Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Feeling big today

Though the size 5 pants I bought were already just a little tight on me (I was irrationally hoping I would lose even more weight, so I bought them anyway), I’ve completely outgrown them if you will. While this is not technically a bad thing (what exactly did I expect if I already barely fit into them and I needed to gain weight?) I still am feeling fat. I want to weigh myself, but shouldn’t. I can’t here obviously, but if I wanted to I could at my gym. I haven’t weighed myself in over a month and I admit, I like not knowing what I weigh. But at the same time, I feel like I ought to have some sort of guideline to know whether or not I’ve gained as much weight as I wanted or maybe I’ve gained too much.

But does it matter?

That’s what it really comes down to. And I’ve decided it doesn’t. I’m just going to go buy a new pair of jeans and keep doing what I do and I ought to be able to maintain what I’ve got. I would say if I get any bigger than this I should seriously reconsider my workout/caloric intake routine, but for now I am fine.

Also, it smells like Christmas in here with this ham that’s been cooking all night! It’s still doing its thing in the crock pot, so I will leave it be for breakfast and do something else, but lunch and dinner are most likely going to consist of ham! I bought some bread specifically to make a sammich out of it for lunch! Excited!!!!

Breakfast:

Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits and Spicy Sausage Gravy

I had a friend request I make some biscuits and gravy, of course I had to up the ante!

Buttermilk Cheddar Biscuits, makes 10 biscuits
Recipe adapted from Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa Back to Basics
2 cups flour, plus more for rolling out the dough
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp kosher salt
12 tbsp cold unsalted butter, cut into small cubes (1 1/2 sticks)
1/2 cold buttermilk, shaken
1 cold large egg
1 cup grated extra-sharp Cheddar

Butter topping:

1/4 cup butter
1/4-1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon dried parsley

1. Heat oven to 425ºF. Add the egg to the buttermilk in a measuring jug and beat to combine, set aside. Take a tablespoon of the flour and add it the grated cheese. Toss to coat the cheese with the flour, set aside. Line a baking sheet with a Silpat or parchment paper and set aside. Place the remaining flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl of an stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Combine the ingredients with the mixer on low. Add the butter and mix until the butter is the size of peas. You may need to shut the mixer off and manually rub the butter into the flour to get the butter pieces all the same size.

(*Note: I do not have a mixer. I cut my butter in with a pastry blender until it was of the consistency mentioned here)

2. Turn the mixer back to low and add the buttermilk mixture to the flour in one addition. Mix until just combined. Add the cheese mixture to the dough and mix until just combined. Stop the mixer.

3. Using clean counter space, flour a 12×12″ area well. Form a ball with the dough in the mixer bowl and place it on the flour. With lightly floured hands, knead the dough gently. Using your hands again, form a 5×10″ rectangle with the dough.

4. Using a 2 3/4″ biscuit cutter, cut out 8 biscuits from the dough. Reform squares of the same thickness to get the last two biscuits.
*You can also cut the dough into 8 squares as the original recipe suggests.

5. Place biscuits on the prepared baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes.

6. Combine butter, dried parsley and garlic powder; brush over warm biscuits before removing from cookie sheet.

Sausage Gravy
1/2 tsp canola oil (I used vegetable oil, I prefer it over canola)
1/2 lb sweet Italian sausage (I used spicy Bob Evans sausage)
1/2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp flour
1 1/2 cups whole milk

1. Heat the oil in a 9″ saute pan over medium high heat. Add sausage and break up any large pieces with a wooden spoon. Cook until the sausage is browned.

2. Remove the sausage with a slotted spoon, trying to keep as much of the oil and fat in the pan as possible. Add the butter (less if you have a lot of oil) and allow to melt. Add flour and begin to whisk continuously for 2 minutes until the flour and butter have formed a smooth paste (a roux) and the flour is cooked.

3. Begin to add the milk in a thin stream, whisking all the time to prevent lumps.

4. When all the milk is added, let the gravy simmer gently for 2-3 minutes to make sure the milk is heated through.

5. Re-add the sausage and cook on medium low heat for 2-3 minutes.

*Ok everyone, another COMPLETELY SPECTACULAR breakfast!! This could NOT have been good for me, but was so great I’ll live with the extra cals for the day hehe! Maybe I’ll work out a bit harder at the gym later. But yeah, I could be selling this shit in a restaurant. It was THAT good.

