this would be just as yummy, but I really felt the summer sausage was just perfect in this and I LOVED the texture of it after cooking/baking it. DAAAAAAMN it was yum!

Dinner:

Very loosely based from this (I will mention any changes in Italics)

Rigatoni Bake With Ground Beef and Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces rigatoni, cooked, drained, and rinsed following package directions (I used Rotini.)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pound extra-lean ground beef (I used ground Buffalo. Yup. That’s what I had.)
  • 1 large carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 ribs celery, diced (I subbed with peas)
  • 1/2 red bell pepper or green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 small zucchini, quartered lengthwise and thinly sliced, about 1 cup (Subbed with mushrooms)
  • 4 cloves garlic, mashed and finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon Creole or Cajun seasoning, such as Emeril’s, Tony Chachere, or Zatarain
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried leaf oregano or Italian seasoning herb blend
  • 1 can (14.5 ounces) tomatoes with juice, diced
  • 4 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons dry red wine, or more water (Used a combo of white wine and Sherry)
  • 8 ounces mozzarella cheese, about 2 cups, divided (I used half shredded mozzarella and half fresh shredded Havarti)
  • ADDED: a little Dill (mainly because it goes super well with Havarti)

Preparation:

Heat oven to 350°. Lightly grease a 2 1/2-quart baking dish or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large skillet over medium heat, heat the olive oil. Add ground beef, carrot, onion, and celery. Cook, breaking the ground beef up and stirring, until ground beef is browned and onion is tender. Add the bell pepper, zucchini, garlic, Creole sasoning, and oregano or Italian seasoning. Continue cooking, stirring, for about 2 minutes. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, water, and wine or more water; bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for about 10 minutes, or until vegetables are tender. Combine the sauce mixture with the cooked, drained rigatoni.

Spoon half of the pasta mixture into the baking dish; sprinkle evenly with half of the cheese. Top with remaining pasta mixture and remaining cheese. Bake for 20 minutes, or until hot and bubbly.

Serves 6 to 8.

*Hey man, this was so good my husband actually ate some!!! He was just fascinated with the fact that I was using Baffalo meat and thought it smelled amazing and HAD to try some. He’s also been really big into cheeses right now and wanted to try the Havarti really badly. This is a very very good thing because when my husband eats what I make, I ultimately eat less so I can share. As we know, I don’t like to have leftovers if I can avoid it. He LOVED it and said it was his favorite thing that I’ve made so far that he has tried. I was actually shocked at how much he complimented me on this dish, I was just trying to do something easy because I was super freaking lazy today. He acted like I’d accomplished some big culinary masterpiece. I felt really good about myself!

I’m feeling good! I haven’t been snacking out on a bunch of crap. I honestly haven’t wanted any. I just smashed out so hard during the holidays that I actually feel a little sick thinking about having more chocolate right now hehe. My body is already happier that I’m eating better. YAY!

Exercise: 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "Lack of sleep catches up" (3)

  1. please tell us more about your hub and of how he feels about having separate meals. i’m so curious about that. x

    • My husband and I are both extremely independent. We have no business being married. We live mostly separate lives and have to actually plan weekly dates or else we would spend hardly any time together. We have completely separate bank accounts. We split the bills half-and-half. We each pay half the rent. We have our own food in the fridge (“my” food and “his” food) and the other is not welcome to it unless they ask. We have our own possessions, if we were to get divorced he knows the large leather couch is “mine” and I know the flat screen TV is “his”. We are married roommates. And we like it that way. We see marriage as a promise to love each other unconditionally, not as a way to completely take over each others lives. There’s VERY little that he could do that would make me leave him. And vice verse. Oh, and the extra money in our tax return rules.

      So there’s no problem or issue whatsoever in making our meals separately. I actually find it odd that other couples feel its not possible or something to do the same. We have no children, I’m sure that helps. But couples shouldn’t feel obligated to give up ANYTHING for someone else. Including, but not limited to, what foods they like to make.

      • love love love love love! i can’t wait to see a picture of you! 🙂 until then, i’ll just think of you like a non-shelled pistachio with a smile. happy wednesday, miss pistachio!

Leave a Reply

