Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I have to get at LEAST 2 out of 3 projects done today, if not all 3 (which is not happening) but at least I know I get to take an hour and a half out to go work out! I LOVE that I’ve joined a gym! Just love it! It’s so great to have somewhere to get away and out of the house to!

I desperately need some new music for my workout mix though! I love everything. There is literally no genre of music I will not listen to or at least try and listen to. Give me suggestions! Especially nice fast-paced stuff I could run to!

Breakfast:

Upside-Down Sausage-Apple Muffins

Taken from: http://unconfidentialcook.com/2009/03/12/upside-down-sausage-apple-muffins-rr-the-first-unconfidential-cooks-dinner/

(MAKES 6 JUMBO CUPCAKES; TOTAL TIME ABOUT 1 HOUR)

FOR THE MUFFINS

1 1/2 C.  ALL-PURPOSE FLOUR
1/2 C. CORNMEAL
1/3 C. PACKED BROWN SUGAR
1 TBSP. BAKING POWDER
1 TSP. BAKING SODA
1/8 TSP. KOSHER SALT
1/2 C. PLAIN NONFAT YOGURT OR BUTTERMILK  (I used yogurt)
1/4 C. MILK
2 TBSP. VEGETABLE OIL
2 EGGS
1 EGG WHITE
1/2 LB. BULK BREAKFAST SAUSAGE
1 FUJI APPLE, CORED AND THINLY SLICED

FOR THE CARAMEL
1 C. PACKED BROWN SUGAR
1/3 C. HEAVY CREAM
1/4 C. MAPLE SYRUP
2 TBSP. BOURBON OR RUM, OPTIONAL  (I did not have any)
1 TSP. SALT

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350 DEGREES. COAT CUPS OF JUMBO MUFFIN TINS WITH NONSTICK SPRAY.

COMBINE FLOUR, CORNMEAL, BROWN SUGAR, BAKING POWDER, BAKING SODA AND SALT IN A LARGE BOWL. COMBINE YOGURT, MILK, OIL, EGGS AND EGG WHITE IN ANOTHER BOWL. SET ASIDE.

BROWN SAUSAGE IN A SKILLET OVER MEDIUM-HIGH HEAT, ABOUT 5 MINUTES. REMOVE FROM PAN AND DRAIN ON PAPER TOWELS.

WHISK BROWN SUGAR, CREAM, SYRUP, RUM, AND SALT FOR CARAMEL TOGETHER IN A SKILLET OVER MEDIUM-HIGH HEAT, STIRRING OFTEN. BRING TO BOIL, REDUCE HEAT TO MEDIUM-LOW AND SIMMER FOR 10 MINUTES.

STIR SAUSAGE INTO FLOUR MIXTURE AND ADD YOGURT MIXTURE. STIR JUST UNTIL COMBINED; MIXTURE WILL BE SLIGHTLY LUMPY.

FAN THE APPLE SLICES IN THE BOTTOM OF EACH CUP. MAKE SURE THAT EACH SLICE MAKES SOME CONTACT WITH THE CUP.

SPOON ABOUT 4 TBSP. OF CARAMEL OVER APPLE SLICES IN EACH CUP, DIVIDING EVENLY AMONG CUPS.

TOP CARAMEL WITH ROUNDED 1/2 C. OF BATTER.

BAKE UNTIL TOOTHPICK INSERTED IN A MUFFIN COMES OUT CLEAN, ABOUT 30 MINUTES.  ( I SUGGEST UNDER-BAKING  SLIGHTLY.) LET COOL BRIEFLY BEFORE RUNNING A PARING KNIFE AROUND THE EDGE OF EACH MUFFIN SO THEY DROP OUT WHEN PAN IS INVERTED.

*I made a half-recipe which made 6 regular-sized muffins. Now these were DELICIOUS. I mean SPECTACULAR! But I had MAJOR problems with the caramel bubbling up and out of the bottom of each cup. Making a HUGE mess in my stove. I think this was due to the amount of caramel (which I only used half of what was called for since the recipe was originally for jumbo muffins and mine were regular-sized), but it could also be that I needed to almost try and push the muffin batter into the caramel at the bottom of each cup to sort of mix it in…I don’t really know. But the caramel/apple part at the bottom of each muffin wouldn’t solidify because it was so hot and liquidy (even after letting cool in the pan for 30 minutes), so I had to just pop out the muffin part and spoon the apples and caramel from the bottom of each cup onto the muffin. Which looked pretty and tasted absolutely amazing regardless! But there’s got to be a way to fix this problem. Any suggestions? I’d love to make these again, but might just make the muffins minus the caramel actually in the muffin pan and instead just spoon it over each one after they are baked and cooled.

I also felt that I HAD to eat all 6 of these because I had no way to store them and they were SO good I didn’t want to throw them out. So my lunch will probably be really light as I’m rather full of amazing muffinness!

Lunch:

I was not hungry and very busy during the day today. So due to my massive breakfast, I didn’t end up eating lunch. I also knew I was going to make myself an awesome, huge dinner, so it was ok!

Dinner:

Pork Chops with Mushrooms, Dill, and Sour Cream Sauce

Taken from: http://www.closetcooking.com/2008/12/pork-chops-with-mushrooms-dill-and-sour.html

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon oil
4 pork chops
salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon butter
1 onion (sliced)
1 (8 ounce) package cremini mushrooms (sliced)
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon paprika
1 teaspoon dried dill
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup beef stock
1/2 cup sour cream
2 tablespoons dill (chopped)

Directions:
1. Heat the oil in a pan.
2. Season the pork chops with salt and pepper.
3. Saute the pork chops until just cooked all the way through and golden brown on both sides, about 2-4 minutes per side and set aside.
4. Melt the butter in the pan.
5. Add the onions and saute until tender, about 5 minutes.
6. Add the mushrooms and saute until tender, about 5 minutes.
7. Add the tomato paste, flour, paprika, dill, salt and pepper and stir.
8. Add the stock and deglaze the pan.
9. Simmer until the sauce thickens.
10. Remove from heat and stir in the sour cream and dill.

*MAJOR YUM! Exactly what I wanted, no sugar or fruit or sweet of any kind. I was all about savory after my insane breakfast! The dill went so amazing with the pork. I also steamed some cauliflower as a side and put some of the sauce onto that too. Very filling, very very good!

I did get 1 out of 3 projects done. Meh…at least I got one done. We had to run some errands in the middle of the day, so that messed up my workflow. But on the bright side, blackberries and strawberries were on sale! I can’t wait to make something with them in the morning!

I hear that if you look forward to breakfast in the morning it means you’re old.

Exercise: 1.5 hours at gym, 1/2 hour of yoga

Comments on: "It’ll probably be a long day" (4)

  1. MGMT makes for some good workout music, if you ask me. Which you kind of did. So there’s your answer out of me.

  2. when i was a runner, candyman by christina aguilera was fabulous! i could get up to 9.9 mph on the treadmill for 5 minutes straight!

    • I can’t run that fast yet! Hehe! I can only maintain about a 7 MPH run at the moment. Any faster and I’ll pull one of those George Jetson “Stop this crazy thing!” falls! Hehehehe! I will put it on there anyway just in case the beat is good for the elliptical or bike. I’m gonna go get it right now!

Leave a Reply