Lunch:

Slow-cooked Ham with Cherry Barbecue Sauce sandwich

We slow-cooked this massive ham that was on a sale for 99 cents a pound in white vinegar, brown sugar, mustard powder and ground clove overnight for 8 hours. This shit is CRAZY. It’s SOOOOOO good. I threw a bunch of it onto some French bread and topped it with a little Michigan Cherry BBQ sauce. It needed nothing else! DAMN this was good!!

Dinner:

Ham and Pineapple Pizza

For the crust:

Taken from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pizza-dough-iii/

Ingredients

  • 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 2 cups bread flour
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons white sugar

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.
  2. In a large bowl, combine 2 cups bread flour, olive oil, salt, white sugar and the yeast mixture; stir well to combine. Beat well until a stiff dough has formed. Cover and rise until doubled in volume, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. Turn dough out onto a well floured surface. Form dough into a round and roll out into a pizza crust shape. Cover with your favorite sauce and toppings and bake in preheated oven until golden brown, about 20 minutes.

(It was suggested by another user on this website that it should be cooked at a higher temp for a shorter period of time to keep the sauce from making the crust soggy. This worked really well as I cooked mine at 375 for 15 minutes.)

Sweet Marinara Sauce:

Taken from: http://www.brewcookpairjoy.com/2010/03/the-perfect-sweet-pizza-sauce/

28 oz can San Marzano tomatoes
2 tbsp tomato paste
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp honey
½ tsp salt
½ cup fresh basil
½ tsp crushed fennel seeds
½ tsp oregano
½ tsp thyme
½ tsp garlic powder

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth.

Note: This recipe is sweet. So if you’re into really zesty or garlicy sauce, this probably isn’t for you. Also, if you’re not into anise flavor, you might want to decrease or remove the fennel seeds.

*I topped this ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS and incredibly flavourful pizza with fresh sliced mozzarella, the slow-cooked ham, pineapple, and fresh grated sun-dried tomato cheese on top of everything else. This pizza was OFF THE HOOK delicious! I could only eat 2 slices, but I work 2 days next week, so I will have opportunity to eat them. I didn’t mind saving them because of that! This was the first time I made my own crust, and it didn’t really have enough time to rise properly, so the crust itself didn’t rise much, but thats ok! I totally prefer a thinner, chewy/crispy crust anyway! Though I will try again sometime just to see if I can perfect the fluffier crust style.
I’m incredibly proud of how this day turned out. It started sorta down and by noon I was wearing my “Today Is A Good Day” shirt! I got to relax for most of the day, work out at night, make some absolutely amazing food, and now I’ll pop on over to bed a get some ideas about what I might want for breakfast! ^_^

Comments on: "Feeling big today" (2)

  1. i SO get your current state of being. i feel like my abdominals have spread due to the lack of 50 miles weekly on the bicycle because of horrid winter weather. but i am fighting with my mind, telling it to shut the fuck up, and to appreciate what i’ve been able to achieve over winter, something more than i could EVER have wished for in those bulimic days when i’d get fat EVERY winter just by letting go. i have an exbulimic post scheduled, specifically about this issue. 🙂 now i’m rambling because of the wine. haha! so bottom line? thank you for this post. you make me feel connected, normal, and not like a fat fuck up when i see a little roll outside of my jeans. xxx

    • You make me feel amazing about me. It’s so great to hear other people go through the same issues! I’m trying my best to stay as active as possible, its just so much easier in the summer! DAMN YOU midwest weather! Deep down I know I’m not a fat fuck up, I MEANT to do this! But those old anxieties just creep back…you don’t even expect them. You think you’re over them then BAM! You freak out for a split second until your rational self catches up with your crazy self and punches it in the face. Now THAT’S an amazing feeling! You’re always there to bring me up girl, I don’t know how I would have done this without you. You help make this process not only tolerable, but entertaining to boot!

Leave a Reply

