Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

WOO early day!

Finally got up early enough for my liking! I knew it was going to be another overcast day today so I set my alarm and got up at 7! Its just past 9 and I’ve already eaten breakfast! THAT’S how you start a day! I also wanted to be extra sure that I would get this last project done in time to go work out later tonight. I have yet to do my yoga for the morning, but I plan on being done with all that by 10 and can get to work! I’m really going to time myself today to see how long it takes me to get this done, I want to be certain that I’m charging enough for the time I put into these things…I’m told by many people (INCLUDING my customers!) that I don’t charge nearly enough for what I make and the effort I put into them. Timing is everything, I just need to know that I’m not putting too much time into it. THEN I know if I’m undercharging. I will let you know what I discover at the end of the day! THE SUSPENSE IS KILLING YOU!

Breakfast:

Buttermilk Pancakes
from Brown Eyed Baker
makes 16 4-inch pancakes

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup sour cream (I used low fat)
2 eggs
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
vegetable oil for greasing griddle

Directions:

In large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In separate smaller bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, sour cream, eggs, and melted butter.  Make a well in center of the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients.  Gently stir until just combined.  The batter should be lumpy.  Allow the batter to sit for 10 minutes.

To cook, heat 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil in nonstick skillet or griddle over medium heat until it is shimmering.  Wipe the oil out with a paper towel, leaving a thin film of oil on pan.  Portion batter out in the pan using 1/4 cup measuring cup.  Cook until edges are set and bubbles on surface are just beginning to break, about 3 minutes.  Flip pancakes with thin, wide spatula and continue to cook 1-2 minutes longer, until second side is golden brown.  Serve immediately.

*I made about a 1/3 recipe of this and replaced the sugar with lemon pudding mix (which had sugar in it as well) to give them a little lemony kick! As you can see they were gorgeous and tasted amazing! I added the rest of that strawberry filling (melted) from those cupcakes I made (yup, I STILL had some of that left!) and threw a few sliced strawberries on top as well! I don’t know what I’m going to do now being out of that syrup/filling, that shit was seriously spectacular. Now that I have more strawberries…*evil planning…*

You guys, you guys, I need this shirt:

Nothing is more “me” than this stupid thing. I will most likely be purchasing this tonight. I should sell a couple more things before buying it…so I MAY wait a few days.

Lunch:

Damn you 2 different light sources!!!! This picture was impossible to fix.

Roasted Corn Pasta Salad

Taken from: http://thefarmchicks.typepad.com/farmchicks/recipes-savory/

1 tablespoon melted butter

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1/2 cup diced onion

1 1/2 cups frozen corn

1 lb uncooked curly or twisty pasta such as Gemelli or Fusilli

1 cup lowfat mayonnaise

2 cups packed fresh cilantro, roughly stemmed

2 tablespoons chipotle puree (I did not have any, so I used 1/2 a Pablano pepper, about 1.5 T of Chinese chili paste and a small pinch of chili powder)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Combine corn, onions, butter, and oil together on a baking sheet. Using a spatula, mix together to coat corn and onions. Roast until corn and onions begin to brown, approximately 15 minutes. Once cooked, remove from oven and cool on a cooling rack until ready to use.

Meanwhile, puree a can of chipotle peppers. (Use the entire contents of the can). Once pureed, measure out 2 tablespoons and set aside. Reserve leftovers by freezing them for later use.

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and rinse with cold water. (Yes, this goes against everything you’ve ever read about not rinsing pasta but it’s necessary here). Once pasta is completely drained, add into a large mixing bowl and set aside.

Combine cilantro, chipotle puree, and mayonnaise in a food processor (or blender). Once throughly combined, add mixture to pasta in bowl. Add roasted corn and onions and stir to mix all together. Salt to taste.

Serve immediately or cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until needed. Please note: If not served immediately, you’ll need to add more of the mayonnaise mixture or it will taste too dry).

*My version was especially nice and spicy!! Next time I’d love to try this with the actual chipolte puree but my substitutions were definitely good! I would have made more roasted corn too, it was really yummy! I just wanted something kinda light and vegetarian for lunch…this was really perfect.

Dinner:

Sesame Ginger Beef Stir Fry

For the marinade:

2 T Soy Sauce
1 T White Wine
1 T Lemon Honey
1/2 T Brown Sugar
Fresh grated Ginger
Sesame Seeds
A little Hoisin Sauce
1/2 T Cornstarch

For the stir fry:

5 oz Beef, cut into strips
1/2 Yellow Pepper, cut into strips
1 Carrot, peeled and grated
1/4 cup Peas
1/4 small sweet Onion
1 clove Garlic
1 T Sesame Oil

Mix marinade ingredients and add beef strips. Let marinade while you prepare veggies and rice. Heat oil in pan and stir fry onions until translucent. Add other veggies and stir fry for a couple minutes. Discover you probably should have cooked the beef first. Push the veggies to one side of the pan and add beef mixture to the other side with marinade. Let cook for about 2 minutes or so…then mix it all together. Fry until beef is cooked and sauce is thick. Serve with sticky rice.

*This was actually quite good despite my slight goof up. And it looked beautiful to boot! A friend suggested that it had been a while since I made a real stir fry and he was right. So this was a good idea!

I finished my project today! YAY! So as a treat I went to go work out…only to discover that the gym closes earlier on the weekends. BAH! Totally my own fault for not paying attention. But still…you’d think they’d be open LATER on the weekend…so I got about 15 minutes into my workout when they started closing. Very lame. So I ended up working out on my stair stepper at home instead. It sure is a good thing I have that as a backup or else I would have been in a pretty foul mood. I watched some Food Network and spaced out for an hour. Then I threw this massive ham into a slow cooker with the help of my husband. We bought it on a sale and basically plan on having ham for the rest of our lives because this thing is HUGE! We’re just going to let it cook all night, it should be pretty awesome! I’m excited as I haven’t yet slow cooked anything! (The slow cooker we have is massive and I only end up cooking for myself, so I never use it.)

OH and it took about 6 hours to finish this project, so that’s actually an hour shorter than I originally figured that it takes me. I’m pretty proud! Life is good!

Exercise: 1 hour on the stair stepper, 1/2 hour of yoga

 

Leave a Reply

