Food and weight-maintenence blog for the POST diet girl

Running

Has anyone else here had a struggle with the ability to run their entire lives?

I used to. Maybe I’ve always been slightly overweight. I don’t think so. When I was a teen I weighed as much as I do now (and as we know, if I get any thinner, I’m in dangerous territory). I was really active. I didn’t have a car till I was 20, so I walked everywhere. But I could never ever run. I couldn’t run a block without getting completely winded and coughing up stuff that tasted like blood. I guess maybe I just wasn’t as in shape as I thought I was.

Because now I LOVE to run!

I try to run on the treadmill for at least 2 songs, usually switching to a brisk walk in between them. But just the fact that I CAN run at all is insane to me! I’ve NEVER been able to do that! It’s neat all these cool little worlds that are opening up to me now! I’m ecstatic to be alive!

Breakfast:

Cottage Cheese pancakes

Taken from: http://mykidseatsquid.com/2011/06/cheesecake-pancakes/

Recipe

Doubled from a recipe which appeard in Cuisine at Home

Prep time: 10 minutes

Servings: About 14 3 ½” pancakes

1 cup milk

½ cup sugar

2 eggs

4 T butter, melted and cooled

2 cups flour (1/2 whole wheat works great too)

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup small curd cottage cheese

I also added 1/2 of a banana, sliced

Directions:

  1. Preheat your griddle to medium-high.
  2. Mix the milk, sugar and eggs together in a large bowl. In another bowl combine the dry ingredients.
  3. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ones and then mix in the cottage cheese.
  4. Spray the griddle with cooking oil.
  5. Cook the pancakes 3-5 minutes, flipping once.
  6. Serve warm.

Caramel-Blueberry Syrup

Taken from: http://www.closetcooking.com/2011_09_01_archive.html

Ingredients
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
Directions
  1. Place the blueberries in a food processor and puree them.
  2. Mix the sugar and water in a sauce pan, heat over medium heat and simmer until the sugar has melted and it has turned an deep amber colour, about 8-10 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and carefully mix in the blueberry puree.
  4. Return to heat, simmer for 5 minutes, strain the solids with a fine mesh sieve, return to heat and simmer until it starts to thicken, about 10 minutes. (Note that I omitted this straining step simply because I enjoy chunks in my sauces)
  5. Remove from heat, mix in the lemon juice and let cool to room temperature.

I also threw extra blueberries and bananas on top along with a few pecans for crunch.

*Ok kids, this was one where I had to stop at random times throughout the meal and just say “What the FUCK?” out loud and give my brain and stomach a rest from the mind-blowing amazingness that it was. It was a sugary fruity EXPLOSION! I once again am going to have to take some time to get over this one because it was so freaking great. The syrup was thick and crazy concentrated since I caramelized it first. The blueberry flavour was just intense! I’ve never had syrup like that before! GodDAMN kids!

Lunch:

Bacon Avocado Wrap

This was basically nothing more than a BLT wrap with avocado and cheddar thrown on it as well. I made a mixture of mayo, sour cream, picante sauce and cajun seasoning to spread under it all. Turned out absolutely delicious for how simple it was! I was impressed!

Dinner:

Swedish Cardamom Meatballs over Orange Mashed Potatoes

Taken from: http://lawstudentscookbook.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/swedish-cardamom-meatballs-over-orange-mashed-potatoes/

Swedish Cardamom Meatballs

Ingredients

  • 2 cups bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 pound ground pork
  • 3 egg
  • 1 cup chopped yellow onion
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tablespoon ground cardamom
  • 1 cup Brummel&Brown, divided
  • 6 cups sliced yellow onions
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 cups beef broth
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 3 tablespoons dry gravy maker mix
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch

Directions

1. In a large mixing bowl soak the breadcrumbs in milk for 5 minutes. Mix in the meat, eggs, and chopped onion. Season with cardamom, salt, and pepper to taste.  Roll into 1 1/2 inch meatballs.

2. Saute the meatballs in 1/4 cup Brummel&Brown for about 20 minutes.

3. In a separate skillet saute the sliced onions with 1/4 cup Brummel&Brown and sugar, until caramelized about 10-15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

4. Remove the meatballs and onions from both pans and set on separate plates and set aside. Deglaze both pans with the remaining 1/2 cup of Brummel&Brown and beef broth. Cook over high for one minute and then combine the contents of both the pans into one.

5. Stir in the cream and caramelized onions into the pan. Season with gravy seasoning, nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, and cloves. Bring to a simmer. Mix the water and the cornstarch together and then stir into the sauce. Add meatballs and simmer approximately 20-30 minutes.

* serves 12
* A LOT of calories per serving ;)

*NOTE Any time it says “Brummel & Brown”, I used straight up unsalted butter.

Orange Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients
2 tbsp Brummel&Brown yogurt spread
1 onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 lb red potatoes
1/4 cup light sour cream
6 tbsp orange juice
1/2 tsp kosher salt

1. Cook the chopped onions in the melted yogurt spread until soft.

2. Skin the potatoes and chop into quarters. Boil a pot of water and cook potatoes for approximately 15 minutes, or until soft.

3. Mash the potatoes with sour cream and orange juice.

4. Mix in the salt and the onions.

-serves 3

*Well you guys this is the most ridiculous, over-indulgent dish that I’ve made so far. It was so good that once again I kept having to stop to yell/swear at nobody in particular. It took me nearly 2 hours to make and every bite was completely worth it. I SHOULD have used clarified butter as the cooking time involved caused the butter to separate and brown, which still gave it this wonderful nutty flavour but made the sauce very greasy. I mean this dish was this crazy wonderful grease-fest yo. SO incredibly over-indulgent! WOW! My only suggestion is use clarified butter like you should! (Says Alton, and everyone knows I listen to every word he says) and you won’t get the butter separation. Otherwise, everything about this was so amazing I still can’t get over it. Yet again!

My husband slept literally all day. I left for the gym at about 6 PM and he was still asleep. He does that when he is depressed. I do hope he is ok, but wasting an entire day that he could be using to call places and put in apps and find a damn job kinda pisses me off. I’m also going to tell him he needs to start looking in undesirable places for jobs…fast food, gas stations, etc…he needs a goddamn job. Who goes fucking 9 months without a job and no unemployment pay? At least I got some stuff accomplished today, I got about halfway through a major project. I will have it finished before going into work tomorrow night! I’m VERY excited about work because I get to work with my favourite co-worker ALL NIGHT! YESSS! It’s going to be awesome.

Exercise: 1/2 hour of yoga, 1.5 hours at the gym (Did it burn off that grease-fest that I ate? No fucking way. BUT TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!)

Comments on: "Running" (2)

  1. i think the cottage cheese pancakes = your prettiest meal yet!
    a treadmill rat for years, i have a love hate relationship with running. in fact, i have a post that’s up and coming about just that subject.
    but i know how you feel. running, competently, is so liberating. when i break into a run with gwendolyn, off of the treadmill, i feel as though my strong thighs are pumping away, doing what they’ve been trained to do. it’s such an amazing feeling!
    have fun @ the gym today! 😉

    • I’m hoping I’ll have those strong lovely thighs someday! They’re a lot prettier/stronger than they used to be, but nowhere near as nice as yours! I’m working on that!! Is running off the treadmill a lot different? I feel like it might be a lot harder to run on a sidewalk or in a park for some reason…maybe I should hit up the local metropark today?

Leave a Reply

