Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

YAY I finally get to treat myself to going out with some really good friends of ours! We’re going to an Ice Festival, which I’ve never been to, where there’s lots of ice carvings and iced foods and all that fun stuff! We adore this particular couple, they live a bit far (about a 45 minute drive) but we try and see each other as often as we can! AND since I got shit done yesterday, I get to be rewarded! HUZZAH!

Since I’m so super stoked about all that I got up a bit earlier (6:30, which confused the cat as he was not expecting me up for another half an hour) to make myself an awesome breakfast to start my awesome day! I got a couple of clearance bananas last night (60 cents for 4 bananas! WOO! Also…they look “overripe” on the outside, but have ZERO bruising at all on the inside! And they were DIRT CHEAP! I love buying the food no one else wants, I pay 1/3 of the price and have the exact same quality food!) I decided to make something with them!

Breakfast:

Waffles with Banana-Pecan Caramel Syrup

Waffle recipe from Alton Brown:

Ingredients

  • 4 3/4 ounces all-purpose flour, approximately 1 cup
  • 4 3/4 ounces whole-wheat flour, approximately 1 cup
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 whole eggs, beaten
  • 2 ounces unsalted butter, melted
  • 16 ounces buttermilk, room temperature
  • Vegetable spray, for waffle iron

Directions

Preheat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions.

In a medium bowl whisk together the flours, soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar. In another bowl beat together eggs and melted butter, and then add the buttermilk. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until combined. Allow to rest for 5 minutes.

Ladle the recommended amount of waffle batter onto the iron according to the manufacturer’s recommendations. Close iron top and cook until the waffle is golden on both sides and is easily removed from iron. Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

Caramel Syrup:

From: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Caramel-Sauce-104072

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 1 cup (packed) dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter

print a shopping list for this recipe

Preparation

Bring cream, brown sugar and butter to boil in heavy medium saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring frequently. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer sauce until reduced to 1 3/4 cups, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes. (Can be prepared 1 day ahead. Cover and refrigerate. Before using, rewarm over medium-low heat, stirring frequently.)

*HOLY CHRIST were these good!!! I felt a tiny bit better about myself since the waffles did contain whole wheat and I put fruit and nuts on top, but DAMN if I didn’t make a shitton of AMAZING caramel sauce to dump on top!!! My 1/4 recipe of Alton’s waffles made me about 1 and a half waffles. I’ll know from now on that I’ll need to make more of a 1/3 recipe instead. I highly recommend the caramel recipe even though it may not be the “right” way, it’s definitely the easy way (though still not completely “quick”, I had to boil it down for quite a while, probably about 20 mins….TOTALLY worth it though!) These were far too good. Don’t make these. You’ll crave them for the rest of the day and nothing else will taste as good! Hehe!

I’m off for the day to visit our friends! Will probably have lunch and dinner with them, I will bring my camera just in case I actually remember to take pics!

Lunch:

Uhhhh I didn’t really have lunch. We went to the Ice Festival and were walking around downtown a lot and no one was really all that hungry. We went to a coffee shop and bought hot chocolate and chai to warm up our hands, but otherwise no one really wanted to buy any street food that would require us to eat with gloves on. Instead, we went to the grocery store afterwards and our friends treated us to dinner ingredients!

Dinner:

Steak, Potatoes and Carrots

Our friends BOUGHT and MADE all of this for us. These steaks were $10 each on SALE. They were by far the biggest, thickest steaks I’ve ever seen/eaten. What a MASSIVE treat! I owe the vegetarian world a pretty hardcore Meatless Monday tomorrow!

 

The Ice Festival was a blast!!! I loved watching the ice sculpting, there were some people making this gorgeous carousal horse that I just fell in love with! The details in the sculpting, I mean what you can do with a chainsaw, it’s just incredible! I wish I had that kind of talent! My friend mixed me some awesome fruity froufrou drinks when we got home and then her and I decided we wanted some sweets! We went back out shopping and picked up a big cookie cake! Between the 4 of us we ate it all while drinking some bubbly and watching movies. It was the perfect day!

Exercise: No chance to work out as I was gone all day. But I was out and about for a lot of it walking around outside at the ice fest, so at least I wasn’t just sitting on my ass or anything hehe!

Comments on: "Happy fun time with friends day!" (2)

  1. I WANT TO SEE PHOTOGRAPHS OF YOU AND YOUR FRIENDS!!! urgh! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

