Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Quick post

I had a lot to do and therefore didn’t get my post in for today until late, sorry about that. I still took pics of everything! I had a major project to start though and so took all of my time doing that. I actually have to get that one finished today so my next post might be short too. I will let you know if I was able to finish it! I try to get my stuff done by 7 so I can go to the gym, come home, make myself dinner, relax for a little while then go to bed. I think I can get it done!

Breakfast:


Strawberry & Cream Stuffed French Toast Casserole
Makes: 12 Servings  |  Prep Time: 30 minutes  |  Cook Time: 1 hr
To print recipe click here

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf of Challah Bread
  • 6 Eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/8 cup Bailey’s Irish Cream
  • 16 oz Cream Cheese (room temperature)
  • 1 quart Strawberries
  • 1/2 of lemon’s juice
  • cinnamon

This recipe is best made the night before you plan on serving.

Butter a 9×13 baking dish. Tear half the bread into pieces and cover the bottom of the baking dish completely.

Blend softened cream cheese, 1/4 cup of sugar and 1 egg in a bowl. Spread evenly over top the challah bread pieces in the baking dish.

Next slice strawberries and cook in a saucepan over medium heat with 1/4 cup of sugar and the juice from half a lemon. Cook till strawberries are soft and juices begin to bubble, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool. Once cool, spread evenly on top of cream cheese layer.

Tear the remaining Challah bread into pieces and place on top of strawberries covering them completely.

Lastly mix milk, cream, and 1/2 cup of sugar in a bowl. One by one blend in 5 eggs. Fold in Bailey’s Irish cream and evenly pour mixture over top of casserole. Sprinkle with cinnamon.

Cover and refrigerate for 6 hours or for best results, overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Uncover casserole and bake for 45 minutes to an hour depending on how firm or soft you like your french toast. Drizzle with maple syrup and serve warm.

*This was really good despite the fact that I didn’t care for the look/texture of the cream cheese…it was sort of “grainy”-looking and I wished it was smoother, more custardy-looking. I will have to try this again with a different cream cheese filling and see if I like the results better!

Lunch:

Southwestern Quinoa Salad

Ingredients Serves 8 servings
1 cup quinoa
1 tbsp butter
2 cups chicken broth
12 cup green bell pepper (diced)
12 cup red onion (diced)
1 cup corn
15 ozs black beans (drained)
14 cup chopped cilantro
1 tomatoes (diced)
12 cup fresh lime juice (taste)
2 tbsps red wine vinegar
2 tbsps olive oil>
1 tbsp adobo seasoning
12 cup feta cheese
salt
black pepper
1 Rinse the quinoa thoroughly under cold water, and drain. Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat, and cook and stir the quinoa until the water has evaporated and the quinoa is lightly toasted, about 3 minutes. Pour in the chicken broth, bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and simmer until the quinoa has absorbed all the broth, about 10 minutes. Cool quinoa in refrigerator at least 10 minutes.
2 Mix together green pepper, red onion, corn, black beans, cilantro, tomato, lime juice, red wine vinegar, olive oil, adobo seasoning, and feta cheese in a large salad bowl. Lightly stir in the quinoa, and season with salt, pepper, and additional lime juice to taste, if desired. Chill the salad at least 30 minutes before serving; serve cold.

*LOVED this! It was a perfect compliment to the “bad-for-me” breakfast that I had! I just wanted something really super light, so a salad was perfect! I also wanted to be certain to get in lots of protein before my workout, so the black beans and quinoa were key!

Dinner:

Peking-Style Pork Chop/Spare Ribs(Strawberry Pork Chop)(Ching Du Pai Gu) (京都排骨)

Yields: 3-4 Servings
Cooking Time: 30 min
Total Time: 2 hours 30 min
Ingredients:

Pork:

  • 3 Pork Chops cut into 5-7 cm pieces (2-3 inches) OR 500 gm of Pork Spare Ribs (1 lb)
  • 100 gm Potato starch or Corn starch (1/2 cup)
  • 500 mL of water (2 cups)
  • 1 egg white
  • 5 ml of Sesame Oil (1 tsp)
  • 10 gm of Baking powder (2 tsp)
  • pinch of salt

Sauce:

  • 100 gm of Strawberries, smashed (about 3 oz)
  • 30 gm packed brown sugar (2 1/2 tbsp)
  • 30 mL of Soy Sauce (2 tbsp)
  • 45 mL of Hoisin Sauce or Kecap Manis (3 tbsp)
  • 30 mL Chinese Rice wine or Sake (2 tbsp)
  • 30 mL Oyster Sauce (2 tbsp)
  • 15 mL Korean Hot pepper paste (Gochujang) (2 tbsp)
  • 10 mL Srichacha Chilli Sauce (or any hot sauce) (2 tsp)
  • 45 mL of water (3 tbsp)
  • 30 mL Vinegar (2 tbsp)
  • 5 mL sesame oil (1 tsp)

Method:

  • Prepare the batter, combine the potato starch or corn starch in a large bowl and mix it well with water.  Leave it on the counter for 2 hours.  It should separate into two layers.  Drain of the water, and add in the egg white.  Mix until the batter becomes runny.  Add in the sesame oil, baking powder, and salt.
  • Prepare the meat.  Cut the pork into 5-7 cm (2-3 inch) pieces.  Pound the pork with a kitchen hammer, meat tenderiser or heavy pot to flatten it.  This will make the pork very tender.
  • Add the pork to the batter and coat it evenly.
  • Heat the oil to medium heat at 180 C (350 F), and fry the pork until a little golden (about 4 min).  Remove the pork and let it drain on paper towel.  Let it cool slightly before frying the second time.
  • Heat the oil to medium-high heat to 190 C (375 F) and fry the pork again for 2 min until they become very golden brown and crispy.  Remove and drain again.
  • Combine the ingredients for sauce and then put in a pan or wok on medium heat.  Let the sauce boil and reduce in volume by about 1/2.  It should become sticky and and glossy.
  • Add in pork, coat the sauce evenly, and serve with rice

*Someday I may attempt a real deep-fry, but I was simply too anxious to try it today. I’d already had a really crazy unhealthy breakfast, so I wanted to keep the oil consumption down to a minimum. In retrospect, I shouldn’t have even tried this one today, I should have done something simpler. I was really curious about this batter though and wanted to see if it was possible to get the crispiness described using only a little oil. The results were still delicious, but I’d rather try the full deep-frying method next time. I’ll have to pick a day where I eat mainly healthy for the rest of the day and add this in at the end! Otherwise, this was absolutely delicious! I’d love to get that crispy texture though! I served this with shredded carrots and orange sweet pepper strips on a bed of sticky rice.

Once again, sorry this post was so late and quick! I will do better tomorrow!

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at gym

Leave a Reply

