Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I had to pick my husband up last night from a friend’s house after working out. It was nice as I had most of the day to myself. I know I’ve mentioned that my husband got a DUI back in September (I REALLY hope he’s learned his lesson because I am NOT dragging him around anymore after this) but I think I’ve failed to mention that he’s also been unemployed for 9 months now. So he’s home ALL the time. ALL THE TIME. I can’t STAND being around someone else 24/7. I know, I know…you’re asking yourself “If she hates living with someone, why did she get married?” Well, because I DO love my husband THAT MUCH. But even then, I was under the impression that you know, he’d have a JOB and would be out on a relatively regular basis for work and friends and such. And back when he DID have a job and COULD drive, this was not a problem. But having him around 24/7 is starting to drive me just slightly more insane every day.

So after having a portion of the day to myself and being in a good mood after working out looking forward to going home and making myself some dinner, I go to pick up my husband only to have him ask me “Hey is it OK if [his friend] comes back with us and stays the night? My mom is picking me up tomorrow at 1 and she can take him home.” *siiiiiiiiiiiiigh* “Uh, yeah, that’s fine I guess.”

What this means is this:

A) They’ll be drinking all night and will be all around annoying as fuck.

B) I’ll have to give up my morning routine since I don’t like doing my yoga in front of other people. (There’s nowhere else for his friend to sleep except the living room.)

C) I’ll have to be extra quiet all morning so as to not be rude.

Things I will not compromise:

A) Waking up at 7 AM. Just because they were up till 5 drinking all night doesn’t mean I’m sleeping in too. I really don’t care that there’s someone trying to sleep on the couch, not my problem if he’s only been sleeping for 2 hours. I won’t be outright rude and make a ton of noise or be an asshole about it, but I will be up at 7 AM and will be on the computer and generally in the living room all morning.This is supposed to be my “alone time” and I will be using it to the best of my ability. It really really sucks not being completely alone though. I hate this.

B) I will be making myself something for breakfast. I will be slightly noisy. This is non-negotiable.

At least I know they will be leaving at 1.

Then I can get my yoga in (though I was still really tempted to do it this morning regardless because I prefer doing my “morning yoga” in the MORNING, I decided to just wait) and go work out for a while at the gym before 6 when my husband comes home and takes me out to dinner (with me driving of course…) I AM happy about this, but at the same time will feel like my day is being rushed and I highly dislike that feeling. I’m going to try and get some work in before all of this so I don’t feel my entire day is completely wasted.

Breakfast:

Apple-Spice Muffins

Ingredients
Topping
1 cup brown sugar
2/3 cups flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup butter, melted
Muffins
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
3 cups flour
5 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
2 teaspoons vanilla
8 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled
2 apples, cored, peeled, and shredded*
1 cup toasted walnuts, chopped
1 cup raisins
* Use pippins or Granny Smith apples for best results.

Directions

Preheat oven to 375°

Fill 20 standard muffin tins with paper liners.

Topping

1. Mix the brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a spacious bowl.

2. Add the melted butter and use your fingers to toss and pinch the ingredients together, forming a coarse, crumbly mixture. Set aside.

Muffins

1. Place both sugars in a spacious mixing bowl.

2. Sift in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and ginger. Whisk to combine.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, buttermilk, vanilla and melted butter.

4. Stir the egg mixture in to the dry ingredients and mix until combined but still lumpy—do not beat smooth.

5. Add the shredded apples, chopped nuts, and raisins to the batter and mix lightly.

6. Divide the batter evenly among the prepared muffin cups. The cups will be quite full.

7. Sprinkle the muffins with crumb topping.

8. Bake for 25–30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffin comes out clean.

*So I somehow managed to add too much butter to the crumb topping and it ended up being more like a pasty ALMOST crumbly frosting. Hmmm…well fuck it, I’ll just scoop that shit on top anyway! The result was this AMAZING crispy sugar coating on top that was just WONDERFUL! While I once again accidentally overcooked these a little (I had no idea 25 mins went by so fast!) they were so yummy that it totally didn’t matter one bit. Hell it probably gave time for the sugar coating on top to crisp up even more, making it just melt-in-your-mouth amazing. I also had a bunch of topping left over which I promptly ate with a spoon. Mmmmmmm!!! Sugary, buttery amazingness! Everything about these screamed awesome! I made a 1/4 recipe which resulted in 4 HUGE muffins (could have made 6 smaller ones instead, but prefer nice, big muffins!) which I ate 3 of. I’m currently waiting for one of the boys to wake up so as to offer the last one to him.

