Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I wasn’t particularly hungry yesterday so I ate less than I had been. I was stuffed after half of my breakfast this morning, so I put the rest in the fridge (knowing that it probably won’t ever get eaten…saaaaadness.) Granted, I have been making WAY too much for each of my meals, but I think I want to be sure that I’m ok. That I’m not subconsciously getting anxious about my weight gain. I mean, I’m fairly positive I’m alright, I’m still using low-fat and full-fat ingredients (no fat-free) and I’m still listening to my tummy and making certain I’m full. It’s been a few hours since I ate and it’s not growling, so I must have eaten enough. I mean, clearly I don’t want to be overeating, but I also don’t want to be undereating and not realizing it.

Breakfast:

Apple and Pear Bread Pudding

For the custard:

2 cups stale Sourdough Bread, cut into squares
2 Eggs
1 cup Cream
1/8 cup Apple Cider
1/8 cup packed Brown Sugar
1/4 t Vanilla
Cinnamon
Nutmeg
Small pinch Cardamom

For the fruit topping:

1 small Pear, sliced
1/2 Apple, sliced
Handful of Raisins
1 T Unsalted Butter
1.5 T Sugar
1 T Vegetable Oil

Wisk together all custard ingredients except bread. Cube up bread and toss it into the custard, stirring to coat all bread pieces. Cover and place in fridge at least 15 minutes, if not 1 hour or overnight.

While bread custard mixture is in the fridge, melt butter with oil in a saucepan. Add fruit and cook about 2-3 minutes. Add sugar and cook until fruit is caramelized.

Pour bread custard mixture into a buttered or sprayed dish or pan (casserole dish, large ramekin, pie pan, whatever…I used a pie pan) and add the caramelized fruit on top, mixing it in slightly. Bake uncovered at 375 for about 40 minutes, I think I pulled mine out at about 38. My oven runs a bit hot though.

*This was WAY better than the first time I made bread pudding. It was actually pudding-like! I would like to make it more do-ahead next time to see the difference between letting it sit in the fridge 15 minutes vs overnight. But it was creamy and sweet and packed with fruit! I think I’ve only got 1 good pear left. I may try and use it in my dinner somehow just to get rid of it.

P.S. Now see how much food there is there? Was it unreasonable or weird for me to only eat half of that?

Lunch/Early Dinner:

I don’t have a picture because I wasn’t expecting to have this for lunch, but my husband and I were out and about and he offered to buy Chinese Buffet. I would say I ate enough to cover both lunch and dinner. So I MAY not have anything else tonight as it is 6:00 and I’m pretty full. (I did good though! I didn’t overfill myself! I listened to my tummy and I stopped. YAY!) If for some weird reason I am hungry later, I will have a little something. But otherwise, I won’t have much of a reason to eat any more than I already have today. Maybe a small sandwich or a piece of fruit or something if my tummy actually growls.

Time for me to get to work for a while! I’ve got Evil Dead 2 on, a nice tall glass of water and a few hours left in my evening! Here’s hoping I get shit done!

*For the record, I DID get some shit done (YES) and my tummy did not growl the rest of the evening, so I didn’t eat anymore. I ate a huge, late lunch so it made made no sense to force myself to eat when I wasn’t hungry. I think I’m ok. Right?

Exercise: 1/2 hour of stair-stepping, 1/2 hour of yoga

Comments on: "Anxiety? (I don’t actually know if it is…)" (2)

  1. you were totally right in your decision! and congrats on maintaining your composure at the buffet. not too sure i could have done the same, so i avoid buffets like the plague. x

    • Oh I definitely used to. I still got that twinge of anxiety when he asked me if I wanted to go. And then I remembered I am NOT on a diet! ~_^ I knew as long as I listened very carefully to my body, everything would be ok. So that’s what I did and it worked out beautifully! I tried a couple new things (frog legs!) and felt very satisfied, proud and happy afterwards. It’s odd to me how normal people don’t have to think so much about these things. I used to be normal. I remember how carefree I was about eating. I’m getting back there again, just with a healthier twist!

Leave a Reply

