Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

…but today’s was once again spectacular!

I just can’t believe I’ve been missing out on this for most of my life. It makes me SO happy. It reminds me that today is another wonderful day and I am alive. I love being alive.

I accidentally woke up at 4:30AM today. Jack teh kitteh was scratching at our door which tends to wake me up. He usually tries to get our attention for bout 45 seconds till he gives up and goes back to sleep. He normally does this around 5:30 AM. I checked the time and for some reason concluded that it was 6:30AM and couldn’t understand why my alarm had not gone off. I switched the alarm off, got up, and went to make a pot of coffee. I sat at my computer for a good 10 minutes before finally actually LOOKING at the time. 4:50….4:50???? I mean, I like getting up early but this was ridiculous! I decided I should try and get a little more shut eye. I set my computer to play “Exit Music (For A Film)” by Radiohead in an hour (not even properly hitting me what a perfect song it is to wake to, just knowing it was soft and wouldn’t jerk me awake) and, after grabbing Jack off of my laptop table (unfortunately AFTER he spilled a cup of water all over me, at least it didn’t get on the laptop!), went to sleep. The alarm went off gorgeously and I even dozed back off for an extra half an hour. 6:45 is a FAR more reasonable time to wake when you have to be at work at 11.

And I didn’t miss the stunning sunrise. So many shades of red, pink, blue, green and purple it would have blown your mind. I’ll be thinking about it all day!

Breakfast:

Cauliflower and Goat Cheese Frittata

  • 3-tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 medium head of cauliflower cut into florets
  • Sea salt
  • 1 large onion, halved and thinly sliced
  • 3 small garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 6 large eggs, at room temperature, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons dry breadcrumbs
  • ½ cup of goat cheese crumbles
  • 2 teaspoons thyme leaves
  • Freshly grated Parmesan cheese

DIRECTIONS

Preheat the oven to 400°. In a tray toss the cauliflower florets and 2 tablespoon olive oil, season with sea salt, pepper and red pepper flakes and bake for 25 minutes until golden. Add 1 tablespoon of olive oil to a cast iron skillet, the sliced onion the green onions and saute, stirring occasionally, until the onion is softened, about 3 minutes. Reduce the heat to moderate, add the garlic and cook until it is softened, about 1 minute longer. Add the roasted cauliflower. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk the eggs with 3/4 teaspoon of sea salt. Pour the eggs over the cauliflower and the goat cheese crumbles. cook, without stirring, until the bottom of the frittata is just set, about 2 minutes. Lift the edges of the frittata and tilt the pan to allow the uncooked egg mixture to seep underneath. Continue cooking the frittata until the bottom is golden and the top is just slightly runny, about 3 minutes. Sprinkle the breadcrumbs, freshly grated Parmesan cheese and the thyme over the frittata and bake until it is just set, about 3 minutes longer. And slide it onto a work surface or platter. Cut the frittata into wedges and serve warm or at room temperature with some salad greens. Enjoy.

*I of course broke up a couple small slices of fresh French bread and added the crumbles next to the roasting cauliflower after they had about 8 minutes more to go. I crushed them in my hand as I added them on top of the frittata, leaving some big pieces in with the smaller ones. I had NO IDEA that roasting cauliflower gives it such a sweet taste! WOW! It took me forever to decide what I was in the mood to eat this morning, I decided I didn’t want meat, but I wanted something savory. This was absolutely spectacular! I don’t know that I feel like doing meat at all today…maybe I’ll start a  Meatless Monday sort of thing?
NOTE:  I HAVE in fact decided to start participating in “Meatless Mondays”! So now every Monday I will cut meat out entirely for the day!

Lunch:

I was at work so once again I had the Tomato Caprise Sandwich with a banana. Normally I would also have a soup with this, but BOTH of the soup choices had meat in them! So I nixed the soup and went with the only meat-free sandwich we have. It filled me up just fine, I even went to the gym to work out after work and my stomach didn’t even growl by the time I got home. It’s odd not really being on a “schedule” anymore with meals. Eating when you’re hungry or not eating when you’re not hungry is sort of a foreign concept to me. I used to ALWAYS be hungry. I’ve also slowed down 10 fold on the junk and treats now that it’s no longer Christmas.  I’m feeling a ton thinner and look better! My clothes are starting to fit me better agian. My jeans are still tight, but thats to be expected. Its OK.

Dinner:

Curried Chickpeas and Black Beans

Taken from: http://www.yummly.com/recipe/Curried-Chickpeas-And-Black-Beans-My-Recipes

2 tsps vegetable oil
1 cup onion (chopped)
1 tbsp gingerroot (minced peeled)
2 tsps curry powder
1 diced tomatoes (ounce can diced tomatoes undrained)
18 tsp salt
15 ozs black beans (rinsed and drained)
15 ozs chickpeas (garbanzo beans rinsed and drained)
13 cup fresh parsley (chopped)
1 tbsp lemon juice
Added:
1/3 tin of Pineapple chunks (plus a little of the juice in place of the lemon juice)
Pinch of Cardamom
1Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion and gingerroot; sauté 3 minutes or until tender. Stir in curry powder; cook an additional minute. Add tomatoes; cook 1 minute or until mixture is slightly thickened, stirring occasionally. Add salt, black beans, and chickpeas; stir well. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 5 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in fresh parsley and lemon juice. Serve warm.
*This came out super delicious! I served it on top of some just plain white rice and it was a great little vegetarian meal full of protein and good stuff! Perfect for an after-workout meal! I was also sure to nix anything like chicken or beef stock to thin it with and instead went for tomato juice.
My day at work was great, my “girlfriend” talked to me a bunch and we had fun! Maybe she felt obligated to talk to me since I was helping her? I like her.
I went to work out after that and had a really hard time keeping my heart rate up. I don’t know what it was other than the fact that I’d already been on my feet running around for most of the day. Not sure what else would have caused that. I was BUSHED when I got home. I made a nice easy dinner and then went straight to bed for the most part. It was a looooong day and I was just so tired.
Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym
Leave a Reply

