Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Sunrise?

I’m thinking of taking a picture of the sunrise every morning as well as posting pictures of my foodstuffs. We don’t always have a spectacular sunrise here, in fact sometimes its downright depressing outside…but I feel like the gorgeous ones like today ought to be documented so maybe it can make someone else as happy as it’s made me. What do you think?

Breakfast:

Buffalo Meat Breakfast Burrito

Meh, I wasn’t overly impressed with how this came out. I tried using a sausage seasoning recipe on this and it didn’t really work. I also made 2 of these to try and use up the rest of that meat. It had SO much meat it in, I could only eat 1 and a half and had to throw the rest out. I HATE wasting food, but it was too bland to give to anyone and if I put it in the fridge, I know I won’t eat it. So out it goes! Ah well. They can’t all be crazyamazingtasty.

Lunch:

I was at work so of course I had the turkey wrap. I wasn’t particularly hungry for anything else. My breakfast really filled me up. So I didn’t have any soup or a banana or anything else with it. Just the sandwich.

Beef Pot Pie with Whole Wheat crust

For the filling:
1/3 lb Beef, cut into cubes
1 large Carrot, peeled and cut into chunks
1/3 cup Peas
1/3 cup Corn
1/3 large Yam, peeled and cut into cubes
1 T Unsalted Butter
1T Flour
Large pinch of Cayenne
1/4 cup Sherry (or red wine)
1/4 cup Beef Stock
1 T Tomato Paste
1 clove Garlic, minced
1/2 t Parsley
1/2 t fresh Thyme
Large pinch of Brown Sugar

For the crust:

1/2 cup All Purpose Flour
1/2 cup Whole Wheat Flour
1/2 stick cold Unsalted Butter, cut into small cubes
1/2 t Salt
1/8 cup cold Water
Pinch of Sugar

I sorta made a lot of this up, so bear with me on the instructions…

Start the crust first. Wisk flours, salt and sugar together. Use a pastry cutter to mix the cold butter cubes and cold water into the flour mixture until completely incorporated. Lightly knead dough and divide into 2 balls. Push into small disks. Cover in plastic wrap and place in the fridge for at least 15 minutes, if not 1 hour (or overnight).

Brown beef cubes in a saucepan. Remove from pan. Use the same pan to cook veggies. Cook onions first, then toss in the rest of the veggies. Cook until carrots begin to soften. Remove from pan (just add it to where you’re holding the beef). Use same pan to melt butter. Add flour and brown over medium heat until it smells nutty and is a deep brown colour. Add veggie/beef mixture and coat in the brown butter flour mixture. Cook for about 1 minute. Add the liquids, paste and spices. Cook uncovered for about 1o minutes or until the sauce is to your desired thickness and carrots are soft.  Add more broth if needed. Preheat oven to 400.

Roll out 1 disc of the dough and place into a large ramekin (or small pie pan or whatever). Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven. Roll out the other half of the dough. Fill the half-baked crust with beef mixture. Place the other half of the crust on top and pinch the edge of the crust all fancy like if you want. Place back into the oven for another 8-10 minutes. Let cool for at least 15 minutes.

*WOW! Browning the butter and flour together made for a really cool flavour! Very different from what I am used to. I loved the crust, though I might make a bit more next time as I thought the bottom was a bit thin. I also couldn’t wait for it to cool completely…I wish I would have haha. But it was so good I was willing to burn my mouth on it.

 

I’ve been educating myself on how to work out properly. Before I was only worried about burning calories, not being healthy. Now I’m learning about the difference and benefits of low intensity/high intensity workouts and how to balance them. I will be trying these out this week and will let you know how I feel and if I think the new workouts are doing anything for me. Of course I still will also be doing my morning yoga!

Exercise: 1.5 hours at gym, 1/2 hour of yoga

Comments on: "Sunrise?" (3)

  1. yes, i want the sunrise photographs!
    healthy fabulous food and sunrises belong together. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

