Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Meatless Monday #2

I ALMOST forgot actually to do Meatless Monday today! I was going to use bacon in my breakfast, until it hit me what day it was! After that MASSIVE steak I devoured yesterday, I definitely ought to stick to veggie meals today.

Breakfast:

Potato, Leek and Mushroom Quiche

I sorta messed up the crust on this slightly. It tasted GREAT, but it was more of a fluffy, cakey texture because I think I added too much liquid. I’d rather not post the recipe because of this fact, I can do better. But to be honest, I loved the texture! It just wasn’t technically a quiche crust. ^_^ I boiled the potato chunks then drained them.  I sauteed the leeks and mushrooms with a little olive oil, fresh thyme, rosemary, salt and pepper. At the end of the saute, I added the cooked potato chunks till they were heated through. I used cottage cheese, sun-dried tomato shredded cheese, and topped with feta. I poured a mixture of egg, milk and cream over the top and baked it for 45 minutes. It was REALLY really good! I ate the whole thing. I am FULL! Lunch will end up being really light! SO much great food!

Lunch:

Roasted Green Pepper, Mushroom and Onion Sandwich with Mozzarella and Goat’s Cheese

I actually had very little in the way of veggies at this time, so I just threw all this onto a sheet into the oven for 15 mins or so to roast and toast it all up! Then I put it together and had it with an orange. Nothing fancy or spectacular, it was good, but I wish I had more to put onto it.

Dinner:

Linguini with Broccoli and Mushrooms with Mozzarella sauce

Not knowing that one can’t really make a mozzarella sauce, I tried making one. Whoops! Of course the mozzarella wouldn’t melt into the sauce and instead just sort of clumped up on top of the linguini, but hey! It still tasted really great! No need to post a recipe since I screwed it up, that seems to be the theme of my meals today. Tasting great but fucking up something crucial. So no recipes today I guess! Maybe I’ll do better tomorrow! (P.S. As usual, my dinner picture was a lighting NIGHTMARE :<…I need to find better lighting for after the sun goes down…)

 

I got one project started, the supplies of another project purchased, and will very possibly have the WHOLE day to myself tomorrow! Extremely exciting! I’m also very much looking forward to this weekend as I will have Thurs-Sunday all to myself!!! There will be very very much Doctor Who and Sherlock watching!! (Does the happiest dance ever!!!)

My only concern is that with my husband out of the house all weekend I might go a bit crazy with the baking and whatnot. I’ve been meaning to try and make all sorts of desserts and cookies and cakes and whatnot and I feel like I will go a bit overboard without anyone here to judge me, you know? I have a cookie-recipe-a-day calendar that’s just been filling my head with crazy ideas! I think maybe if I make a batch of cookies, I will take some to my brother’s house. He’s always up for a spontaneous visit! ESPECIALLY if I bring cookies! Hehe! Good idea?

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym

Leave a Reply