NOTE: His friend ate the muffin and really liked it. I was very happy!

Lunch:

Creamy Spinach or Cauliflower Kugel

Taken from: http://www.gourmetkoshercooking.com/2010/05/creamy-spinach-or-cauliflower-kugel/

2 cups cubed French bread
2 cups grated pizza cheese
6 eggs
1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained or frozen cauliflower, thawed and drained
1 cup whole milk
½ cup sour cream
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place cubed bread along bottom of 9 x 13-inch pan or 2-1/2 quart casserole. Sprinkle cheese over bread. Beat eggs. Add spinach (or cauliflower), milk, sour cream and salt and pepper. Pour over cheese and bread. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Remove covering and bake an additional 30 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

*Clearly I used BOTH cauliflower and spinach in this, and the results were delicious! It looks more like a breakfast than a lunch, but I had to use up the rest of my bread before it went completely bad. I wasn’t willing to wait the full hour that this wanted me to, I was of course already behind in time and feeling rushed. So I baked this covered at 400 for 25 mins and then uncovered for 15. I also sprinkled a little more cheese on top. It was exactly what I wanted!

Dinner:

For our date night my husband took me out to a local BBQ place that he got a Groupon for. It was quite good! I’m a big fan of pulled pork, so that’s what I ended up getting (with a side of potato salad). My husband has a thing for sampler platters. Luckily, they had a “personal” sized sampler, which in my opinion was still a MASSIVE amount of food. He didn’t end up finishing it all. I liked this place, but there’s another local BBQ joint in the area that I still believe I like better.

 

We wanted to go to the art museum tonight since they do Friday evening programing and are open later and such, but it was snowing rather hard and I didn’t want to drive through it any more than I absolutely had to. So we ended up doing a little shopping and then going straight home. It would have been a perfectly fine evening ending on a perfectly fine note if my husband didn’t just HAVE to be an asshole on the way home. (He loves to control everything in the car, including whether or not my windshield wipers are on or off and I called him out on this as he was reaching over to turn my wiper blades off. He insinuated that I was apparently too stupid to drive and do these little tasks at the same time so he had to do them for me. I told him I didn’t WANT them off. He said “Well then you’re paying to replace them when they get all fucked up because you’re running them on a dry windshield.” I didn’t talk to him the rest of the drive home.)

I don’t understand why he has to do that. Why he has to ruin everything all the time just to be “right” about something. It wasn’t a matter of him being right or wrong, it was a matter of him being an asshole about it. THAT’S what pissed me off.

I wonder why I can’t stand being around him all the time…

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Comments on: "Another date night! (I hope its a good one)" (4)

  1. this is my favourite entry of yours since the inception of your blog. i’ve now been introduced to the real drama of your life, things that you’re experiencing whilst managing an eating disorder. and that is what i admire. knowing that you’re not married to a trust fund baby working for his dad’s company, knowing that you’re faced with the presence of someone else all day, knowing that you are inconvenienced with your exercise yet you see the sunshine and can move morning yoga to afternoon yoga is very interesting and admirable. #youAreFuckingFabulous.

    • Thanks darlin! You ought to read the update on this and see how the rest of this craptacular evening went if you’re curious. 😦

      • HA. HA. HA! guys are so fucking stupid!
        i MUST know, please!
        1.) what is your age? i’m guessing that you’re 29.999999999 like me.
        2.) how many years did you date your husband, pre marriage?
        3.) how old is your hub? i’m guessing between 31 and 37.9.
        if you can’t answer due to confidentiality, then i completely understand. 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

