Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Fair warning!

I will probably only be having 2 meals today. We had a “brunch” sort of thing that we attended this morning at one of the local Metroparks. It was at 11AM so it seemed really pointless for me to spend an hour making a breakfast only to have to eat again 2 hours later. So I had:

Breakfast:

A selection of Panera pastries and bagels. Luckily everything was cut in half, so I had a nice little variety without eating too much. I had half a blueberry bagel, half a cinnamon crumble bagel, half a lemon scone and half a carrot cake muffin. Also coffee (not pictured). ^_^ 3 weeks ago I would have gone back for thirds and fourths, but now I’m perfectly satisfied with a normal amount of food. No need for gorging for me!

So now I’m doing laundry for an hour and a half before heading to my brothers to go see Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy! WOOOOOO! I’ll have to fully explain why this excites me so later. Then after that I’m going to work out for my usual routine, so I probably won’t be home until around 7:00 at night. At which time I shall make some form of amazing dinner. Because that’s what I do! I’m thinking something with buffalo meat and whole grain linguini because that’s what I have and feel like working with.

Dinner:

BBQ Buffalo Tomato Sauce on Whole Wheat Linguini

I found a recipe kinda sorta like what I was looking for online, but ended up changing and subbing so many ingredients that it barely resembles it, so I’ll write my own instead.

1/3 lb Ground Buffalo
2 slices small Onion, diced
1/2 Green Pepper, diced
1.5 cups Mushrooms, sliced
1 clove Garlic, minced
1/4 cup of your favorite BBQ sauce
2 T Tomato Paste
1/8 cup Heavy Cream
1 t Worchestershire sauce
1.5 T Brown Sugar
1 t Smoked Paprika
1/2 cup Crushed Tomatoes
1 t Yellow Mustard
4 oz Whole Wheat Linguini
S&P to taste
Shredded cheese (your prefrence! I shredded some chipolte cheese on top)

Brown the buffalo meat in an oiled saucepan, breaking it up as it cooks. Add onion and garlic and cook until onion is translucent. Add crushed tomatoes, green peppers and mushrooms. Cook until some of the liquid from the crushed tomatoes and mushrooms has reduced. Add paste, BBQ sauce, Worchestershire sauce, cream, brown sugar, paprika and S&P to taste and let cook down to your desired consistency. I served this on whole wheat linguini, and though I would say DEFINITELY serve this on whole wheat pasta, it doesn’t have to be linguini. Go ahead and use the whole wheat pasta of your choice! Then shred your favorite cheese on top!

I wolfed this down crazy fast!!! If it makes any of you feel better about my skipping lunch, for dessert tonight I had a leftover waffle with that strawberry filling I had made for the cupcakes poured on top with some vanilla and strawberry ice cream. I should have taken a picture but then I didn’t. It was yum yum yummy!

Now about Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy. I’m sure none of you know who this guy is, except maybe if any Brits follow my blog, but this movie contains an actor named Benedict Cumberbatch. Terrible name, INCREDIBLE actor. I traveled to London last year, my first time overseas, just to see him in a play and meet him. Which I did. Of course he’s just the nicest, sweetest thing. The movie was GREAT! I highly suggest it to one and all! I somehow managed to get the evening all to myself tonight, which I used to my advantage and re-watched the newest episode of Sherlock which also stars Benedict. If you’ve not seen it you MUST. You absolutely MUST. Its so good it’ll make you jump up out of your seat and yell “WHAT THE FUCK???” multiple times. You will not be disappoint.

Exercise: 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "Fair warning!" (3)

  1. you should check your spam folder because you probably have lots of comments from my mommy! wordpress is spamming her today! love, gwendolyn the puggle! ❤

    • I found them!!! ^_^ Thanks for the heads up Gwendolyn! Let your mommy know I will send her a link to my store REALLY soon! She will do it when it isn’t shamefully empty hehehe.

      • i think gwendolyn’s mommy is back in full commenting action! 😉

        cannot wait to get a link for your store! i might have one to reciprocate in the foreseeable future, too! 😀

Leave a Reply

