Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

I’m going to get a couple small projects done today! It’ll put me in a better mood after my kinda crappy date last night. At least the food was good!

The cat now hears my alarm go off at 7 every morning and will start batting at the door at around 7:01 if I don’t get up immediately. I actually don’t mind encouraging this behavior (I always get right out of bed after he gently “reminds” me to wake up) because I feel if I ever set an alarm and accidentally turn it off while asleep (which I’ve done before), I’ll always have him as a back-up alarm.

So I have about 6 hours to get shit done! Who else has shit to get done? LETS DO THIS!!!

Breakfast:

Apple bacon coffee cake

Taken from: http://www.csmonitor.com/The-Culture/Food/Stir-It-Up/2011/1012/Apple-bacon-coffee-cake

Apple and Bacon Kuchen
Serves 8 – 10

For the topping:

8 strips of bacon
2 Tablespoons butter
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 tablespoon maple syrup (grade B amber)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 granny smith apples

For the Kuchen:

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, beaten, room temperature
1 tablespoon maple syrup (grade B amber)
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup (8 ounces) sour cream

For the filling:

Cook the bacon in large skillet until nice and crispy. Remove to paper towels to drain. Pour the bacon fat out of the skillet and reserve. Wipe out the skillet to remove any bits and pieces. Add back 1 tablespoon of bacon grease and the butter and melt over medium heat. Stir in the brown sugar and maple syrup. While the buttery brown sugar is melting together, peel and core the apples and cut them into small chunks. Drop the apple pieces into the butter as soon as you chop them to prevent discoloration and stir to coat well. Sprinkle over the cinnamon and stir to combine. Cook until the apples are soft and the syrupy brown sugar is reduced and just coating the apples. Cut the bacon into small pieces and stir into the apples. Set aside to cool. The topping can be made a day ahead and stored covered in the fridge until ready to cook.

For the kuchen:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9- x 13-inch baking pan.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and beat until combined. Beat in the maple syrup. Mix in the flour, baking powder and baking soda alternately with the sour cream. Beat until well combined. Spread the batter into the prepared pan, spreading it out to the corners. Spread the apple-bacon topping over the batter to evenly cover the top. Press the filling in a little bit with a spatula.

Bake the kuchen for 25 – 30 minutes, until the kuchen is puffed and brown on the edges and a tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Serve warm cut into squares.

*I baked these for BARELY 30 minutes, probably about 29, and this was PERFECT! The bacon gave it that amazing salty crunch under the sweetness of the apples and maple-caramel. The cake was the lightest, meltiest cake I’ve ever made! I highly recommend you use this cake recipe while making ANY sort of coffee cake! WOW!!! I was going to offer up the other half of this on my Facebook, but then I eated it. Hehehe!

Lunch:

(What was supposed to be) Curried Apple Tuna Open-Faced Sandwich

While this was not at all terrible, it wasn’t as great as it could have been because I did not realize I was out of tuna until I’d already started making the mayo/curry/apple mixture. So once again I had to use sardines in the place of tuna and once again it really didn’t work. I mean it did. It was fine. It was completely 100% edible. But I WANTED tuna. So oh well I guess. The cheese on top was super good, it was Cabot’s bacon cheddar. THAT was really yummy and saved the sandwich completely.

Dinner:

Seared Pork on Couscous with a Pear Tarragon Red Wine Reduction sauce

I really don’t have much of a real recipe for you as I didn’t measure out ANYTHING, but I will try to at least list the ingredients…

Unsalted butter
Olive oil (for the searing)

Red Wine
Red Wine Vinegar
Butter
Tarragon
Cayenne
Pear (sliced)
Mushrooms (sliced)
Blackberries
Dijon Mustard
S&P to taste

I just made a reduction out of the sauce ingredients and added more wine and vinegar as I saw necessary. It was delicious! Looked pretty too!

 

So I totally got shit done!!!! I got those 2 projects completely finished and now tomorrow I get to go spend time with good friends at an Ice Festival! I’m incredibly excited! Can’t wait to bundle up and keep warm with a bit of rum! ~_^

Comments on: "Who wants to get shit done? ME ME ME!" (6)

  1. miss pistachio! where is your “bad date” update?! i’m looking for it everywhere! please point me in the correct direction. 🙂

    and i admire that you can sleep until 7am. when sleeping later than 5:31am, i feel like a mess all day. but i’m normally up by 3, so it works out splendidly. #3amDork 🙂 xxx

    • I updated the same post! I usually update my posts like, 2 or 3 times a day depending on when I have my meals or when I have free time to update. ^_^ So go back to the date night one here: https://misspistachioisnotonadiet.wordpress.com/2012/01/20/another-date-night-i-hope-its-a-good-one/ and you can read about the rest of it!

      • hahaha! oh no! i am such a doofus! i promise that i 100% knew about your “periodic post updates,” but it never once occurred to me to check the exact post of subject for the update! #soStupid! LOL! headed there now. 🙂 xxx

      • PS: i attended a party on saturday night, and the host served “pistachios” because she knew that i “like nuts.” i totally thought of you with fondness! 🙂 xxxxxxxxx

      • AHHHH I love it when people think of me when pistachio nuts are around haha!! I think of you every time I see a doggie in a sweater! ^_^

        Also, I love your sleep schedule.^_^ I tend to go to bed 11PM – 1AM and set the alarm for either 6:30AM or 7AM. I prefer to be up 3-4 hours before I have to be at work, so if I have to be there at 7AM, I will get up at 4AM. I don’t usually get up any earlier than that, so you and I will never wake up at the same time hehe!

      • love love love love love! i have several friends who visit me for “kitchen yoga” at 5:30am, so rising at 3am with the brits is fantastic because i can read their blog entries and drink coffee before i need to be engaged for 5:30am yoga. 🙂 i am SO flattered that you think of me when viewing dog sweaters. this had made my day! you are, by far, one of my favourite blog friends ever. thank you for interacting with me. and thank you for amplifying my party experience with pistachios. 🙂 🙂 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

