Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Our kitteh’s favourite toys:

  • Paper bag (given to us by previous owner noting it was his “favourite toy”)
  • Pipe cleaners curled into springs
  • An old Christmas decoration with bells hanging from a ring that we also hung curled pipe cleaners onto.
  • Random clothes that may be on the floor. Socks, PJ pants, etc.
    • Bottle caps. He just likes the noise as he bats them around on the hardwood floor.

Also, his bed is just a Priority Mail box with the top cut out and an old sweater put inside it (also given to us by previous owner).

Anyone who actually wastes money on toys, beds, etc are crazy people. What does your pet play with?

Breakfast:

Pecan & Molasses Scones with Vanilla Glaze

Taken from: http://needtoknead.blogspot.com/2011/02/pecan-molasses-scones-with-vanilla.html

Scones

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tbsp. granulated sugar
1-1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 cup cold unsalted butter
3/4 cup plus 2 tbsp. milk
2 tbsp. fancy molasses
3/4 cup pecans, coarsely chopped

Glaze

1/2 cup icing sugar
1 to 2 tbsp. cream, preferably whipping
1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup pecans, finely chopped

1. Preheat oven to 425 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a medium mixing bowl, stir flour with sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Coarsely grate or cut in butter; toss to coat with flour. Make a well.

3. Measure milk; add molasses. Stir to dissolve molasses. Add milk mixture and pecans to flour mixture. Stir with a rubber spatula just until dough forms. Turn out onto lightly floured surface.

4. Divide into half. Lightly sprinkle each half with a bit of additional flour. Pat each half into a round about 1 inch thick. fold each in half and then into quarters. Again pat each mound of dough into a round a scant inch thick. Cut each round into 6 wedges. Place on a lined baking sheet at least 1 inch apart.

5. Bake in centre of oven for 11 to 14 minutes or until firm to touch and lightly browned. (If making ahead for freezing or for another day, cool completely before storing in airtight container. Warm in a moderate oven for 5 minutes before glazing.)

6. Meanwhile stir icing sugar with 1 tbsp. of cream and vanilla. Stir in remaining cream as needed to have a thick almost pourable glaze. Transfer hot scones to a cooling rack. Immediately coat tops with glaze and sprinkle with finely chopped pecans. Serve warm.
Makes 12

*I made a 1/4 recipe (so I only had 3 scones instead of 4 like I would normally make) so I wasn’t stuck with an extra scone that I know my husband would not have eaten and I would have ended up eating too much. I actually screwed them up a little bit as I had them done, and cut, and almost in the oven when I realized I forgot to add the pecans. Damn! Which meant that I would have to knead them into the dough and would end up over-mixing it so it wouldn’t fluff up as much. Bah! BUT, because of this they were  slightly undercooked in the middle at 11 minutes and were SOOOOOOO YUMMYYYYY! I can’t even describe! The folding technique still gave them this amazing flaky texture and the slightly gooey center was just…OH MAN! I can’t do it, I can’t describe it. You’d have to try and proper mess them up yourselves to get this outcome haha! The glaze was off the hook. I’m in love with molasses right now, so you’ll see many more recipes like this!

Lunch:

Tuna Linguine Primavera

Taken from: http://www.food.com/recipe/tuna-linguine-primavera-349467

Ingredients:

Serves: 4

Directions:

  1. Cook the pasta and add the frozen vegetables to the water for the last 5 minutes of cooking.
  2. Drain all and return to the pan.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients and toss to coat.
  4. I serve it with more grated cheese on top.

*This had to be crazy bad for me except the fact that I used light mayo. I’ll tell you what, there’s a MASSIVE difference between real mayo and miracle whip. I’m glad that I switched to light mayo! Also, I was out of milk so I had to use cream instead. Hehe. I used whole wheat linguini, cauliflower and peas. YUM! Super creamy and absolutely delicious!

Dinner:

Tonight I had the other 2 pieces of leftover pizza that I made a couple days ago. Since I had to work during my normal dinnertime, I figured they’d best be eaten now or else they won’t get eaten at all! The crust was even better the second time around! Super yum!
I got to work with my favourite employee today!!! YAY!!! We had fun chatting about working out and recipes and I had him name off some sort of ingredient that I ought to go buy and cook with. He picked permissions! So you will see me cook with those in the next couple days! I’m very excited about it, I’ve never had them before and was really happy he picked something I hadn’t used yet! I’m thinking about going sort of the “Chopped” route where I do nothing but taste it and then make an executive decision from there on how to use it!  Sounds like super fun to me!

Exercise: 6 hours at retail job

Comments on: "Why do people BUY toys for cats?" (3)

  1. cats AND dogs don’t need real toys! gwendolyn, a tiny little thing, tears everything apart within minutes! everything, except for the magical sock puppet! 😉

    yes, a sock on my hand is her favourite toy. that was only discovered after hundreds of dollars in retail toys were thrown into the rubbish. LOL. x

    • Haha!! I always had dogs too up until this point. We needed a pet that was a bit more independent since we tend to go on a lot of vacations and such. It just worked out beautifully that these people needed to find a home for this kitten! He’s off playing with what sounds like a damn spoon right now…buying toys…BAH! Our dogs we tended to buy toys for though I also don’t understand why. All they really needed was a ball and maybe a rope to play tug-o-war with. They never touched their other toys!

  2. ps that pizza looks EXCELLENT. x

Leave a Reply

