Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

The sun hasn’t peeked through yet today, which lead me to wake up a bit late. I’ve been getting up around 7:40 lately, which is late for me, I don’t like it. I like to be up by 7. I may start setting my alarm if I can’t always count on the sun to wake me. My subconscious also seems to know when I’ve set an alarm and will wake me usually a couple minutes before it goes off. Our brains are cool.

Anyone else out there prefer being an early riser?

When I was a teenager, I don’ t think I saw the sunrise for years and years. I would sleep till 4 PM if I could. I think our bodies really do change and you require different kinds of sleep as you get older.

Being very curious I found this article from the National Sleep Foundation. Interesting!

So I haven’t yet had breakfast and it’s nearly noon. I picked something kinda complicated that takes time to bake and all so it’s somewhat my own fault. But I wanted blackberry bars. So that’s what I get. ^_^ Because now I eat what I really want. I’m willing to wait for what it is I want. If I settle for something else, I’ll feel unsatisfied and may get kinda bingey later. It’s happened before. So I have to make what I want. Hehe. Also, I’m not starving or anything. My stomach hasn’t even growled yet this morning.

Breakfast:

Blackberry Ginger Bars

*While I think these tasted great and were worth the wait, I would use fresh ginger next time in the topping rather than ground ginger as I felt I couldn’t taste it at all. I basically just ate this with a spoon straight out of the ramekin I made it in (I made a 1/4 recipe), but it could easily be cut into bars. The crust was yummy, I managed to not overcook it!

Lunch:

Havarti and Tomato Baked Tuna Melt

I mixed the tuna with light mayo, lemon juice and this amazing sweet Harry and David pepper relish. I added a little basil, salt and pepper. Then topped that with a few slices of tomato and Havarti cheese, baked it at 350 for half an hour (until the cheese was melty) and put it on this HUGE piece of bread. I’m still learning what kind of bread is best for sandwiches like this. ^_^ Really really good, if I get the right bread it will be even better.

Dinner:

Sourdough Stuffing with Pears and Sausage

  • YIELD: 12 servings (serving size: about 3/4 cup)
  • COURSE: Side Dishes/Vegetables

Ingredients

  • 8 cups (1/2-inch) cubed sourdough bread (about 12 ounces)
  • 1 pound turkey Italian sausage
  • Cooking spray
  • 5 cups chopped onion (about 2 pounds)
  • 2 cups chopped celery (I didn’t have any, I used yellow pepper instead)
  • 1 cup chopped carrot
  • 1 (8-ounce) package presliced mushrooms
  • 2 cups (1/2-inch) cubed peeled Bartlett pear (about 2 medium)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh tarragon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Preparation

Preheat oven to 425°.

Arrange bread in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake at 425° for 9 minutes or until golden. Place in a large bowl.

Remove casings from sausage. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add sausage, and cook for 8 minutes or until browned, stirring to crumble. Add sausage to bread cubes, tossing to combine. Set aside.

Return pan to medium-high heat. Add onion, celery, and carrot; sauté 10 minutes or until onion begins to brown. Stir in mushrooms; cook 4 minutes. Stir in pear, basil, tarragon, and salt; cook 4 minutes or until pear begins to soften, stirring occasionally. Add pear mixture to bread mixture, tossing gently to combine. Stir in broth and pepper.

Place bread mixture in a 13 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray; cover with foil. Bake at 425° for 20 minutes. Uncover; bake stuffing an additional 15 minutes or until top of stuffing is crisp.

*Very good! I also added a bit a Feta to make it feel more like a main dish than a side dish. It still felt like a gigantic side dish hehe…but it was what I wanted and it was still good! I used up the rest of my clearance bread (I keep letting the last chunk of all the bread I buy go bad and I needed to stop doing that) and the very last pear. FINALLY! I didn’t throw ANY of them out this year! I’m proud!
I got one more of my projects finished! WOO HOO! But I had to give up my working out time to do it. Boooooo. But I’ll get to go tomorrow, maybe I’ll spend an extra half hour there or something to make up for it, I don’t know. I have to get 1 more of these projects done tomorrow too, so if I can get it done in a reasonable amount of time, I’ll treat myself to more time at the gym. ^_^ I feel bad about not going…but I was up and active while working. So it’s ok!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga

Comments on: "Late morning, gloomy day, but still high in spirits!" (2)

  1. do you rest peacefully all through the night? and do you dream? i have crazy dreams, and i’m preparing a blog post on that subject!

    to answer your question, i’m a super super super early riser, normally around 3am (because i want to blog before the day starts). i read your linked article and most identify with the executive husband. i have a hard time turning my mind off. in fact, i sleep with gwendolyn on one side of me and the MacBookPro on the other side, constantly checking my blog messages all night long. 🙂 i work much better being awake for 7 hours, napping for 3 hours, awake for another 7, napping for another 3. my schedule doesn’t always allow for that, but it’s lovely when it does.

    • I sometimes have crazy dreams! Not every night, I can’t even remember my dream from last night even though I’m certain I dreamed. I CAN lucid dream as well. It’s not something I’d plan ahead of time (which is how I hear some people do it) but I often can be in a dream and think “Waaaaaaaitaminute…I’m dreaming!” Then I can fly around and will whomever I want there and etc. Hehe.

      Have you ever read about polyphasic sleep? It’s INCREDIBLY interesting! I could technically attempt it as I more often work from home and have a very open schedule. I don’t go to school anymore and I don’t have children or any of those sorts of things to worry about. Otherwise, I’m a pretty sleep-straight-through-the-night kind of sleeper. I tend to sleep 7 hours. It doesn’t take me forever to fall asleep, but its not as instant as my husband. He’s asleep as soon as his head hits the pillow! If I have to work, I make certain I’m up at LEAST, at very least, 3 hours before I have to be there. So if I have to be at work at 7 AM, I wake up at 4 AM. I’d rather be up 4 hours before I have to be there if I can.

Leave a Reply

