Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

My kitten Jack apparently wrote the title to this one while I was doing my morning yoga. I decided that it works, so I’m leaving it.

Today is supposed to be a date day for my husband and I. He was up until 7 AM drinking. I woke up to find him still awake (after he’d said he’d only be up an extra hour after I went to bed last night…) and I asked him how he’d planned on staying awake during our date day and that “didn’t he say he was going to bed 6 hours ago?” I told him I was going back to bed (no point in me staying up if he’s up, I get up early so I can have my mornings to myself) and he said he was going to bed too. So I slept an extra hour and got back up at 8. He actually did come to bed and was alseep. I was happy at that point to get up and make myself an amazing breakfast, watch the sun rise and sneaking in half an hour of yoga while watching my stories. (“My stories” is code for “Good Eats” or generally anything that has anything to do with Alton Brown. I’m kind of in love with him.) I’m SOOOO glad to be doing my yoga again! I’ve been feeling a bit…big lately. And since I’ve started going to bed with my husband every night (because he keeps staying up until I want to go to bed) I haven’t done it in weeks. I decided to start doing it in the morning instead! Excellent decision on my part I think, I gets me pretty pumped for the day!

Anyway, one of my best friends has decided to take care of me in case my husband doesn’t wake up or wakes up too sick to take me out. He’s been one of my closest friends for nearly 15 years and there’s nothing he wouldn’t do for me. He’s been one of my biggest supporters in all of this shit I’ve been going through lately and I love him very much. He’s decided that we’ll have a pizza-movie night if the significant other fails to take me out. So I’m looking forward to tonight either way!

Breakfast:

Fresh Pear Breakfast Bread

(This was my scaled-down version)

Streusel Topping

Directions:

  1. 1
    Core and finely dice pears, but do not peel. Sift together flour, baking powder, salt and soda. Stir in wheat germ. Beat egg slightly and blend with milk, oil, and honey. Add to dry ingredients along with pears. Stir until mixed.
  2. 2
    Make streusel topping by combining all ingredients and mixing until crumbly.
  3. 3
    Pour batter into a greased 9-inch round cake pan. Sprinkle with streusel topping. Garnish with additional pear slices, if desired. Bake at 400 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes.

*Yup, I STILL have pears to use! I have 3 left, though I think only 2 of them are still good. This, for me, was quick and easy. I did my yoga while waiting for it to bake. Perfection! I used a lemon honey butter instead of just regular honey and it gave it such a neat sweetness, texture and flavour! I eated the whole thing.

Lunch (at Cabela’s):

We took a small day-trip up to Cabela’s, which I’d like to make clear that I don’t condone hunting unless you’re planning on using/eating what you hunt, and had lunch in their cafe while we were there. This is actually very close to what I had! I of course, forgot to take pics of my food…I had a salad with fat free Raspberry vinaigrette (oddly enough, this was what I was in the mood for!) and a smoked elk sandwich with lettuce and tomato! I love trying new things!

And while I forgot to take pics of my own meal, I got this great picture of another animal enjoying HIS meal:

Mmmmmmm! Looks like a delicious…whatever that is!! I was fascinated with this guy.

Dinner:

I IKNOW y’all know I only used these pictures because I like the plates…

I had…ohhh about a 1/3 serving of lasagna and a 1/3 serving of veal cacciatore. I gave my husband the bigger half of my lasagna (then I didn’t even finish it) and he gave me 1 of the 2 veal patties he had along with a little spaghetti (about 1/3 of what he had on the plate). I also had a salad (that we both couldn’t finish because they DROWNED it in dressing…I’m going to start asking for my dressing on the side again) and a piece of bread with a little butter. We split a bottle of wine and had a wonderful dinner! I was SO full though! I felt proud because I finally know when I can’t eat any more. I was comfortably full and said “I couldn’t eat another bite!’ just like I used to be able to! Hehe. If that makes sense.

We came back home and had some more wine, some fudge from Cabela’s (which I only ate half of…that was all I wanted…but they do have AMAZING fudge!) and watched some 30 Rock. I couldn’t have asked for a better evening and couldn’t have had a happier tummy. I’ve finally learned to listen to it again. After years of perfectly portioned meals and no snacks whatsoever (effectively teaching my body to forget what it’s like to “stop eating when you’re full”), it’s great to know that I am SATISFIED with not cleaning off my plate if I’m full and not eating just to eat. YAY!

Sometimes I’m not certain my weird issues I’ve been getting over really make sense, so if anyone needs clarification, just ask! I’ll try to describe it better. I want to be certain people really get what I’m trying to say just in case someone else is going through the same thing. I want people to know they’re not alone.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga

Comments on: "‘;[[[[[[[[[;lppppppppppppppppppppp" (2)

  1. i can’t believe that such a thing as “pear bread” exists. your creation is absolutely beautiful. did you find a recipe, or did you create this design on your lonesome? wow! and i hope that you have a fabulous night with either your hubby or you bff. please report, with photographs, in the morning! i will be waiting for an update! 🙂 xxx

    • You can usually tell the recipes I make up myself are less accurate with the measurements and normally the directions to mine are more like “Throw this in and uh, a pinch of that and cook for, oh I don’t know….5 minutes?” hehe. So that one is a copy/paste. I really need to start posting the links to the recipes I find online. That way they sorta get credit for it. In a way. I had a GREAT date with the husband! He can be pretty cool sometimes hehe.

Leave a Reply

