Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Refined sugar, you my best friend.

Unfortunately.

I hate to love you, but I do. SO much. And I’ve missed you dearly.

Too sweet? You say something can be too sweet?

That’s like saying “This amusement park ride was FAR too fun, I will never ride it again!” or “Oh Benedict Cumberbatch, all this crazyamazing best sex of my entire life we’ve been having has just GOT to stop!”

No. Such. Thing.

When I was a kid, my weekly $5 allowance went toward one of 2 things: Lion King collectors cards and candy.

I would scour the house up and down to find loose change to buy candy with. Couch cushions, mum and dad’s dresser drawers that they often threw loose change onto, the laundry pile in the basement where change might fall out of someone’s pocket, etc etc.

The biggest difference was that this was ALL I ate. I never had breakfast. I was far too lazy to pack a lunch. I’d rather buy Little Debbie snack cakes with some change that I found at school instead and have that for lunch. The only actual meal I ever ate every single day was dinner. Everything else was just candy.

Though I would definitely not say that my sugary addiction is the big thing that had gotten me into trouble with my weight, it certainly doesn’t help it. Now that I DO have 3 meals a day I have to watch my sugar intake like a hawk. I can’t eat it the way I used to, but I still THINK that I can. I can have sugar. I can have a candy bar when I feel like it. I can make a sweet breakfast if I want. Just not every single day. And of course I CANNOT replace meals with it.

And that’s actually really hard for me.

That being said…

Breakfast:

Strawberry-Lemon Cheesecake Squares

Taken from: http://sugarcrafter.net/2010/06/08/strawberry-lemon-cheesecake-squares/

  • 1 cup vanilla cookies, crushed (No cookies, I did more of a crushed Honey Bunches of Oats-type crust)
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 4 Tbsp cold butter
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1 Tbsp lemon zest (No lemons, so I used 1 T lemon honey in place of some of the sugar)
  • 3 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup strawberries, chopped
  • Lemon zest, for garnish

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8×8″ pan with cooking spray. In a medium bowl, whisk together the cookie crumbs and flour. Using a pastry blender, incorporate the butter until the mixture is crumbly. Press into the bottom of the pan and bake 10 minutes.

In another medium bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugar until well-blended. Add in the eggs one at a time. Beat in the flour, lemon zest, lemon juice, and baking powder. Stir in the strawberries, and then pour over the warm crust. Bake 25-30 minutes or until the center is set.

*Yep, I basically had cheesecake for breakfast! I was smart enough to make a 1/3 recipe and then only eat half of it. I was too lazy to bake my crust first, so though it tasted great I wish it was crispier on the bottom (it was perfect around the top where it was exposed in the oven!) so next time I will make it as written. This was of course wonderful! Using the lemon honey gave it that perfect lemon undertone that the zest would have given it, so I did good!  REALLY really glad I only ate half! I mean, thats all I wanted, but this was just a sugar/butter/cheese factory here! Doesn’t get much worse for you than this lol! Don’t know when the hell I’ll ever eat the leftovers, maybe as a dessert instead?

Lunch:

Quinoa and Potato Croquettes

Taken from: http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/quinoa-potato-croquettes-10000000388862/print/

Ingredients

  • 1 (10-ounce) baking potato
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 teaspoons vegetable oil, divided
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup 1% low-fat cottage cheese, drained
  • 3 tablespoons grated extra-sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)

Preparation

Pierce potato with a fork; place on paper towels in microwave oven. Microwave at high 5 minutes or until fork pierces potato easily, turning potato after 3 minutes. Wrap in a towel; let stand 5 minutes. Peel and mash potato.

Bring 2 cups water to a boil in a saucepan; add quinoa and salt. Cook 15 minutes; drain.

Heat 1 teaspoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions, cilantro, and jalapeño; sauté 1 minute. Add cumin, oregano, black pepper, and garlic; sauté 1 minute. Combine potato, quinoa, onion mixture, cottage cheese, and cheddar cheese in a bowl, stirring well. Let stand 5 minutes; stir in egg.

Shape potato mixture into 10 patties. Carefully dredge each patty in panko. Place on a baking sheet. Cover and chill 10 minutes.

Heat 1 1/2 teaspoons oil in skillet over medium heat. Add 5 patties to pan; cook 2 minutes on each side or until golden brown. Keep warm. Repeat procedure with remaining oil and patties.

*I’m still learning how to make these right. I always make them too flat and thin. So I had a hard time cooking these because the size specified seemed a bit big. I found another recipe that said you should scoop a 1/4 cup and flatten it to 1/2 inch thickness. So I will remember that for next time! Otherwise, these still tasted GREAT! I always think because they never come out pretty because I always shape them wrong that they won’t taste good, then they taste SO good that I remember why I like them. ^_^

Dinner:

Lamb Tagine (Serves 4)
Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 2-3 medium onions roughly chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic peeled and crushed to a paste
  • 3 tsp Ras-el-hanout or 1 tsp each of ground cinnamon, cumin and coriander
  • 1 small red chilli chopped (add more or less depending on how hot you want it)
  • 1 tin (400g) of chickpeas drained
  • 1 pint of stock (any kind)
  • 1 tin (400g) of chopped tomatoes
  • Half a shoulder of lamb on the bone (I used our crock pot ham)
  • 3 medium carrots peeled and chopped into large chunks (you could use squash or sweet potato)
  • A good handful of dried apricots
  • Salt and pepper
  • A large handful of chopped fresh coriander

Method:

  • In a large pan over a gentle heat soften the onions in a little olive oil.
  • Add the garlic, chilli and spices to the pan and cook for a minute more.
  • Add the chickpeas, stock and tomatoes, mix well and bring to a simmer.
  • Add the lamb, carrots and apricots, season to taste and put in a low oven for 3-4 hours until the lamb falls off the bone.
  • Stir in the coriander just before serving and serve with cous cous or flatbread.

*Soooo I nixed all of those last steps because I had cooked ham already. So I just made the awesome chickpea apricot sauce stuff and put it on top of a chunk of ham. SOOOOOOOOOOO good! I of course can see how this would also be even more amazing with lamb, but the ham was cooked so well that it was a good substitution! I need to work with more dried fruits. Also, I need more apricots. Hehe.

I got a LOT accomplished today! I finished *2* projects, did my yoga, went to the gym, made great food and left the kitchen in immaculate condition. And I felt good about myself all day! Tomorrow I work my retail job for 6 hours. I traded shifts with this girl I have a big crush on as a favour to her. (And of course to get in good with her.) I think I’ve mentioned her before. She’s a cutie. And she laughs at all my jokes. I like her.

I’ll be sure to let you know if switching shifts with her to help her out gets me laid or not.

If nothing else my husband will have sex with me.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at gym

Leave a Reply

